Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winterset Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 277 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

My daughter has loved Winterset for Kindergarten and 1st Grade. Her kindergarten teacher Miss Eichman was awesome! The principal and secretary are always so sweet and available when I need them. Parent involvement opportunities has improved this year! The only complaint I would have were a couple of bus drivers we had last year.:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2013

I love this school. My daughter has gone to Kindergarten and 1st grade here. Both of her teachers have been extremely nice, and are great at working at each child's level. Mrs. Sparks and Mrs. Tracy are both very receptive to any and all issues that come up from day to day. I will be sad when we move this summer, as will my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

I personally am surprised by all of the good ratings for this school. I will agree that the curriculum is great and seems to be communicated well to the students however I had a terrible experience with the staff. I found my daughter's kindergarten teacher to be very difficult to work with and a little rude. The principal and secretary were also rude. My daughter told me that on more than one occasion she was being bullied by a group of children and when asked where the teacher was during the incidents she stated that they were inside having a meeting. A school bus driver misunderstood my 5 year old daughter to be making an obscene hand gesture (which afterwards we confirmed she did not even know the meaning of) and screamed at her and by the time they reached the bus stop she was unable to speak for sobbing. I was sent no notification of "picture day" and therefore did not know to send money to the school so as all of the children had pictures made and were given lollipops, my daughter was made to sit in the corner and watch and received no treat just because she had not brought money. I am quite thrilled that I no longer have to send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Love the school and the staff there..My son enjoys going to Winterset...Will miss this school since we are moving...My son already misses it before moving only..I worked with the PTA here and enjoyed every bit of it....Thank you all for all the help....All the best for your future...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Great school! Super teachers! The teachers care about the kids and go above and beyond what they 'have' to do. I can't say enough about how great the staff is. This school is in a great area, the kids love learning and get along great. This school does very well on the state report card. I highly recommend sending your child to Winterset Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

Excellent school with excellent leadership! Wonderful opportunities for extracurricular activities when most schools are cutting back. A safe place for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

Music, clubs, high academic standards, and friends from just about everywhere in the world convinced me to drive my girls to Winterset, so they could stay, even after we moved to a 'more reputable' suburban school district. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

What an awesome school! My son is currently in 4th grade and my daughter went here from K-5. High expectations from staff and parents. Heavy parental involvement and very active PTA. Great school in a district with a bad rep. Don't pass it up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I have 8 yr old twins, one Autistic, who have attended here for three years now. They have both soared academicaly. We are very proud! Winterset has a very friendly, professional caring staff & Excellent Principal. I highly recommend this school. Two thumbs way up! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My daughter is a 3rd grader at Winterset Elementary. This school gives a lot of oppurtunity for kids to get involved in extra curricular activities along with academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

I think winterset is a great school with teachers that care alot for their students. They always keep the parents involved with activities.Mr. Kinney is the best kindergarten teacher I have ever met and Mrs. Bauers in first grade is great also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My son attended Winterset from third grade through the fifth grade. He was active in many school activities. He participated in the gifted and talented program. He scored advanced in every area of the fourth grade proficiency. It was truly a wonderful experience for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

Winterset is a winnner in my book! I was set on my son attending Worthington or Westerville, but he ended up here because of where we live and I will only consider buying a house in the area to keep him there! His teacher is awesome, the Principle is great and the entire school academically is phenomenal! I want my other two children to be Winterset Winners too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female94%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female81%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabled30%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female83%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female83%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female94%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
102 (2010)
 
106 (2009)
 
103 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 74%
Black 19% 16%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Asian 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 20%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Theresa M. Tracy
Fax number
  • (614) 365-5509

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4776 Winterset Dr
Columbus, OH 43220
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ecole Francaise
Columbus, OH



Greensview Elementary School
Upper Arlington, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT