Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West High School

Public | 9-12 | 1131 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2010

As a former student of WHS, the senior choir president, thespian society president, Ensemble president and dance captain, gay/straight alliance president, and National Honor Society member, my experience at West was nothing short of amazing. I had excellent teachers (Duffner, Masters, Dodge, Wallace, Moore, Gear, Seimer) and never had problems in the school. I admit, I was a "popular" kid, and flew through everything academically (3.7-4.0 GPA), however, the support I received from both faculty AND involved parents in the school was phenomenal. My senior councelor, Robert Ramsey, helped myself and other students explore career choices, while all of my other teachers were very active and involved in my and others' collegiate endeavors. You truly have to be a sloth not to succeed at this school, as the teachers go the extra mile for their students. A+


Posted April 9, 2010

I am a parent and my two sons went to West High School for a few months. Our situation was the bond issue not passing in Southwestern Schools. The coaches, teachers, and staff knew of our situation and I can say nothing but good things. My boys got to play football, received great grades, and loved going to West. The students were great and my sons met alot of new friends. We can say the same as parents. We were treated with respect, made alot of new friends in other parents at the games. When it came time that the boys switched back to their original school, we were wished the best and welcome back whenever we wanted. I wil always remember our time at West and will support them in anything they do. Go Cowboys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

west is the worst my son is a student at west he is a honor roll student also plays sports I FEAR HIM ATTENDING THIS SCHOOL.Thats why we are moving the teachers are awful they really do not care about teaching at all it is just a paycheck for them they need to repair the building and fire everyone and start over the drop out rate is high the school has been on lockdown twice this year awful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

West High has been the starting point for some remarkable people, Michael Redd,for one.


Posted April 20, 2007

As a former student of West (2004-2006) I would not recommend this school to anyone. Although their extracurricular activities are awesome their academics are at a very low standard. I remember passing classes I didn't even attend. Along with this teachers treat the students with the utmost disrespect. If you've got one mark against you on your record it's enough to kill your whole credibility at West High School. As I said before I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 14, 2006

I have heard many complaints in the past year or so about overt attempts to exclude parental involvement. It is certainly true that few opportunities exists and very little is publicised. This week are parent conferences and I had to call the school to find out when they were. The last parent newsletter was August--now it is November. It isn't fair to blame the parents when the school works so hard to send them away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

I too find that some of the teachers as well as the administration staff see all the children in this school as liars and troublemakers. I have two gifted students at this school & I feel as if I have made a grave mistake. The principal I tolerate, most of the teachers need to teach rather than try to be these kids friend all the time. I understand the lack of parental involvement since they make no attempt to notify parents of meetings.(except for the select few that agree with everything)I am not happy with the school, and we have tried to lottery into other schools with no luck. And unfortunately their home school is not any better.It was so sad my daughters went to their homecoming dance and left early because the students were dirty dancing(in the worst way) while the principal, several vice principals and teachers watched. Truly sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

Some of the extracurricular activities at this school at amazing especially the ensemble who are two time national champions. Their are many sports programs that are well coached and supported. The academic programs are alright but the academies system is terrible and hurts the students overall education. The main problem with the school is overall lack of parental involvement and support. Their is a very select few who are very involved. Although these few are a great group and do many great things they lack the power of a larger group.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

My child has attended West since 9th grade. She is an Honors Student and has been on the Volleyball, Softball, Basketball & track teams. She applies herself to her work. The counsler at the school is very involved and always made her aware of the opportunities that were out there. She's not a NERD but popluar. Teachers love her and always compliment her on her attitude and work habits. When she has had a hard time in a subject, the teachers were always willing to give her extra work or tutor her. The teachers are not the problem, it's the non caring attitude of the Parents. The Parents that need to go to the PTA meetings are never there. Most have no ideal of what is going on at the school. Several of the teachers at West High have made a difference in my childs life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

I as well went to West High School and I have had 2 children go to West. It has been a struggle to get both of them through school. My oldest son did not graduate and last year I tried and tried to work with them to show that they cared about my daughters education as she was a junior. (She is a senior this year). They are very uncaring there and I also agree that they are just there for a paycheck. I do not wish any parent to send there child to this unless they have to. It was not a good school when I was there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had 4 children graduate from West in the past 6 years and now a a freshman at West. The school has changed only for the worst over the past years. The teachers are there just to earn a paycheck and harass students. Until atending West my child was a good student, now it is a challenge just to pass a class because the teachers doesn't want to help the students. My child is SUPPOSE to get tutored due to Specific Learning Disabilities but that doesn't happen. I do not recommend anyone sending a child to West unless they have no other choice but to do so. I have become very unsatisfied with West High School. Last year I had a child graduate, the school was 50% better than it is now. This school needs drastic improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabled16%
Non-disabled66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)42%

Reading

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black, non-Hispanic62%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Disabled24%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%

Science

All Students45%
Female39%
Male51%
Black, non-Hispanic24%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Disabled17%
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female59%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic56%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabled21%
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)37%

Writing

All Students65%
Female71%
Male58%
Black, non-Hispanic54%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
84 (2011)
 
86 (2010)
 
80 (2009)
 
86 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

41%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

76%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 74%
Black 31% 16%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 21%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Daniel A. Martin
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6970

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

179 South Powell Ave
Columbus, OH 43204
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Briggs High School
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT