Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Children's Center

Private | PK-K & ungraded | 70 students

We are best known for peaceful and kind environment.

 
 

Living in Dayton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $82,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2012

We made a mistake sending our child here. There were many good things about the teachers from other grade level but not for our child s class. We e-mailed the Montessori Education and were told that the punishment that our child and his friends were receiving by his teacher were not a Montessori practice. A few of the students left the same year we did. We feel that this school (just from this one teacher s class) has not met our expectations of a nurturing environment as is practice by the Montessori system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

MCC has been great for both of our children. They both have received an excellent foundation to their education. All of the teachers they have had have been superb! Both of our children love MCC. They love how they can have the freedom to learn by exploring. I highly recommend the MCC!!:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

We did stumble upon this gem of a school totally by accident. We have twins and we were not satisfied with the daycare we were getting -- afternoons sitting in front of a tv. We found that the MCC was less expensive than our daycare and the teachers were there for the duration. The teachers are bright and caring. The parents are involved quite a bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

If you are looking for a true Montessori program that supports the whole child, this is the place! Both of my daughters currently attend MCC (since 2003). This is the way children should be taught. The skills, methods, and love of learning, are spot on for the development of children. Schedule and observation TODAY! You will be impressed and instantly see/feel the difference when you walk through the doors. You want to know more about Montessori Education? Confused about what it is? Check out these links to learn more. http://guest.portaportal.com/mccdayton S. Ross-Davis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I had gone to MCC for all of my schooling career until I had to leave to go to high school. MCC provided me with a great education and prepared me for the real world. MCC allows you to learn at your own pace and work on what interests you. I personally started a school newspaper and pioneered the schools fort building project which was organized by fifth graders! While organizing the fort project I had to write large local companies to get funding; something no private school would ever have you do in the fifth grade. This school gives you a great grasp of fundamentals and will leave you ahead in almost any school you proceed onto. I would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

MCC is a little gem of a school. The classes are small, the teachers are dedicated and gifted, and the atmosphere is supportive. Both my daughters attend MCC and love it. I see progress every day. I are thrilled with the education my children are getting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

My son is in the 2nd grade and has attended Montessori Children's Center since kindergarten. I wish I had found the school when he was entering preschool. The young childhood education there is excellent. All of the children work at their own speeds, which leaves them free to focus on areas which interest them and develop their own unique specialties (for example, one boy became quite the expert in geography by focusing on it for many of his readings and activities while sill doing reading, writing, and other subjects). My son thoroughly enjoys his class and the freedom he has to choose what activities and works he does during the day. The teachers keep the kids on track but work with the child's mood and interests day to day. They are caring, attentive, willing to work with parents, and open to parents being in the classroom and volunteering time to teach the children something new. I believe my son is receiving an excellent education for a reasonable price, and I plan to send my younger son there when he turns 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 77%
Asian 16% N/A
Black 5% 19%
Hispanic 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Alfred F. Remmers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Ice Skating
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Ice Skating
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parent group formed to help with school activities
More from this school
  • Students at our school love learning. They are happy to come to school. Our preschool students are learning and preparing for what comes next, just like all of the students. We assess by observing students and are in frequent communication with parents in order to provide the best environment in which to grow and learn. We are especially proud of the peaceful and caring environment our community has created where all students are valued and safe.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Huber Heights
Fairborn

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4369 Valley Pike
Dayton, OH 45424
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 236-6805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dayton Montessori Society
Huber Heights, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT