Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Galloway, OH
Students enrolled: 1,583
 

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Westland High School 4

Posted May 19, 2015
- a community member
Westland High School is a very diverse school. Some people might consider it to be a little rough. The teachers and councilors are amazing and truly care about their students. AP classes are taught by wonderful teachers and will really help prepare students for college reguardless if they get college credit for the course or not.

Westland High School 3

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
Parents, do MORE for your students at this school. I believe every parent can be more involved. I think for the most part the teachers my daughter has had have been no less than excellent. All that I have met with have been open, honest, engaged and knowledgeable about their subject. For the parents who have attended conferences/open houses, have any of you glanced down at a teacher's schedule for that conference? DISMAL attendance by parents. A joke, really. If you want to know more about your child's education, get off your duff and become part of it! For administrators, technology is the future. Teachers should not have the choice of whether or not to have a Schoology page or teacher website, it should be mandatory. And the Westland website? DISMAL again compared to just the other high schools in our district. The other websites are packed with pertinent information; Westland's has tumbleweeds moving through it. The school really is and will be what WE ALL make of it. Show your pride, Cougars!


Westland High School 3

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Most teachers are willing to help students after school if they need it. I only wish the school as a whole could be more one on one with students. Not all children learn the same.

Westland High School 4

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
Westland is a good school and a bit better than Columbus City schools. Always able to talk to all teachers and staff. Many students are from apartments and constantly moving around. Sports are below adverage and no parent support. No more trouble that any other school. It is what you want to make of your school and life. If you look for trouble anywhere you can find it and if you look to better yourself it can also be found here.

Westland High School
no rating

Posted September 05, 2008
- a student
This School is very great,i went there adn the teachers are very helpful,the rules are good and the programs that they have are awsome.I have learned alot from this school. inmcluding from the kids there nice and i can get along with them. i would reccommend this school anyday.


Westland High School 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
This School has compleatly turned around. The sport programs are expected to be very competitive at all levles.

Westland High School 4

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
My Daughter has attended this school for 3 1/2 years. She is a honor student and is involved in pretty much everything at the school. Go to a columbus public school and then go to Westland, Then compair the two, because you can't. It's the best school in Columbus of course, but it's not the worst. They do have great teachers if you want to learn, if you are willing to care about your child enought to get involve in what they do at school, then you might not be so fast to said bad things about this school.My daughter has got a great education and leadership at Westland.How many football games have you been too.That's what I thought.Support you school that your so fast to judge.

Westland High School 1

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
The main office is not efficient. Annually the office staff remove the non-custodial parent from the record, then that non-custodial parent has to make time to visit school during hours to get added back into system. School gets the poorest rating possible as far as communication with non-custodial parents.


Westland High School 4

Posted February 03, 2006
- a student
A typical suburban school with a great music program, wonderful teachers, and a moderate sports program. Ap classes are limited by how many students show interest in the class, so not all programs are available.

Westland High School 2

Posted September 08, 2005
- a student
The school has become an inner city school with inner city problems. ex: low test scores, bullying on campus, and low expectations by teachers, community and students. Overall an average school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westland High School
146 Galloway Rd, Galloway, OH  43119
(614) 851-7000
Last modified Westland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westland High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top