Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chaminade Julienne High School

Private | 9-12 | 708 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dayton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $62,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

this is a good school if you're looking for academic excellence. However some of the teachers that had been there for quite some time needs to be retrained. My son constantly had complained about a few teachers who are there not teaching but mostly storytelling about personal life. the administration also needs to be reworked. There's far too many admin staff that needs skills in customer service. This stubbornness may stem from the fact that this is a parochial school. However there are better schools around the area that is just as good. For instance, Dayton Regional STEM school is a great school if you're looking for excellence academically. My son enjoys his friends at the school and its the only thing that's stopping me from transferring him out toanother school. If you're a parent of a freshman and considering the school, looking to other schools such as the stem school or alter. Maybe far but I believe that it's a better parochial school then this cool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

CJ is an amazing high school. All three of my children have attended. The president, Dan Meixner is amazingly talented , faith-filled person. He is genuine about his love for CJ and for Catholic education. All three of my children are attending colleges of there choice and have been well prepared for the rigor of college. The guidance office is amazing! Their expertise and intentional approach to preparing the students for the college application and selection process far exceeded my expectations . Thank you CJ!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

I am a former student, currently in my sophomore year of college. I graduated from CJ and I am so proud of that title. When I came to college, and people asked where I went to high school, they immediately said "You must be a smart kid, that's supposed to be one of the top high schools in Ohio!" There are cons about every high school, there is always someone who is going to complain about something; but if you want your child in a caring and diversified environment, I would advise you to pick CJ. While in my four years at CJ I made life long friendships, and though the education was excellent, that is what I will always remember, the people. CJ prides itself on its Christian values, and that was a huge part of my experience at CJ. CJ is one of the only high schools in Dayton with a place dedicated to doing service and makes it a priority to do service NOT ONLY in the Dayton area, but also around the world. I can honestly say CJ was what made me the person I am today.


Posted September 22, 2011

I find that those who gave this school a bad rating are those who wants everything handed to them and expects a perfect world. This school is a great college prep regardless that it is in inner city location. It is not perfect but I find that the students here are respectful, hard working in comparison to the inner city public school. In short, the CJ students don't act like they are from inner city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I am a former student, currently a sophomore in college, and I can honestly say CJ was the best thing that happened to me. The academics were great and most of the teachers were first rate who truly cared about their students. In fairness there were a few teachers that were "bad apples" but that happens at every school. For the most part these teachers are gone with in a few years as their true ability, or lack there of, is realized. The administration is very approachable with any problems and the guidance department is a great resource when it comes to finding colleges. The ministry and service department made everyone feel welcome, even non Catholics. The retreats that were put on were life changing for many people and a great way to bond. CJ has a sense of community that I have seen no where else and i have built bonds with other students, teachers, and faculty that will last a lifetime. If you want to have a memorable experience while learning a lot about the world and yourself attend Chaminade Julienne.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2011

CJ graduates 98% of their students and that is because if the administration feels that you will fail they simply ask you to withdraw. I have a huge problem with this. That is not a solution. What does that message send to our kids? As teenagers we expect that mistakes will be made, as adults we are suppose to guide our children in the right direction, not discard them when they mess up. This policy is only enforced for those students that are not Star athletic, because if you play football at CJ, your grades really don t matter. So know that if you are considering sending your child to CJ, the administration will not be there to help your child, they will advise them to go to a Dayton Public School, unless they play a sport and are good at that sport. The administration is more concerned with keeping up with appearances than they are with their students. It s really pretty sad!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

As a former student, I am surprised to see many positive reviews. Relative to public schools, there are a lot of good things to say about CJ academically. But, an apples to apples comparison (Catholic school to Catholic school), CJ is really below average. It is a rough, inner city school where many (would be public school) sports recruits go undisciplined. The teachers are hit and miss. I was an honors student and most honors teachers were quite good. But the teachers of generic classes that everyone has to take (Health, PE, Religion etc.) are sloppy and disengaged. The student body is not cohesive (students are from all around the city which is not the school's fault but does not help). Consider Alter or Carroll
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

im currently attending cj and i love it! the community is great and the spirit is incredible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

I have one daughter who has graduated from chaminade-julienne and one more to attend beginning 2009. My first daughter i feel received a good education and has gone on to use that at University of Cincinnati. She was very much involved in the soccer pprogram at CJ and is now playing club soccer at UC. I feel it is important to get a good base education before you move onto college and I feel my daughter has received that from CJ. That is one of the reasons I am sending my other daughter there plus we are of the Catholic religion and I feel it is importtant to stress the Catholic values taught at CJ. They also need to be stressed at home too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

I have a sophmore at C-j they are great academic wise, it challenges her with every day home work and a enviorment that is based on educating a well rounded person,. My daughter is a cheerleader, on student concil, and a member of the winners club, she is more aware and cautios of thins because of the support from her techers and falculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

My oldest daughter graduated from CJ in 2003. I currently have another daughter who is a Junior and a son who is a Freshman. I have a 5th grader anxiously waiting his turn. If there is such a thing as an 'IVY LEAGUE' high school, Chaminade Julienne is definately it. -by Carolyn Whitaker-Gunn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

Strong education and moral guidance. Teachers are dedicated to educating the students and helping them in obtaining acceptance to college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I am not a parent, but I am a former student. CJ was probably the best experience I could have had for a Highschool career. Not not only were the teachers wonderful, and always willing to go that extra mile, but they also had so many activities to be a part of. Ranging anywhere from sports to religious retreats. Definitely a school that is above many others.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

This school proved to provide the information I needed to know to succeed in college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I graduated in 2003 and I am glad that I attended this school. It was a great jump start on my college career. The teachers really dedicate their time to help each student with school and outside of school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

Chaminade Julienne is an excellent school and I would not have wanted to send my child to any other Catholic High School in the area. I feel confident that when my child enter college she will be fully prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Awesome school won state championships in Football and Womens Basketball!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 77%
Black 37% 19%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school CJ has students from 50 different zip codes in the Dayton area
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Harold E. Meyer Sportsmanship Award (2008)
  • Harold E. Meyer Sportsmanship Award (2007)
  • Harold E. Meyer Sportsmanship Award (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05am
School end time
  • 2:59pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. John C. Marshall
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (937) 461-6091

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
  • bowling, crew
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling, crew

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Co-educators (pto-type group), blue & green club (booster club for all student activities), volunteer opportunities with individual athletic teams and clubs.
More from this school
  • CJ is a diverse community in economic background, ethnicity, and religion.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
CJ has students from 50 different zip codes in the Dayton area
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

505 South Ludlow Street
Dayton, OH 45402
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 461-3740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Watkins Academy
Dayton, OH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT