Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gables Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

Gables I am really sad that the kids will no longer be able to celebrate Halloween with their annual parade. No more holiday partys. Not allowed to sing any Christmas songs that mention gods name , no more celebrations for any holidays. Whats the world coming too? SAD VERY SAD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This year is the first year for my kids in Gables school. I see a lot of improvement in language, mathematics. They love to go to school. I don t have any trouble with them to attend to their school like last year so I am very happy for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

why has the playground been destroyed and 8 mobile units have been put in? Gables is one of the best elementary schools in cps. What are they going to move into those mobile units?


Posted May 20, 2013

We love Gables. Our family has lived in different states and our son has attended various public and private schools. He landed at Gables in the middle of the year, after attending a Columbus private school where academics were not impressive and children were not welcoming to him. At Gables, the Principal and the school secretary have been nothing but nice and helpful. From the moment we observed, Gables students warmed up to our son and were also polite to us parents! The teacher kept students engaged throughout dynamic geometry and vehicle design activities. Our son has made many friends from many cultural backgrounds; you can't tell he's the new kid. He says that the teachers are nice, that they teach serious topics in a "fun" way. Some of the highlights have been the art show, multicultural night and the school play. Of course, you can find positive and negatives everywhere. For example, perhaps the school can try communicating with parents by email on a regular basis. Fundraising may be necessary to improve recreational facilities. The positives so far outweigh the negatives, and so we absolutely recommend Gables for a modern education with a global flair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

My son has been attending Gables for over 3 years. His teachers are fantastic and are genuine to the children. I've sat in on class before and their learning methods were very creative and interactive. Although I can agree that the principal is not very personable, but she's been effective in raising the school's stats. The PTA is very involved and the school offers unique activities that the kids enjoy. Of course schools have to teach to the test, how else will you measure the skills and knowledge achievement by our children? Our kids will have many more tests that they will face in the future and it is important they develop these skills early on. Try complaining to the university who will reject kids because their SAT and ACT was not good enough. That is just how this world works. Gables Elementary is one of the best schools in the Columbus District and I would definitely recommend them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

We have been at Gables for nearly 8 years now, and the quality of classroom education provided by their excellent teachers is the best in the district. Unfortunately, the change in principal about 3 and a half years ago has caused the overall rating of our school to deteriorate, You may notice that other comments here before about 2008 are very positive, then more recent ones take a dramatic turn downward, mostly about administration. Under the current principal, parental involvement and extra-classroom activities have plummeted, as they do no fit in with her overall philosophy of trying to push for higher test scores. Also, Gables used to be the place where, "Everybody knows your name" but now, the community feel of the school has all but disappeared. This is a shame since there are over 19 nationalities represented here, and there is a potential for this school to be a model of internaltional cooperation and diversity. In addition, bullying and in-school suspensions are tolerated and even left undocumented - see a wcmh news story from may of last year from their website as evidence. Full marks for teachers and students; no confidence in the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

YOu can never a worse principal and secretary...These two people are extremly rude and very unprofessional. To be honest with you, I dont know how they got that position. I was having lunch with my son one day at school and I heard the principal yelling at children asking them to take only one fork becuase the school is not going to pay for them to use more than one fork..I Thought that was very cheap and disgusting. I had lots of problems with them and they never appologize or act in a nice way. I would NEVER recommend this school. I am trying to move from where I live right now just to get a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

I was supposed to send my daughter here this fall 2011 for kindergarten. I registered her 3 months prior to school beginning and everything was fine. Then a week before school started I called the office b/c I did not receive anything in the mail and they decided to tell me then that she cannot go there. I spoke with the secretary and principal and they were both extremely rude telling me that I needed to call the Dublin school where she was supposed to go. I argued over the phone with them b/c where my house sits it is Columbus schools and we went over this when I 1st registered her. So I called Dublin and they said that she was supposed to go to Gables as well. So the superintendent of Dublin had to call and they argued with him and then they finally figured out that she was supposed to be there all along. I had to call them back after all of that and spoke with the principal and she barely offered an apology and then started running off dates as to when my daughter was to be there. After how rude they were I decided to NOT send her there and she goes somewhere else now in which I am extremely happy. I would NEVER recommend Gables to anyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This has been one of my worse experiances ever. I have teenage kids and never have I had any staff member so RUDE as the secretary,principal,and the lunch lady are here at Gables. They need to have some sort of training on how to treat and respect parents or people in general! Better education for the office staff much needed! The teacher is awesome so kind and friendly you can tell she really loves kids and her job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

This is a wonderful school!! Everyone is great and my children are learning alot!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

Our daughter is in this school. She is our one and only and we were really nervous about sending her to school. The staff here is awesome though. The kindergarten teachers came to our house the summer before school started to get to know our daughter a little. The school has alot of programs and fun things to do. Our daughter is doing great and she loves school too. Which is the most important thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

Our daugher is in kinderg., first child in this school. We will be sending our four year old when he starts kinderg, even though for us, it is a lottery school. We love the diversity, the teacher and student awarness of each other, the parent involvement etc. Our daughter is a bit advanced in reading, and we found her teachers on top of her ability, and ready with suggestions and alternatives to keep her interested, moving forward and motivated. We love the principal, her attitude with the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

My son has been at Gables for two years. He had some difficulty adjusting during a brief period of time and I found the teacher's and principal's approach very reasonable. I believe the staff is very open to suggestions and new ideas. A new club was started last year to encourage more fitness activies for the children. It is a fun and positive place to send children for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

great school, and great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

This is the best school in town if your child is 'normal.' My son is gifted, and has ADHD, and had a terrible experience with his teacher. The teacher was inexperienced with children who learn differently. There are too many strict rules, that are unnecessary. The principle gave no help for resolving the situation. We eventually had to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

As far as I'm concerned, Gables is the best elementary school the district has to offer. The involvement of the parents and community make this small school highly desirable. The diversity of the students and the way that the staff incorporates the many different customs of these children make this school a great start for our next generation that will become a more diverse workforce in the future. The principal, michelle Harkins, is not as great as Steve Holland was before he was transferred from the school. The school offers many after school activities such as scouts, tutoring, and latchkey. The music teacher, Mr. Dover is awesome, as he donates his time to the children after school with such activities as show choir and acoustic guitar lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

When I took my son to this school. He love at very first sight, the school is great for ESOL students. They provide freed Brakefast and reduced price Lunch. Also they are good in showing intrest to students reading,writing,math skills. They will send a weekly note what the done for the week and how to improve your kid at Home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female77%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)63%

Reading

All Students93%
Female91%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female65%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)43%

Reading

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female82%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female91%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
99 (2011)
 
99 (2010)
 
96 (2009)
 
95 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 74%
Hispanic 18% 4%
Asian 17% 2%
Black 11% 16%
Two or more races 10% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 6%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Miss. Jill E. Lausch
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6451

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1680 Becket Ave
Columbus, OH 43235
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5499

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ecole Francaise
Columbus, OH





Greensview Elementary School
Upper Arlington, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT