Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dublin Coffman High School

Public | 9-12 | 1628 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2012

The word "introvert" is commonly misunderstood. People think it is associated with someone who is shy, lacking social skills, or unpleasant to be around in general. This is not really correct. An introvert is someone who finds strength not from others but from within. They are capable of being happy without others; however, this does not mean they have no friends. They actually require alone time in order to function. Dublin Coffman is an extroverted society, and the students don't understand introverts. Introverts enjoy thinking and analyzing in their own minds, and SOME NOT ALL of them consider social interaction trivial. They are often studious and excellent learners. Dublin parents, don't think your kid is flawed by being an introvert. Know that this is natural, and be proud! He or she will go on to accomplish great things!


Posted August 13, 2011

I'm not a parent but a student and have to say that the education offered is top notch. Some of the teachers aren't the best and the school could do a better job of listening when a student is having troubles with a teacher, but overall the teachers are fine. The one thing is the students. If you don't dress, walk or act like "everyone else" you will be ignored and shunned by the majority of the students. It's VERY sports and band oriented so if your not into those things well prepare not to have too many friends. There are a lot of clubs and other activities such as theatre but even that feels like a bad cliche at times. If you're not from a wealthy family you'll have troubles as well because you'll be in the minority and a lot of the students are stuck up while not thinking they're stuck up and know nothing of the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2011

Large high school with excellent administrators, teachers, and students. Expectations are high. Support is given to those students who find learning difficult. Many different and varied classes and teaching styles. The staff is very professional and skilled. Students are polite, goal oriented, and come from prosperous, goal oriented families.


Posted September 8, 2009

My son is a freshman at Coffman, and his experience has been great. We were initially concerned about his transition from a small private middle school to a large public high school. He didn't really know anyone AND he is very introverted. His high school experience started by joining marching band which was a great decision. He made friends quickly, not because he was outgoing, but because other band kids befriended and initiated with him. When he was sick some of them brought him brownies and a get well card. They invited him to parties. A senior girl even drove him to school the very first week. I am still amazed by that gesture of kindness. I know this review doesn't mention academics, its too early to comment on that. But a big part of high school experience is social and I give Coffman an A+ in this category.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I've been a student at Coffman for three years. This is a great school if you have lived in Dublin since middle school. As I have talked to many students like myself who have transfered in; its hard to make friends. The students are not very open to new things and are often think that they are entitled to everything. The school, itself, is great because it has so many classes, sports and extra curriculars to offer, but the people are not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2009

I've been a student at Coffman for the past two years and I have enjoyed my time there. I don't agree that all students are spoiled. My family isn't rich and almost all of my friends have jobs so they don't have to rely on their parents. Sports events bring the students together and we have so many clubs that it's practically impossible to not find a program to be a part of. Also, we have a program called L.I.N.K. where students are assigned a new student to show around the school and hang out with. It's true that some students talk about drugs and alcohol (not everyone) but that can be found in almost every school. We have a program called T.I. that teaches kids to be drug free. One downfall is that there are tons of students (around 1700) but I still think Coffman is a great school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

Academic-wise, this school is very good. Send your student here if they are either extroverted or if they don't mind studying alone, because if he is introverted, it is not very likely that any of the students in this building will reach forward a hand of friendship. The students, coming from a rich neighborhood, are very spoiled and have not learned to be humble. The students are not very open to things unfamiliar to them. Only a few people will accept different ways of dressing or walking, etc. and even those will not step forward to offer friendship.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2008

The single reason we moved to Dublin was its school district, and we have not been disappointed. Coffman High School especially is a great school. The vast majority of teachers are great. the school has many AP courses, and clearly focuses on academics, although sports and band participation is also big. The principal is outstanding. My son has asperger's syndrome, and the kids in the school are very patient and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

The school is about average. The students seem to horse around a lot, talk about drugs, and alcohol. The teachers are not the best as most of them just act like they know what they are doing but just read out of a book (not very good teaching). They also have a lot of sports if your son or daughter is a football player, baseball, and soccer, etc. Overall the district could be a lot better for how much you pay in taxes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Bitterness and jealousy of parents of children that don't excel (see comment below) are the only problems this school has. The school, staff, and administration of this school are incredibly awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Dublin Coffman is a large, suburban school whose primary mission is to promote athletics. Scholarship takes a back seat to all else. As one of the most affluent suburbs in Ohio, it's rankings for national merit finalist (approx. 3 out of 300) is inexcusable. Parents who are concerned about education, send their children to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

This school community is awesome! The administration and teachers are very caring and professional and are committed to every student's success. I feel so fortunate to live within this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

This school offers an excellent range of course work for all levels including AP, Honors, and self paced programs. There are many ways to get involved, clubs, almost every sport, and other organizations. The school is safe, weapons are not an issue, most students are college bound and act like it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 10, 2005

A good school, with a lot of extracurriculars avaliable, as well as very high academic standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

Hi As a former valedictorian of Dublin Coffman High School I can say with great confidence that DCHS is a great school. The teachers there are all very educated and professional. To the Asian mother...I am an Asian as well...I scored a 1560 on my SAT, and was a National Merit Scholar. The school has put me where I am today. It will provide your children with as many opportunites as as any other public school...it is all there for the taking...but of course it is always up to the studend to achieve to his/her potential. I loved the four years i spent in the Dublin school system. I learned so much, and grew tremendously as an individual.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2004

Our daughters had great years and wonderful opportunities afforded to them at Coffman. The music department is unparalleled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I am an Asian American mother. My son attended Coffman last year and he said he hated the school. I worked late but when I got home, I often found him bruised or beat up. I tried talking to him but he says the kids were just messing around. I tried reporting to the district but they said they don't know what happened. Soon, his grades started to fall and performed poorly on the SAT so I had to pull him out of school and put him into homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I am not a parent, but rather, a former student. What I can say about Dublin Coffman is that I had a very positive experience in high school. I thought the majority of teachers were wonderful and genuinely cared about the growth of each student. Howoever, the ones that stick out to me now are the teachers that would get just as caught up with popularity and image as students at Coffman did. There were teachers that would only focus on the kids who 'looked the part.' Very disappointing. I wish the school would evaluate that more.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2004

This parent obviously knows what they are talking about because the probably visited all the high schools in Ohio. In addition the teachers there are not childish, but rather very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

This school is the nicest school in the state. The only thing that I can say bad about this school is there are many young teachers which sometime are childish but the kids have fun with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanic74%
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled63%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic91%
Asian or Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled88%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial88%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled63%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled72%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)60%

Writing

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanic87%
Asian or Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled69%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
110 (2011)
 
109 (2010)
 
110 (2009)
 
110 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

84%

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 74%
Asian 12% 2%
Black 4% 16%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 9%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6780 Coffman Rd
Dublin, OH 43017
Phone: (614) 764-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Village Academy
Powell, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT