Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairborn High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
She is a special needs teacher who is dedicated, compassionate, and knowledgeable. She takes her job seriously. She makes education enjoyable and instills a desire to learn in the children. She takes the time to learn what motivates the individual and uses those motivators to encourage the child to reach for higher goals.

Fairborn High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
They are teaching respect for all people and responsibility for individual choices. Students are encouraged to seek answers to better understand ethnic differences.


Fairborn High School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Three generations of my family have graduated or are now attending Fairborn schools. Every graduate went on to receive advanced education and degrees. My grandchild is autistic and the special needs program in the district is fantastic. I can't say enough about it.

Fairborn High School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
My son transferred to the district after the leaving Beavercreek, which clearly has issues with embracing diversity. The school has a strong community pride. Many of the families are military and move in and out of the district, which accounts for the fluctuation in enrollment and funding. I am a teacher in another district and I am very involved with my children's education. I have no complaints about the education my son receives. Currently, the school is rated an Excellent STEM public school by the Ohio Department of Education.

Fairborn High School 4

Posted July 28, 2013
- a teacher
I was a student teacher at Fairborn High School this past year and I have also subbed there and at the elementary schools. I enjoyed my time at Fairborn High School very much. The teacher I worked with was great and the rest of the teaching staff that I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I loved the principals and the office staff. Admittedly, I was nervous about teaching there because of past reviews from a few years back, but I couldn't have been placed in a better district. From my point of view the teachers seem to really care about the students. I didn't notice any excessive behavior or discipline issues beyond typical things like being tardy. The principals were very supportive. Anytime I spoke to them or asked for assistance they were more than willing to oblige.


Fairborn High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Its a great school and the people who teach our students are the best..My children and grandchildren have gone to this school and have never complained always gave praise..

Fairborn High School
no rating

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
All of my children have attended Fairborn High School. I have totally lost my patience with this school district. I have checked out the ratings of the school for 2009, the overall rating is a 4. Other surrounding school districts have received an 8 or better. What is going on? I cannot get any information from any teachers or staff about this situation. I am seriously considering allowing my youngest son to test for his G.E.D so that he can continue on with his education if he chooses to, without the stress of impatient, insensitive school staff. Because of the high school's lack of interest in their students, not one of my children is even interested in attending college. Something needs to be done soon.

Fairborn High School 5

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
Excellent academics, especially for college prep. Teachers are first class: there are more nationally certifies teachers in Fairborn Schools than in any other district in the area. A first class high school focused on preparing kids for work, college, or service in the military. My kids enjoyed the extracurricular activities (band, choir, clubs), while taking a full load of honors and AP classes. Both have done well at top universities. My nieces and nephews are at FHS now and are being well prepared to go on to college.


Fairborn High School 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
Fairborn High School is an outstanding high school-offering curriculum in honors and advanced placement-STEM programming with Biomedical Science and Engineering 101-this is a gem in the Miami Valley area-strong teaching staff and caring administration! Very satisfied with FHS!

Fairborn High School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2009
- a teacher
The absolute worst. College prep is a joke, the superintendent is a egomaniac. The school can't get to even excellent after five years of his 'rule' Now his henchman are on the board...stay away at all cost

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairborn High School
900 E Dayton Yellow Springs Rd, Fairborn, OH  45324
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (937) 879-3611
Last modified Fairborn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top