Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I am very pleased with Ecole Kenwood! I was recommended by a very close friend of ours who went there. My child is in 1st grade, and LOVES it! He is always eager to go, and never complains. He has loved all the teachers, and only has positive things to say. I would recommend this school to anyone in the CCS district! Great school, even better teachers!

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a community member
For the parent that posted right before me.. I can honestly say as an alumni I miss it very much.. There are never too many disciplinary issues that the teachers and staff couldn't handle easily, and as far as french speaking teachers go as a parent you should work with your children to ensure they're learning.. Kenwood is a school where as a parent your participation is needed as much as your child's and you're important to your child's success and by becoming involved with your child and their teachers it would greatly help... I LOVE KENWOOD and am sending my children there when they're old enough...Je t'aime les profs and l'ennvironment


Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a community member
for the parent who complained about the hiring of non-french speaking teachers, what grades are they teaching? Because if I do recall they are in the higher grades or extra-curricular classes where english is a must. the younger grades are almost if not fully in french but by middle school age they need classes in english. Over all i would say Kenwood is the best school in CCS and in all honesty if the program fails it will be on the heads of the school board, the superintendent and not the staff of the school

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
Ecole Kenwood has an amazing program. Issues with children not listening are due to lack of parental involvement and there are very few situations like this at Kenwood. The teachers do an amazing job and the school has a wonderful community of helpful and knowledgeable parents. I believe my daughter is getting a top notch education.

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted February 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 3

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
The last two posters are correct. The older children are well-behaved. It s the new students (Kindergarten-1st grade) who are troublesome. Most attention goes to unruly kids. Those who behave get overlooked because discipline problems take too much of the teacher s time. Sadly, this school will become another failure for the District. And, it won t even be due to discipline issues. The downfall of this once great immersion program will happen because the integrity of the program has been severely compromised by the hiring of non-French speaking teachers (three more added this year). It s impossible to teach in French when you don t speak the language. If this keeps up, it will no longer be an immersion program, just another Columbus Public School and that s nothing to brag about!

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
In my experience with my daughter who attended K thru 8 and my son who is presently a student in the 6th grade the students are far from unruly and are in fact well disciplined. I have been very happy with the school and have never regretted my choice to have my children attend Ecole Kenwood.

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 4

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
The French immersion program is wonderful and the teachers and staff are fantastic. Unfortunately, they are hampered by a sub-par school district. Discipline is a problem - students are unruly and the teachers don't have many options to enforce discipline. My child's teacher spent half her time teaching and half her time disciplining. Public schools need to find a way to let good students learn without being hampered by the discipline problems of others. Ecole Kenwood is a top notch option if you are attending Columbus Public Schools.


Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This is the best educational opportunity in Columbus. It has the feel of a private school in a public school system. A 2nd language is the first and foremost appeal, but it trulty has everything--art, music, math, science, sports.

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School 5

Posted December 08, 2006
- a parent
This is an amazing public school--terrific curriculumn, experienced/committed teachers, unequaled services like music 2X/week & art. Truly top-notch education with French immersion as amazing benefit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School
3770 Shattuck Ave, Columbus, OH  43220
(614) 365-5502
Last modified Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ecole Kenwood Alternative K-8 School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top