Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Dublin, OH
Students enrolled: 554

3 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
St. Brigid of Kildare is a wonderful school that is committed to academic excellence in a warm, caring and faith-filled environment. The school has won the U.S Dept.of Education Blue Ribbon award in 2008 and again in 2014, which is awarded to schools with outstanding academics (student test scores have to be in the top 5-10% of the nation for 5 years, in order to receive this award), community service, instructional best practices and professional development. The school has also embraced 21 Century Learning and equipped every child in the 4th - 8th grades with their own personal Chromebooks, capitalizing on technology, yet keeping the child's personal cell phones out of the classroom. The education goes beyond textbooks in that children learn to be faithful, kind and respectful individuals. They are surrounded by loving teachers and staff that continually instill the Catholic beliefs and values that we teach at home. We feel blessed to have had the opportunity for our son to attend St. Brigid for the past 8 years and will miss it when he graduates.
1 person found this helpful

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
This is not what you would call a "great Catholic education". Between discrimination of students and sub-par teachers, Saint Brigid is a terrible school to send your children. The school has ridiculous rules such as "no running on the playground". Boys are not allowed to be boys. Their normal boyish shenanigans, as well as small infractions, are harshly dealt with, while girls may get away with anything they please. On the academic side, the mathematics are extremely lacking, especially in the crucial years of high school preparation (7th and 8th grade). The teachers are constantly being changed around, and new teachers are being are added to the staff yearly, replacing ones who quit or are fired. The grading system is terrible, which consists of checks and pluses even through 8th grade. Saint Brigid of Kildare is not the place you want to send your child. Do not waste your time, money, or effort with this school.


St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 3

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
Very elitist parents drag this score down. Just be there for pick up and see them standing at the door chatting (oblivious to everyone else around them) in their cliques and see it firsthand. And if your kid is in sports, you better hope to be in the "cool" group of parents or it's on the bench. These parents teach their kids the same behavior as well, unfortunately. Good luck getting involved, as all the activities and parent groups are run by these same people who have plenty of time on their hands between manicures and tennis lessons.
2 people found this helpful

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
St. Brigid of Kildare is an exceptional academic institution. I have 4 children there with 4 very different needs and the school has done an amazing job working with, and challenging, each of my children. Being a part of the school is like being a part of a family!

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
St Brigid is an amazing, caring, warm and friendly place. The teachers, administrators and other staff truly care about the well being of our children and my children have thrived in this prayerful place. There is surely an emphasis on faith, doing the right thing, raising good citizens and learning good behavior and great manners. I, personally, love this. I also love that the school does not have to tolerate kids who don't listen because their parents would rather make excuses for them than help them be respectful to others. Unlike public schools, st Brigid does not have to put up with these kind of parents. So I understand why the school may make some upset and therefore receive some bad reviews. But that is not an accurate picture of the school and the great work it does for our children. If you are interested in raising happy, well mannered, well-taught children who are kind to others and who will develop strong friendships for life, this is the place for you.


St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
Be very careful. While I am glad some people had positive experiences at St Brigid, we did not. Read carefully the comments on excessive elitism (parents, teachers, administrators) class size (LARGE), and lack of tolerance for outside viewpoints. The comment on being involved and not expecting miracles is fine and I agree, but when all of the activities are run by a bunch of semi-elite busybodies, it is difficult to find the motivation.
2 people found this helpful

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
We've been with St. Brigid for 4 years (1st thru 4th). While I agree with most of the 1-star comments, they require clarification. Class size is very large, making individual attention challenging. Parents (mostly the moms) can be snobbish. However, if you are a parent who pays attention and stays involved in your child's education, then St. Brigid is a great place. Forming productive relationships with the teachers & staff, understanding your part at home to subsidize the lessons at school, etc. If you are the parent who sends them to school and expects miracles, St. Brigid is not the place for your child.

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
St. Brigid offers a warm, inviting atmosphere with excellent, caring teachers and administrators. My child has been at St. Brigid for 4 years and it has been an excellent experience all around. Parent involvement is unbelievable--there is a lottery system for field trips because so many parents want to attend and be a part of this great atmosphere. Other Diocesan schools have to require parents to be involved and count service hours. For the best Catholic and all-around education, St. Brigid can't be beat.


St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
Why is it that only unhappy people have time to write on these websites? Saint Brigid of Kildare School is a wonderful, warm, caring, child-friendly, and nurturing school with hundreds of happy parents, families, and children. It absolutely does not have an elitist mentality. What a shame that people choose to tear down rather than build up. It is always wise to consider the source.

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
If you want your child to have a Catholic education and be around loving caring professionals, stay away. It was a nightmare. Our child did not attend an elite prep school and was not used to classrooms--something that is ordinarily taken care of in kindergarten. The teacher made it clear she did not like our child and the administration acted as if they had never dealt with such a 'case.' They were mean to him and unprofessional to us. They want robots, not independent, non-elite happy children. The Dublin public schools are great! He is very happy there and so are we.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School
7175 Avery Road, Dublin, OH  43017
(614) 718-5825
Last modified St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Brigid Of Kildare Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top