Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mckinley Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
All of these teachers and staff members are great. Mrs. Polak and office staff are always available and present even on the playgrounds. The teachers are always making themselves available to help past school hours with personal contact info.

Mckinley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
There seems to be a great communication between all the staff. Everyone knows everyone and all the students.


Mckinley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
I'm kind of an anti-homework parent so in kindergarten I thought is was a bit but in 1st grade it's definitely balanced each night. Different days are geared towards different subjects.

Mckinley Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
There's a saying in town from all the Finnish people that describes this as SISU!

Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
My family just moved to the village after hearing of the historic revitalization underway. We are one of many young families moving here to start small businesses and we love the school. Their International Baccalaureate application was just accepted! There are small classes, lots of project based learning in elementary, second language in elementary, coding and computers for K+. They have speciality programs like Her Ideas In Motion, and more. A lot of the information on Zillow is outdated. The principals name is Jennifer Polak.


Mckinley Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
I graduated from Fairport and now I am thankful that my daughter is a Fairport student. Going to a smaller school allows more one-on-one attention for any student needing it and the teachers are more than willing to provide it. Fairport teachers are the most devoted teachers around. Still to this day I'll run in to a teacher I had and they will take the time to check in on my family, work, kids, friends... it's so nice to know they still care almost 10 years later. Just walking into McKinley you can see and feel how much every person on staff loves what they do and give 110%!

Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2004
- a student
I think this school is a great enviroment for the kids. There isn't like a LOT of problems, but even though it is small, the teahcers can pay more attention to the kids, and they do better in school. This is an awesome school, and I really recommend it. I was once a student there, and it was awesome. I learned at lot of great stuff there, and all the teachers were helpful!

Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2004
- a parent
I truly believe that McKinley School, under the direction and leadership of Principal, Jane Murphy, is un-surpassed in education, dedication, discipline, self-respect, and above all, integrity! Her ethics and values shine through the teachers, parents, and students. The students truly 'love their school'! McKinley has provided a genuine caring and loving environment for my child. The motto 'No Child Will Be Left Behind' is in fact how it really is here! I simply cannot say enough about the sincerity and commitment of Jane Murphy and her staff as it relates to educating children. They will do whatever is necessary (even if it is above and beyond) to help any child succeed! They are that dedicated! I can honestly say that I do not believe that my child could be in any better environment than he is right now! We are truly fortunate to have this wonderful woman and her staff teaching our children! Highest Praises Here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckinley Elementary School
602 Plum St, Fairport Harbor, OH  44077
(440) 354-4982
Last modified Mckinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckinley Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top