Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 439 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

I am continually astounded at the high level of learning. My daughter is learning effective communication and leadership skills far beyond what I consider the typical curriculum. The communication between school administration and parents is constant. I am very grateful to live in this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

This is my daughter's first year at High Point, and I am beyond impressed! I love that the student with special needs are incorporated in the regular classroom. It teaches all of the students acceptance, and they learn to communicate in different ways. The school focuses on teaching 'The 7 Habits of Happy Kids' along with the normal academics, music, art, and PE. They have high expectations, but give the kids all of the tools they need to succeed. My daughter looks forward to going to school every day. Communication is great, and there is an incredible amount of family involvement. I have no complaints at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I love this school! My 2 children go here. We moved from out of state last year and my oldest started first grade in mid-October here. She was extremely shy and I was concerned about the transition. They were so welcoming that by the end of the year "shy" did not describe her anymore. My youngest is in kindergarten and reading almost fluently here along with a lot of others in her class. The teachers are the best I've ever seen and the parent involvement is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My eldest daughter has been going there since Kindergarten. They have done an awesome job every year pairing her up with the right teacher. My youngest will be starting Kindergarten in the fall and I can't wait
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

High Point is a wonderful school. They have such hard working teachers and dedicated staff. I feel like my children are extremely challenged and are developing a love of life long learning. We are so sad that we are leaving High Point. We will always remember the great times here and know that we will always be welcome back. I believe that my students got the best education they could have. In fact, I used to be in favor of private schools (I went to one), but High Point exceeded every expectation that I had and I chose not to send my students at private school but keep them at High Point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

I have Never been discouraged from participating in my child's education at this school. In fact, on curriculum night, one teacher passed around 2 or 3 different volunteer sheets for parents to come in and read, help in the classroom, participate in activities with the guidance counselor, etc. Additionally, a number of teachers know my pre-schooler by name and address him specifically when we walk my older child into the building. I also disagree that the classes are being taught to the bottom 5 in the class. I believe all children get academic differentiation at this school and High Point would not have the OAT scores that they continually have if the children weren't being challenged daily. This elementary school is currently the only thing keeping me from moving into the Olentangy district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I have two children at High Point. We have been very happy with the education our children have received and the efforts put forth by the staff. I am amazed at how every year each of our children seem to get the teacher that meets their particular set of needs. I have a very sensitive son and to see him come home happy and confident is a wonderful thing. I also do not agree that High Point is teaching to the bottom five children in the class. If that were happening, I don't believe their test scores would be among some of the highest in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I disagree with the comments. I have found that with all my kids the classes in general are taught at a level the the bottom 5 kids in the class can do well with out trying to hard. Also the school puts extra effort at keeping parents out of the school and breaking up family ties. don't try and walk into the school with a younger sibling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

We LOVE this school! Our soon-to-be middle schooler enjoyed school and was placed in advanced classes to always offer a challenge! We will soon have a kindergartener and she is already feeling at home there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

I have one child at High Point Elementary School, in the 8th grade. High Point was voted one of the best schools in the nation. Although Hight Point expects a lot from their students, they also encourage thier students to do their very best. In addtion, they provide one-on-one attention when needed. All of the teachers I have met are extremely competent and make each student feel as though they can achieve anything they set their minds to do. I would highly recommend Hight Point Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

I have had three children through this school and it is excellent in all ways. It is a good learning environment; a nice facility centered in a nice safe walkable neighborhood,very involved parents, mostly well behaved children. You will feel comfortable sending your children there. Teachers are competent, well qualified, and accessible, of course I liked some better than others. Academic expectations are high, but in a positive way.. Student performance is exceptional. The former principal was Ohio principal of the Year (or something like that) and maintained a positive, upbeat environment. There is a new principal this year, with big shoes to fill, but my first impression is positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female88%
Male81%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled47%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled73%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled82%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled82%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled73%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
107 (2011)
 
106 (2010)
 
105 (2009)
 
105 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Black 7% 16%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 17%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Venetian Way
Gahanna, OH 43230
Phone: (614) 478-5545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Matthew School
Gahanna, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT