Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Hilary Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 610 students

We are best known for excellent Catholic education.

 
 

Living in Fairlawn

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

St. Hilary is a good school. There is an active community of parents and teachers. This is a plus and also can be a problem with inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I am a student at this school (7th Grade) and I have to say it's amazing. The teachers are a blast, they love their job and they love their students. The principal also takes time out of the day to visit classes and get involved. Extra-curricular are amazing as well though there are basically just sports. Latchkey (an after school program) is the best thing about it. I really recommend your child attending the school.


Posted May 3, 2012

My daughter is in first grade. It is getting toward the end of the school year. I ask her how her day was and she says "AWESOME, no mom, MORE THAN AWESOME!!! AND TOMORROW IS GOING TO BE EVEN BETTER!". I think that tells you what she thinks of it. The whole atmosphere is family oriented. There is a true sense of community. We have had a wonderful experience so far and would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

We just moved back to the area after being gone 7.5 years and what a relief to find a school that supports our family values and offers an excellent academic environment. The transition has been very smooth and the teachers are all being very helpful with adjusting to a different state's curriculum. Parent ambassadors at the school have offered great information as well. After 4 weeks, we feel at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

As a parent who has/had children here for 14 years and counting, I couldn't be more pleased with St. Hilary. The teachers and staff are truly dedicated to giving the very best to the children here. There is a good balance of challenging curriculum and extracurricular activities. They have a solid sports program here with a high participation rate of all athletic abilities. The music program has grown over the years and offers additional programs such as band and piano. The school plays are some of the best productions you will see for 7th and 8th graders in this area. My high school children benefited from the music department here and are now in lead roles in high school plays and are in award winning bands. My children have developed a strong foundation of faith and education through St. Hilary for which I am forever grateful. I would highly recommend this school if you are considering sending your child here. All are warmly welcomed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

When I heard about this website, I definitely wanted to give a "shout out" for St. Hilary School! We have had all our children graduate from St. Hilary. We have been extrememly pleased with the education they received at St. Hilary. It more than prepared them for their high school years. Not only do the academics continue to remain strong, but the extracurriculars give every child an opportunity to excel. With respect to academics, the advanced math program has allowed our current high school student to pursue above level math courses. Our child is excelling thanks to the preparation. The history program, too, makes for an easy adjustment to high school. In addition, the music program's spring performance is a professional production that is highly acclaimed each year. It would be an oversight not to mention the dedication of the staff and the warmth of the school community. I would strongly recommend St. Hilary's School as an excellent choice for an elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I have a daughter who has been at St. Hilary for 3 years. I am very impressed and happy with the level of education she is receiving at the school. Not only are the acedemics important, but it is also important to the teachers and staff that they nuture good family values and living a life of faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

Our son, an only child, is in 8th grade at St. Hilary School, and has attended St Hilary for all 9 years. He has been prepared for the rigors of high school in an exceptional manner by quality teachers who not only instruct the academics but also give him a faith based education which gives him a foothold in preparing for life ahead. He has excelled academically, earning high school academic scholarships, as well as taking part in the advanced math program. The school offers 3 languages for children to take. There are many academic and social offerings as well as athletics. Our son has or currently participates in Band, Mock Trial, Art Club, Basketball, Soccer, Track, Baseball, Student Council, Junior Ambassadors for Life, Tutoring, Math Competition, and is an Altar Server. He could not have had a better primary and middle school education, and he feels truly blessed to have had the opportunities he has had here. Having worked with many of the students at different projects and fundraisers, they are exceptional young men and women. They are polite and talk with adults candidly and positively. The parental involvement at this school is tremendous, and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

You cannot go wrong with St. Hilary School. It was the best choice our family ever made. My fourth and youngest child will graduate this year and I am so happy that every one of my kids was a St H grad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

St Hilary is adequate if all you want is some basic education with a dose of religion thrown in. If you are expecting any musical eduction forget it - the music teacher only teaches the kids songs in first and second grade for the Christmas program and a bit of recorder in third grade - after that they learn nothing and never perform again. If your child needs tutoring you might as well look somewhere else - the school does everything it can to hinder setting that up. The after school (latchkey) program is the best thing about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

We have three children at St. Hilary. I am very happy with the school. It is a warm, supportive environment and the academics are excellent. I couldn't be happier with the choice we've made for our children's educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

St. HIlary's offers an education rich with academic challenge, Catholic values and extensive extracurriculars. But it is the community of people that really make it special. The students, faculty and parents form a wonderful, caring and nurturing environment where our children thrive. The energy is positive and contagious!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

St. Hilary is a school that strives to create good study habits. My daughter that is now in High School has excelled. I believe this is due to the wonderful background she received while at St. Hilary. She is a student who maintains marks well above 4.0. My younger daughter, who is still at St. Hilary, also has established excellent study skills. She has continued to do well. I believe both my daughters do so well in school because of the good study habits they have established while at St. Hilary. The skills they have will be a great cornerstone in their future schooling years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

It is so comforting knowing we are sending our children to such an enriching learning environment and a school filled with love and genuine care in wanting to teach our children. We couldn't be happier with the Catholic foundation that surrounds our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

This year is already promising to be better than last. A new administration is in place and I am thrilled at how professional and careing they are. The first grade teacher is awesome and shows her experience and strength in knowing children and what they need very well. Academcis are, as always, emphasized and we've got a proven track record in that regard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I absolutely love St. HIlary School-Our family is so impressed with the family oriented surroundings and the high moral and academic standards that the school offers. The school has an amazing new principal and assistant who will take this school to even higher academic and moral strides! We are so greatful that our children are able to pray and talk about God in this day and age. St Hilary is the best school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

My child loves going to school! He cannot wait to go to school in the morning. The academics are fantastic and there is a strong sense of community at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

This is our son's first year at St. Hilary & I've already seen amazing academic strides & personal growth!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

I think this school has an amazing acidimics program. I went to this school and am still very proud of it. They have also won two blue ribbons. St.Hilary also has a good sports program and offer many extra activities like Chinese, science club, and ski club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

We currently have two children at St. Hilary school. We are extremely pleased with the quality of academics, as well as the high moral/behavioral standards the children are expected to meet. There is an underlying spirit of philanthropy at the school--the children are given different kinds of opportunities to help the less fortunate, which helps to instill the grateful attitude we are trying to model at home. The school offers two languages, with Spanish beginning in kindergarten and the option to begin French in a later grade. There are many academic, social and sports extracurriculars from which to choose, and there are many opportunites for parents to be involved in the school as well. The school has twice received the prestigious Blue Ribbon School award from the U.S. Department of Education. Our own public school district is excellent, but St. Hilary is well worth the expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 77%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • U.S. Dept. of Education Blue Ribbon School (2008)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Extracurricular Chinese
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, French, Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:50 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tracey Arnone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (330) 867-5081

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Common Core Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Extracurricular Chinese
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Public school buses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, French, Spanish
  • Future Catholic Teachers
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Junior High Spring Musical
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Robotics club
  • Ski Club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in school kitchen
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Hilary School is a two-time receipient of the U.S. Department of Education's prestigious Blue Ribbon School award - in 2001 and 2008. The school celebrated its 50th year of excellence in Catholic education in the 2010-2011 school year.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Various Preschools

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Archbishop Hoban High School
St. Vincent-St. Mary High School
Walsh Jesuit High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

645 Moorfield Rd
Fairlawn, OH 44333
Website: Click here
Phone: (330) 867-8720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kids Country School
Fairlawn, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT