Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Miami Valley School

Private | PK-12 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dayton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2013

I taught at Miami Valley School for five years and found it to be a wonderful school. The students are unusually kind and civil, and the other teachers are dedicated and caring. It is by far the best K-12 education one can find in the Dayton area. If I had a child, I would want him or her to attend Miami Valley. The Immersion program is also very special. I
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2013

We researched all the local schools and decided on MVS because it has a very welcoming, diverse atmosphere with small classrooms and exceptional teachers. Our boys attended MVS Early Childhood for the last two years, and they have blossomed! Their vocabularies, senses of curiosity, imaginations, and coordination have exponentially grown. On the weekends, they always ask if it is a school day and are sad to hear they have to wait until Monday. They love their teachers, and have amazing friends from every different cultural and ethnic background. I love this school and we are very sad that we will be moving next year! Highly recommend to any family coming to this area! It is more than worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

i have been going to MVS for three years. I've got to say that my parents made the right choice for sending me here. the students there are more that nice. the teachers challenge you to become self-sustaining learners and compassionate global citizens. this is the best school i have ever been to.


Posted April 13, 2010

Its has been a great school for both students and parents. The students have been getting one on one attention, customized learning programs and challenges and the parents are welcome to be a part of it all. We have been a part of MVS for 5 years and have been very happy with things. However, there have been recent changes over the last two years that are concerning. No dedicated librarian, more focus on athletics, less on academics, larger class sizes and fewer teachers. We understand that it is a balancing act to continue to provide the same quality of education in this economy; and are very hopeful that the school stays true to its mission statment and commitment to students. We would like to continue to be a part of this school but it may not be worth the tuition if they choose to be average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My daughter is a recent graduate of MVS. I don't think we appreciated the benefits the school offered enough until she went to college. Apart from the excellent academics, how she is different to other kids in college is her confidence and her ability to stand up for herself , assert her views without feeling she has to go with the crowd. I think the supportive small class size and the nurturing enviorment fosted this confidence and the self assurance that she possesses which makes her stand out among the other teen in college. To us, it was the best gift we could have given out child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I love MVS as well. I have never known a school so devoted not only to the student, but also to the family. We have had two personal crisis while my son has been at the school, the first medical and the second financial, and MVS administrators and teachers went well above and beyond to assist us so that our son could continue his education at MVS. He positively loves this school. The students are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2009

i just transferred schools this year and currently go to The Miami Valley School. I was at a huge public school where I was failing, but did pass the 8th grade. When one of the parents at Mvs who has a big part with mvs and all. He came up to me and told me about this school and that they needed some big man for sports mostly basketball though and that this school would be right for me. I applied to the school and they were very generous and accepted me. I love this school so far as a freshman and hope to like it even more in my next years. GO RAMS
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

Thus far we have been happy with The Miami Valley School; however, the focus appears to be shifting from academics to athletics (one example: they just fired the librarians while hiring a soccer coach...) We're there for the strong academic program so we'll be warily watching. I'm also looking forward to seeing AP/SAT/ACT scores or info for 08 & 09.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I love this school!! We tried public-it was a dreadful experience for both of our boys. But they are both thriving and excelling! They love it at mvs!! You will, too, because the staff, teachers and students are all so incredibly nice. They really do see and appreciate the whole child. What a great place for our boys to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

This is my son's first year attending The Miami Valley School and he is absolutely thriving both academically and socially. There is a very diverse student body, excellent teachers, challenging academics and great extra-circular activities. The mission statement says it all - 'Challenge young people of promise to become self-sustaining learners and compassionate global citizens.' They live up to this statement 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My Student currently goes here, and it has been the best expierence ever. All the teachers are always there to help the children individually, the parents and faculty are always working together to help and improve the school. I have never seen such a put-together school. My child is friends with all the kids in the grade, and her grades are so high due to the attention of teachers. Academic level is higher than usual, but great for college transcripts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

The student who posted the review has not actually been to the school, and has completey overlooked the point of Miami Valley. Its a great community to be apart of, my daughter goes there, and everybody was very welcoming. The teachers are always there to help. I highly reccomend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I hate this school. I left because i was so unhappy. There are so many mean kids and they get by with everything. It was so frustrating and the teachers and administrators are very weak. Don't go to Miami Valley~
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

Its a great school. The Extracurriculars rock by the way! The kids especially are the best part of the school. They are so nice and smart/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Wonderful school environment for children of all ages. Teachers are the best and go above and beyond. The only downfall is the cost of tuition which is more than most colleges in the area. If you can afford it, it is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 77%
Asian 19% N/A
Black 10% 19%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. William I. Glisson
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (937) 434-1033

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5151 Denise Dr
Dayton, OH 45429
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 434-4444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT