Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Pre-K-8 School

Public | PK-8 | 475 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Awful overall! Most of the staff have major attitude problems. Not all, most. I've heard a secretary curse at a little girl, teachers threaten and bully kindergardners! Even my preschooler had issues with the all day program teachers attitudes! Half day preschool was wonderful though! This school needs to remember treat others how you would like to be treated! No wonder the students give such attitudes back. My oldest dreaded going to school every day, this year he's somewhere else he's so happy wakes up early ready to go! Shame on all of you at this school that have attitude problems!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

I wish I could give this school less than one star rating. My son went to this school for 5 years but this year was it. It was bad before but this year they got a new principal and she is a joke. This school has the worst bullying problem I have ever seen, academically it is a joke and the staff does not seem to care about the students. Students in the younger grades (Pre-K, Kindergarten) are kept from using the restroom and several have had to call their parents for a change of clothes, some of the teachers are bullies, the students definitely are and don't have your child pack lunch because their food will get stolen. My son was being bullied at this school and I received no help from the staff at all. I had several meetings with the teacher, principal and administration downtown and nothing was done. My final straw was when my 7 yr old came home with a concussion and did the school even call me...no. So I did not send him back. I transferred him to a wonderful school that has him excited about school again and is challenging him academically. So in my opinion this is the worst school and very unsafe and unfit for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

My youngest attended this school last year for ECE and we chose to keep him in this school again this year for kindergarten. My older children attend a charter school. We kept my youngest in this school this year because he is "special needs" and it was our understanding that the public school system could offer him more help than the charter school. NOT THE CASE. My daughter, who was also considered "special needs" for a period of time and has always went to the charter school, has always received much more help at the charter school than my son has ever received at Cleveland. He will NOT be going back to this school for the 11/12 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I have two children in this school, (K & 2 for 09/10). I like the modernity of this school, (its one of the ones rebuilt recently), though I have no comparison to the previous incarnation. Of the four teachers we have encountered over the three years, all but one seem to be good, dedicated professionals. Due to an LD with our eldest, we have encountered a number of the other, non-teaching staff that are either part of the school's permanent staff or assigned to the school and all have been helpful during a stressful period of our lives. I would also like to applaud the sophomore Principal who is starting to stamp his mark on the school in positive ways. Of course, there are deficiencies, (large class sizes, lack of recess time, poor menu, etc.) within the school, but I'm sure that they are the same across the District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I have 2 children in Cleveland, ages 9 and 13, both are honor roll students. My son will be attending a private high school next year and had no problem meeting the requirments expected of him. I have found communication between parents and teachers to be very good,but I also make it known that I expect to be kept up to date on my childrens progress or any issues that they might be having.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

Cleveland is a combination of Eastmont and Lincoln students that live in the Walnut Hills and Belmont area. Dayton has rebuilt this school, but its seems to me if your child isn't in music or band, your child education isn't that important. I'm a involed parent that has to teach my child their class work, instead of the school. The basic aren't being capture in they're teaching process. That's why cleveland have low scores. Your children won't be ready for high school attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female48%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female44%
Male57%
Black, non-Hispanic27%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled10%
Non-disabled61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled50%
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female20%
Male46%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female40%
Male58%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students30%
Female20%
Male39%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female67%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic40%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled15%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female62%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic20%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled23%
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female40%
Male22%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled0%
Non-disabled41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female60%
Male48%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled9%
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female60%
Male32%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female80%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students38%
Female50%
Male32%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet
Grade 6MetMet
Grade 7MetMet
Grade 8MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
76 (2011)
 
72 (2010)
 
73 (2009)
 
71 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 74%
Black 15% 16%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hispanic 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 43%N/A49%
Male 58%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 19%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Division II Winner-Math-O-Lympics 4-6 grade (2007)
  • Division II Winner-Math-O-Lympics 7-8 grade (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laura F. Busse
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (937) 542-4341

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have volunteers for tutoring and in the classroom. we have workshops, lending library, math and literacy training, computer literacy training, family fun night, and monthly parent meetings. we also have a parent representative on our building leadership team.
More from this school
  • Cleveland's focus is an integrated arts curriculum combined with a strong academic program which includes Mathematics, Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies. First rate math and literacy intervention teachers provide ongoing content area staff developement to create highly qualified teachers that will increase academic achievement. We are also proud of our postive behavior support program that helps teach students respect and responsibility through positive relationships. We believe this is essential if we want our students to become productive citizens.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
DPS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Belmont H.S.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1102 Pursell Ave
Dayton, OH 45420
Phone: (937) 542-4340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT