Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2012

Riverside is a truly excellent school. The principal is warm, caring, and fair, and my daughter has made significant connections with every teacher she's come in contact with here. They've worked with her to find a curriculum that best suits her needs and several teachers have even supported her activities outside of school! When her best friend was faced with an ugly bullying situation the administration worked with all the families involved to make certain the learning environment was safe and supportive and that the bullies in question were given the guidance they needed to make better choices. I cannot say enough good things about this school and the staff that make it so wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

My daughter is attending here for first grade after having been in Kindergarten at another Dublin city school. I think this is a good school and I like the low student -teacher ratio, however I feel like there is a huge lack of communication between the teachers, school admin., and the PTO with the parents. I feel as if I don't know what is going half the time. So while I do think this a great place for learning, in a nice neighborhood, I really miss the connected feeling I got from my daughter's previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

Riverside rocks. The teachers are so welcoming and care about each and every child. The principle is the best she cares about every child in the school.


Posted August 11, 2009

Wonderful school!!!! I loved it!!!! My child attended it from k-8.... It was absolutely perfect
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

There is much diversity here. It is good and bad. The exposer is good as far as culture however the education is seems to be distrubed from it inthe younger grades. A lot of the younger Kindergarden,1st grade students are still learning english. There are aids to help the children. I feel the staff and teachers work and hearts are dedecatied,however parent invoulvment is a concern. Overall my second grader loves his teacher and I sent my kindergarden to a all day private and I know that was the best thing for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

My son went through kindergarten here and is now in the middle of first grade. I can say nothing bad about his experience. His teachers have been excellent. They have been very warm and caring for my child. My experience with the staff has been absolutely wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

Great school! The students are wonderful and the staff is very caring. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment for children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2005

My daughter and I moved from Upper Arlington to Dublin in her last year of Elementary School. After a few weeks at Riverside I figured out that I had made a terrible mistake but I was concerned to pull my daughter out of the school and move back to Upper Arlington would be worse. The latch key program and the teacher at Riverside are some of the most insensitive school care workers I have ever encountered. My daughter has come home in tears, in fear (of her teacher) more times than I can count. To try and discuss it with the teacher was like driving into a brick wall. My daughter has survived the year, made new friends and made good grades. I will be happy when this year comes to an end and can only hope that the Middle School in Dublin is better than their Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

Riverside Elemetary was the best school ever. I spent two weeks in the school and I liked it very much. Those were the best two weeks of my life. Etleeste till now. Shivam
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2003

Mrs Shaunessy is an amazing teacher, my daughter has brought her grades from Fs to Bs and Cs and is eager for school every day. The whole school is remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic70%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)82%

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic70%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female82%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial>=95%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)77%

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial>=95%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial>=95%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)60%

Reading

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial91%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)93%

Science

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial>=95%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
98 (2010)
 
94 (2009)
 
97 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 74%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Asian 10% 2%
Black 10% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Connie S. Stitzlein
Fax number
  • (614) 718-5987

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3260 Riverside Green Dr
Dublin, OH 43017
Phone: (614) 764-5940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Brendan School
Hilliard, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT