Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


St. Helen Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
The proof is in the pudding so to speak! As the parent of a younger student, I look to the older students in the school to see not only highly educated young people but also a well balanced. confident and compassionate group by and large. St. Helen's educational standards are simply higher and with great sports, music and art, the school provides a firm foundation for success. There is always room for improvement of course, St. Helen needs to activate volunteers better and groom more parent participation. Community is one thing that sets St. Helen apart. With a very healthy and vibrant Parish affiliated, we enjoy a wealth of families who care to invest time and resources in our children. Finally, diversity and inclusion at St. Helen is a large part of it's value. St. Helen helps to teach my child that those who are differently able have many important gifts to share.

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
St. Helen school is wonderful and comes highly recommended. The new Principal and the virtue-based learning she has incorporated really makes the school stand out even among other Catholic elementary schools. Their academics are strong like you would expect, and it is a vibrant and FUN school for the kids! It has a great community feel of acceptance from the parish to the school. I encourage all parents looking for a school, to meet with the Principal and ask about the virtue -based learning. You will be amazed and thankful you took the time to check into it. It is a great example of what should be happening in our Catholic schools and our Catholic lives daily. The clubs, service work, sports, drama, etc. are all there too. I have two children that received an excellent educational foundation there and have been very well prepared for Catholic High School. My only 'negative' is that my kids won't have MORE years under the leadership of the new principal. She is so dedicated that I wish I had another child to send to elementary school or pre-school! Visit the school and take a tour!! You will be glad you did!


St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
As the first year in the role of principal, she has done an amazing job inspiring the entire school from the preschoolers to the eighth graders. She is extremely responsive to parent concerns and truly does what is best for the school. The teachers have embraced living the virtues that are being taught to our kids and are encouraging of the parent participation.

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
St. Helen's is alive and well thank to great leadership and faculty. The new principal is transparent, communicates wonderfully with families, hold students, teachers and families accountable; constantly reminding us that it is a team effort when it comes to educating our children! The teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond the call of duty, Almost every teacher leads some sort of extra curricular club or activity. Students are more than prepared for the next level, typically Carroll High School. The spiritual component is strong and as Father would say thoroughly Catholic. Students enjoy being at school because they are treated with love and respect by all.

St. Helen Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2014
- a community member
The principal appears to allow the parents to dictate how the school is to be run. She doesn't seem to take responsibility for what her teachers are teaching. Then when she is questioned she places the blame on the teachers. Ultimately, she is the one responsible for lesson plans and content taught to the students.


St. Helen Elementary School 2

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
I don't know where all the great reviews are coming from. The teachers as well as services are being cut. Parent involvement has dropped drastically. The # of kids on vouchers has reached almost 50%. The # of catholic students is soon going to be lower than non-catholic students due to Dayton public school vouchers. I finally made the decision to pull my kids from this school after attending for 6 years. The school is on a downward spiral.

St. Helen Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
Outstanding teachers. Outstanding parent involvement. Outstanding results. it provides a loving, caring and structured environment. Lifeskills are taught, well round child developement. Highly recommended.

St. Helen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
The teachers show their enthusiasm for teaching, respect to each other and the children. The children are taught to do their best with their God given talents, use some of their time for service to others and that prayer makes a difference.


St. Helen Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Helen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
We are an active duty military family and St Helens welcomed us and our first grader. The teachers and staff are wonderful and the quality of education is right on par with where we came from and has met or exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend this small private Catholic School to anyone who wants an alternative to the more crowded public school system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Helen Elementary School
5086 Burkhardt Road, Dayton, OH  45431
(937) 256-1761
Last modified St. Helen Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Helen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.