Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gahanna Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Gahanna

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $127,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I am a current student here in high school. I have been here since I was in first grade and my appreciation of the school has lowered dramatically in my high school years. The curriculum is not difficult, in my opinion, and the teachers are to lenient. The students here are disrespectful and do not listen to the teachers at all. There are not a lot of options for someone who wants to challenge them self in their education and/or extra-curricular life. The 'higher up" staff members do not do a good job disciplining students. The people in charge make decisions seemingly based on emotions -- they do not want anyone to dislike them! Some teachers here are great (such as higher math and HS English teachers. But others are not good at all. Teachers here do not have to even have a teaching degree (let alone in the area that they are told to teach) to work here. Gahanna Christian Academy has problems that they need to work out if they want enrollment to rise.


Posted April 2, 2014

As someone who was raised Christian and became an Atheist as soon as I was able to think for myself, i would attribute that transformation primarily to this school. I went from K-6 and by the time I was leaving they had entirely convinced me that their god was [redacted] because of their hypocritical practices, homophobic hate speech, and exclusionary attitude. They make you think that Christians are a persecuted minority. Their high school program is TERRIBLE, do not listen to anyone who says otherwise. I received a much better education and much more attention and help from teachers and other faculty in the Westerville public school system. Don't send your kid here if you want them to stay a Christian. Anyone in the right mind will run away from religion as fast as they can while attending this school.


Posted March 5, 2014

Yea, this school expelled me for doin it in a class room. Not to mention they never knock when you can obviously hear me knockin one out in the locker room. Don't go here if you be lookin to get lucky.


Posted March 5, 2014

Dis skewl be bizzin my grizzins, ya feel me. Likes, every time i try to be jib-jabn my jizznaggin, they be all lyk, "Yo man! Fojizzlin ur shmindizzlin durin a Scraggton?!! Shmangy to smointtinson bro!" Ya see what im sayin? Lyk, reel talk. Church!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2014

Gahanna Christian is a great school. They have a great staff who take time to care about and encourage our kids to recognize their gifts and talents and challenge them to grow academically and spiritually. There is a great sense of family. We appreciate the effort that has been put forth to keep our children safe by providing secure facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

I am very pleased with GCA. I have found the Christian environment, the curriculum, and the small student teacher ratio have greatly benefitted my child. My child is enjoying learning for the sake of learning, not just to pass a test as was the case in public school. She is being challenged academically, and I have seen much character growth and spiritual growth as well. The students, teachers, and staff genuinely show the love of Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

We have found GCA to be a great high school experience. Students and parents come together in leadership and learning. This school has many things to offer. Great things are happening at GCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

GCA used to be a really good school, but is now comparable to an inner-city public school. Standards have been lowered and the Christian environment has drastically changed to that of a Columbus public school setting. Not worth the tuition anymore when you can receive the same, if not more services, from a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

I am a freshman at GCA and would not reccomentd the school to anyone. Although there are many good people, there are far more questionable people than should be in a christian enviornment. If you have a high school student please consider things they may find critical to High school such as football, prom and social clubs. If any of these things are important to your student GCA is not the place for them. Some of the "standards" are ridiculous, for example there are no dances of any form because dancing is frowned upon. I do not consider GCA to be a high school worth even half the tuition. I have not enjoyed my time there and will not be attending next year.


Posted September 22, 2010

Our experience at GCA has been wonderful. We have two children enrolled and have always been more than pleased. The staff is readily available and caring. The Christian character is outstanding. This year has brought some changes with a much larger student body. The staff and new MS/HS principal have done a tremendouse job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Our experience at GCA has turned out to be a disaster. Our family has been there for many, many years. The standards have been lowered. We took our children out of GCA, this has been the best decision yet. Don't throw your money away on GCA. Look around before you decide to enroll. This school has turned out to be a Columbus Public school enviorment and this is not what we want our children around and this is not what we want to pay for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

GCA has been such a blessing to my family. Our son has gone to GCA for K, 1st, and 2nd grade. He is now enrolled for next year 3rd grade. Practically every parent-teacher meeting has begun in prayer. Teachers have emailed and called me with any concerns they've had. I can't say enough about the Christian environment, academic quality, and exceptional teachers. Our son's Kind. teacher held my hand when our son was diagnosed with his condition. She surely went beyond anything I expected from a school teacher. I wouldn't have my son anywhere else. He is more than worth what we've spent on his education. Every penny has been well spent. T. Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

My kid is at GCA preschool since a year now and I must say,the teachers are very good and caring. The preschool office staff is good too. So far so good for us and my daughter loves going to school,thats the most important thing for me as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I went to this school, and I thought everything was below average for the money paid to send me there. If you want to send your kids to a poorly structured private school, I would recommend this school. If you actually want a quality education for your child, consider other private schools as an alternative. I would get personal opinions from people who have experienced GCA (aka, don't decide from an online review) and think carefully before you choose. Your choice will make or break your children.


Posted April 7, 2009

I have had 3 children go through this school from pre-school all the way through high school. Two are in college and doing very well. My third is in the tenth grade. GCA has been a blessing to all of us, and we are very thankful they were able to attend there. I am proud of the people they have become. Donna Belczak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

i am a freshman at gahanna christian and i've gone here since preschool. i can't explain how much this school means to me. if it wasn't for this school i know that i'd be into drugs and sex. this school has taught me that God is my Father and that i can talk to Him when i need too. the education is pretty good. a lot of public school kids that have gone to gahanna christian have told me that it is harder than thier public school. my friend who went to gmss came from there on the honor and was getting c's and d's. i know that sounds bad but this school doesn't offer much, but what it does offer its off the charts. excellet academics, excellet teachers who actually care about the students, but the sports could be a lot better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

the high school was a horrible experience for my son and daughter. They both experiences horrible teachers. Both my son and my daughter hated that school and will never go back. if you are thinking about that school think again if you want a good christian environnment for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

i love my school!go there and be amazed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

The administration and staff are available if you make the proper effort to communicate (via e-mail, telephone or in person). We are pleased with the academic environment and are considering enrolling our youngest child next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

In reference to the parent who said the principal is only part time - that is not true. GCA has full time Elementary, Middle/High School, and Assistant Middle/High School principals. The truth is, no school is perfect, but GCA is a good school with teachers/staff that really love the Lord and care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 77%
Black 36% 19%
Asian 4% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ruth E. Bischoff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (614) 471-9201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

817 N Hamilton Rd
Gahanna, OH 43230
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 471-9270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT