Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2013

I love Forest Park and the children in the building. We have a strong staff. We try to work hard for what is best for each student. I am proud to teach at Forest Park. I am proud of the children at Forest Park and families that want the best for their children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2013

This is a horrible school. The administration is a joke. There are only a handful of teachers who actually care and want to help students learn. The rest are tired, angry birds, with a "collect my paycheck" and go home mentality. There is little to no academic rigor or creativity among the teaching staff. There is no air conditioning in the school, yet they have air in the admin office. Who can learn when it is 90+ degrees in the building? There seems to be no accountability for excellence from the staff or the students. If you expect little, then that is what you are going to get! Forest Park is a working class community and it is a shame that kids in this neighborhood get the short-end of the education stick. Granted, parents must be involved and care about their child's education just as much anyone else, but when you have teachers that seem to hate children and everything about their job, kids can pick-up on that negative vibe and become less likely to participate. Where in the heck is the school board? Why is a school like this allowed to exist in 2013?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

We moved our family to Forest Park 3 years ago and was excitied for son to attend FPE. At first everything was great, he had a great k teacher, after that has seemed to get a good teacher every other year. The school seems to favor its female students and write off the male students. The communication is aweful and no one seems to care about your child. I am the first to admit that my son could be a better student even with our involvement, he can be marginal at best at times. Yet I have never seem a 8 year who does not have any motivation to go to school. This is not only for FPE but for all of CPS, where is the fun and excitement of school. I will be moving my son soon to find a school who Cares and can provide for his individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

The teachers at this school work extrememly hard, and they want the best for the students. I just wish that they had a better school facility- this school is just too small, and there is no room for growth until a new school is built! Too many teachers are on a cart- art, music, etc. However- I am thrilled my kids attend Forest Park- it is a gem for Columbus Public Schools. Again, the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

This is a great school and the students are great my kids attend this school and I love it these other reviews are old and this school has improved!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

This is quite a busy school and really works hard to keep the students learning. The parking is non-exsistent - staff and teachers are nice, but there are some poorly behaved children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Unfortunately, I agree that this school is going downhill. When I asked for specific help for my child for a possible learning disability I was told it is too much paperwork to fill out and they didn't agree with me that there was a problem. I have transferred my son to another school outside the school district and am proud to say he, along with his two brothers, is doing great! They now begin their homework without being asked and their grades have gone up. They also are getting the opportunity to learn a foreign language which will greatly help them when they enter into college. I too felt there was no parental involvement or discipline. I do believe it is due to overcrowding and teachers are expected to perform miracles but don't have the tools to accomplish their tasks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

This school has gone downhill fast. Before there was a principle, Dr. Taylor, and she knew how to effectively run the school. The students, teachers, and parents respected and listened to her. Now the children completely lack discipline, teachers cannot get their attention or participation. There are way to many children per class, and the teachers cannot seem to get control. This is partially due to the administration, but also do to the lack of parental involvement. I had one teacher tell me she doesn't give out homework because most of the kids wouldn't do it and their parents wouldn't make them or help them. So my son got left behind because other parents didn't care. This is the norm at this school, they are giving up on the kids that are there to learn, because they have already given up on the ones that aren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female57%
Male46%
Black, non-Hispanic41%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%

Reading

All Students59%
Female64%
Male55%
Black, non-Hispanic52%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic47%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial64%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled10%
Non-disabled62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)47%

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanic72%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial73%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled50%
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male49%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)31%

Reading

All Students56%
Female59%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic48%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)39%

Science

All Students42%
Female32%
Male49%
Black, non-Hispanic23%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
82 (2011)
 
83 (2010)
 
85 (2009)
 
85 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 16%
Hispanic 22% 4%
White 16% 74%
Two or more races 13% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 11%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rhonna R. McKibbin
Fax number
  • (614) 365-8219

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5535 Sandalwood Blvd
Columbus, OH 43229
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Marburn Academy
Columbus, OH


St. Anthony School
Columbus, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT