Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
353 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Helen Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Genco is a third grade teacher who keeps my little boy excited about school every day. Thank you for being a great role model and for Doing the impossible!

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Each child is made to feel important. The virtue based education is exactly what my children respond to. The community (teachers, administration, Parents and parishioners and children) are very diverse and very welcoming!


St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
We initially picked St Helen’s because of its closeness to Wright Patt AFB. We were immediately struck by how welcoming the school staff was to military families and that they have a virtues based program to teach our children not only academics, but how to be good people. It is nice to see a school that is truly trying to make a difference in the lives of its students. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a school to put St Helen’s at the top of their list of schools to visit.

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
You simply can't find a better place for a young child to grow. Academically challenging with character formation and faith components at the center of everything they do. Everyone from the Principal, to the staff, to the parents, and parishioners cares deeply for each student. The community is top notch and I would not have my children anywhere else. Take a tour of the school while in session and you will see what I mean.

St. Helen Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
The proof is in the pudding so to speak! As the parent of a younger student, I look to the older students in the school to see not only highly educated young people but also a well balanced. confident and compassionate group by and large. St. Helen's educational standards are simply higher and with great sports, music and art, the school provides a firm foundation for success. There is always room for improvement of course, St. Helen needs to activate volunteers better and groom more parent participation. Community is one thing that sets St. Helen apart. With a very healthy and vibrant Parish affiliated, we enjoy a wealth of families who care to invest time and resources in our children. Finally, diversity and inclusion at St. Helen is a large part of it's value. St. Helen helps to teach my child that those who are differently able have many important gifts to share.


St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
St. Helen school is wonderful and comes highly recommended. The new Principal and the virtue-based learning she has incorporated really makes the school stand out even among other Catholic elementary schools. Their academics are strong like you would expect, and it is a vibrant and FUN school for the kids! It has a great community feel of acceptance from the parish to the school. I encourage all parents looking for a school, to meet with the Principal and ask about the virtue -based learning. You will be amazed and thankful you took the time to check into it. It is a great example of what should be happening in our Catholic schools and our Catholic lives daily. The clubs, service work, sports, drama, etc. are all there too. I have two children that received an excellent educational foundation there and have been very well prepared for Catholic High School. My only 'negative' is that my kids won't have MORE years under the leadership of the new principal. She is so dedicated that I wish I had another child to send to elementary school or pre-school! Visit the school and take a tour!! You will be glad you did!

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
As the first year in the role of principal, she has done an amazing job inspiring the entire school from the preschoolers to the eighth graders. She is extremely responsive to parent concerns and truly does what is best for the school. The teachers have embraced living the virtues that are being taught to our kids and are encouraging of the parent participation.

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
St. Helen's is alive and well thank to great leadership and faculty. The new principal is transparent, communicates wonderfully with families, hold students, teachers and families accountable; constantly reminding us that it is a team effort when it comes to educating our children! The teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond the call of duty, Almost every teacher leads some sort of extra curricular club or activity. Students are more than prepared for the next level, typically Carroll High School. The spiritual component is strong and as Father would say thoroughly Catholic. Students enjoy being at school because they are treated with love and respect by all.


St. Helen Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2014
- a community member
The principal appears to allow the parents to dictate how the school is to be run. She doesn't seem to take responsibility for what her teachers are teaching. Then when she is questioned she places the blame on the teachers. Ultimately, she is the one responsible for lesson plans and content taught to the students.

St. Helen Elementary School 2

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
I don't know where all the great reviews are coming from. The teachers as well as services are being cut. Parent involvement has dropped drastically. The # of kids on vouchers has reached almost 50%. The # of catholic students is soon going to be lower than non-catholic students due to Dayton public school vouchers. I finally made the decision to pull my kids from this school after attending for 6 years. The school is on a downward spiral.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Helen Elementary School
5086 Burkhardt Road, Dayton, OH  45431
(937) 256-1761
Last modified St. Helen Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Helen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top