Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbus Collegiate Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
CCA has a very disciplined environment in which the children seem to thrive. Personal responsibility and character are taught as much as academics. At first I was a bit annoyed by all the rules, but I began to see the benefits. Their philosophy is to "sweat the small stuff so you don't get to the big stuff". I have visited the school many times during school hours and always found it to be quiet and peaceful. The children seemed engaged and happy. My friend's daughter was being seriously bullied at her public school, so I suggested CCA. She enrolled her this year and even though CCA is much harder (including more homework) she loves it and just recently posted on Facebook saying that her time at CCA has been "the best days of her life". The staff is so helpful and friendly. It is obvious that the teachers care about the children. My child was having trouble keeping up before she started school in this system. I have no idea how they did it, but after just one year she was ahead of the game. She loves the school and actually looks forward to going there. I couldn't be happier or more impressed with this school system.

Columbus Collegiate Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started behind and is now ahead of her grade level. I was very impressed by that.


Columbus Collegiate Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
At first I thought it was way too much, but we all got used to it. I will say that I rarely thought it was just busy work. It did help her grow and let me know how and what she was learning.

Columbus Collegiate Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
The children are rewarded and recognized for hard work, grit, wonder....and one other thing I can't recall at the moment.

Columbus Collegiate Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Respect is something they talk to the kids all the time. My daughter has learned a lot about respect.


Columbus Collegiate Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
I think they try to with culture camp and the way they address student issues

Columbus Collegiate Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
They begin the year with what they call culture camp. And character and hard work is a big part of their lessons.

Columbus Collegiate Academy 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
CCA has been our lifeline. As a concerned parent with little time to support my daughter in school I rely heavily on her school to take care of her. CCAs longer school day with opportunities to stay after school makes my life easier. My daughter did struggle with the academics early on, but the teachers were always there for her. They even answered her phone calls at night. I love CCA and don't know what I would do without them.


Columbus Collegiate Academy 1

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
This school has been a great disappointment to my husband and I. I was impressed with the information I received during the home visit and the orientation we attended. The screening process prior to enrollment seemed very thorough. I believed that this new structure would give my child a great beginning as she entered middle school. However, during the times I have visited this school during school hours to pick my child up for appointments, there seems to be a high number of students on ICS (in class suspension), my daughter has repeatedly been verbally bullied on school grounds and hit in the face twice by the same person on the bus ride home with little consequences faced. Instead of a "structured" environment, this school's approach towards these issues seems to be too passive for this population of students in this area. My daughter has had problems concentrating in class because of the classroom size and the disruptions from students With their behavioral issues. I am sadden that I have to look for another school for my child.

Columbus Collegiate Academy 5

Posted March 27, 2011
- a community member
CCA has a tigorous curriculum, structured environment, a wide-range of classes and extracurriculars, and proven academic success. The teachers and administrators work relentlessly to ensure every child achieves academic excellence. You could not ask for a better learning environment for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus Collegiate Academy
1469 E. Main Street, Columbus, OH  43205
(614) 299-5284
Last modified Columbus Collegiate Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus Collegiate Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top