Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Helen Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 353 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dayton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

The principal appears to allow the parents to dictate how the school is to be run. She doesn't seem to take responsibility for what her teachers are teaching. Then when she is questioned she places the blame on the teachers. Ultimately, she is the one responsible for lesson plans and content taught to the students.


Posted August 3, 2013

I don't know where all the great reviews are coming from. The teachers as well as services are being cut. Parent involvement has dropped drastically. The # of kids on vouchers has reached almost 50%. The # of catholic students is soon going to be lower than non-catholic students due to Dayton public school vouchers. I finally made the decision to pull my kids from this school after attending for 6 years. The school is on a downward spiral.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Outstanding teachers. Outstanding parent involvement. Outstanding results. it provides a loving, caring and structured environment. Lifeskills are taught, well round child developement. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

The teachers show their enthusiasm for teaching, respect to each other and the children. The children are taught to do their best with their God given talents, use some of their time for service to others and that prayer makes a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

We are an active duty military family and St Helens welcomed us and our first grader. The teachers and staff are wonderful and the quality of education is right on par with where we came from and has met or exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend this small private Catholic School to anyone who wants an alternative to the more crowded public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

St. Helen is a great school. The principal is very caring and personal. The computer/student ratio is unbelievable. The teachers are very caring and I dont feel like a number. I feel that my kids (4) are getting the best education available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

St. Helens is a good enough school for the tuition rate, I believe it's the cheapest in the Dayton area for both parishoners and non-parishoners. Teachers are good, they take an active interest in your child and give regular feedback on your child's progress and needs. If your child has special needs like services for an IEP like speech therapy or to meet with a psychologist, it will be in an unattached trailer on the school grounds. Bottom line is the school is satisfactory for most students given the tuition, but for special needs, seriously consider a public school as they will have to provide an special needs in compliance with the law.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is wonderful for teaching your children values and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 77%
Black 7% 19%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55am
School end time
  • 2:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Barbara J. Markus
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (937) 254-4614

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Classroom aide library aide cafeteria monitor playground monitor individual tutoring pto member education commission member
More from this school
  • Accelerated math program -- eighth graders have the opportunity to attend Carroll High School for algebra and get high school credit for the class. There is also and advanced seven grade math class that is held at our school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Beavercreek schools
Mad River schools
Dayton schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Carroll High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5086 Burkhardt Road
Dayton, OH 45431
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 256-1761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT