Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Defiance High School

Public | 9-12 | 900 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

I am a DHS alumni and I have 2 children enrolled here. As a former student I was often overlooked by staff and students alike. In Defiance if your parents aren't rich or work at GM you are a nobody and not worth knowing! If you are looking for a diverse and accepted learning environment for your kids I would suggest moving out of the area b/c all of new Ohio is like this. My 2 students enrolled at DHS are both on IEP's and I agree with some of their ways but not all of them. Children on an IEP are discouraged from using extra help. They don't care if they succeed or fail. The school places a high emphasis on modern technology with i-pads for students and smart boards in classrooms. These things take more precedence in school budget than books. My daughter does not have a history book. On the plus side, when my daughter was being harassed by another student the principle took my concerns seriously and it stopped. I love the guidance counselors here. They are interested in their students and their academics. My only complaint is that they get a different guidance counselor every year which I feel takes away from personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

On September 12, 2013 we stopped by the Van Wert, Ohio McDonalds. As we pulled in we noticed the Defiance school bus in the lot. Upon entering the building with our two grandchildren, we saw a large party of Defiance girls in line to order. At that point, one of the girls said why don't you go ahead of us and order. She said there was no point in us waiting till all of them got through the line. I ordered and while waiting on my order I . I also noticed that they were opening the door for people leaving and coming into McDonalds. They were very courteous well behaved .This speaks volumes for the girls but also reflects a positive impression toward the coach and the school.


Posted April 17, 2010

We just recently moved here. We come from a previous school of high excellence, however, my freshman son is challenged here as well. They have a wonderful guidance counselor and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Both of my children attend high school at Defiance. Athletics is a high priority at Defiance and in the community but I feel that in some academic areas - the Defiance School system is lacking. Not all the same standards are followed by all the teachers regarding AP classes and honor classes and therefore makes it difficult to evaluate. But many former students, have commented that when they went on to college they were not prepared. Given, this might just be the college experience, but these students were considered academic achievers. There are many good teachers at Defiance but student priority is not always first. I would love to see academics and athletics at the same level of priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2006

Defiance is a good school in terms of the overall experience of going to high school. And in every school has it problems but Defiance has a nice family atmosphere and they try to handle things internally before it gets home. I'm from the Detroit Public School System and I love the fact that my kid is for the most part safe there. For all the naysayers' consider going to a public school and then come back to Defiance and you will se it is a great experience! I am extermely happy that my child attends this school.- W
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

As any school, there are good and bad teachers. If your child is popular, and in band or sports, they will survive. If they have something odd about them, glasses, braces, overweight, etc, I'd suggest you find them somewhere else. Discipline is sorely lacking! Guidance, from my experience is lacking. Counselor I've dealt with is forgetful and lets the ball drop often. It's not the worst school, but I'm sorry I ever enrolled my daughter there and wish there were more choices!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

Except for the ridiculously small lockers for the students and our dissatisfaction with the Guidance Department, we think DHS is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

I'm not a parent but a student. If you want your child to go to a school that emphaizes academics, don't bother with DHS. DHS is extremely sports oriented and when I attended four years ago there was a severe discipline problem, i.e. you played football, you didn't get in trouble, and a bad cheating problem as well. I would proceed with caution. Don't talk to the peer advisors; they're just the most popular students and are one big clique.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female82%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic75%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled54%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students82%
Female75%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic58%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female72%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanic50%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled27%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female86%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanic58%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
98 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
101 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

62%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 74%
Hispanic 20% 4%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 19%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1755 Palmer Dr
Defiance, OH 43512
Phone: (419) 784-2777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tinora High School
Defiance, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT