Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Normandy Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
OAA, core curriculum.....test test test. How about letting the teachers actually teach like they love too !

Normandy Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a horrible school. The principal does not listen to or address any concerns. My son has been reading at a beginning third grade level since first grade and is stil at that level according to them because they never read with them to find out the students' levels. He needs a challenge. The teacher is well aware of this and does nothing.


Normandy Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
People should go to this school because they will find the best teachers and firends.

Normandy Elementary School 3

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
This is the perfect school for perfect children. However, if your child is not perfect, it may not be the best fit. It had many good programs, but were unable to deal with my son's 'asperger' traits. We left the school just over a year ago and my son is much happier in a different school.

Normandy Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2008
- a parent
I only wish that my children STILL went to Normandy! The school has many innovative programs in place, and the support from the guidance office is excellent. They offer 'Literature Circles' for advanced readers, a chess club, 'Destination Imagination', support circles through the guidance office, a wonderful parent-run program on disabilities and diversity, and another parent-runprogram that teaches the children about famous artists. The art program is also quite excellent . I


Normandy Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2007
- a parent
My son attends Normandy and we both like the school. He has trouble with reading and writing, and they are right on top of it. I am so glad to be apart of Normady.

Normandy Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2005
- a parent
My son had a wonderful first grade year at Normandy Elementary. His teacher took the time to know him and learn his individual interest. He spent most of his time at school reading and writing. He published many books through the school writer's workshop program, and he advanced nine levels in reading in one year. The school has many volunteer programs, one of which I was able to participate. Students, in grades 1 through 3, are selected to participate in Literature Circles. In a small group, students read books selected by teachers, for discussion and study. I feel that the school succeeds in meeting each student's academic level through the various programs and teaching staff. The school environment is friendly and relaxed, however learning is a top priority.

Normandy Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2004
- a student


Normandy Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2004
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school since 1st grade. I have decided to send her to a private school for 5th grade due to the poor math program. The kids are taught Everyday Math which seems to ignore the basic concepts of math. This program has been called 'fuzzy math', and tends to confuse most kids as well as the parents. Fortunately we have taught our daughter traditional math, however she has been told she can't solve problems the traditional way, she must use the strategies Everyday math uses. 3 months are dedicated to the Prof. exams and not enough on teaching basic skills.

Normandy Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My son has attended Normandy since first grade and is currently in fifth grade. He looks forward to school starting more and more every year! He enjoys the interactions and guidance from the teachers, as well as the fellowship with other students. The principal is new this year, but she was his reading teacher for two years, we know she was a wise choice for this position. All of the teachers have seemed genuinely concerned with the well being and education of our son. They are very supportive of families with parents who go away for the military or other business as well. Centerville city schools puts out an 'up to' book every summer. The children work on various subjects to get them ready for the upcoming school year and keep what they just learned in their head. My son has enjoyed working on this along with continuing to read every summer which I feel has better prepared him for the upcoming school year. Normandy and Centerville as a whole has a wonderful school program.

Nearby schools

Normandy Elementary School
401 Normandy Ridge Rd, Dayton, OH  45459
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (937) 434-0917
Last modified Normandy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 2-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top