Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marr/Cook Elementary School

Public | PK-2 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

My son is in his second year of pre-k, he has a developmental delay. While i think he has come a long way the last two school years i do not think he is where he should be. I am disappointed the preschool only runs for 2 1/2 hrs a day. I think if he had been in school for a full day he would be caught up by now. His teacher is great this year, lets see what next year brings. If he has not caught up by the end of kindergarten he will be switching schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

I was a bit saddened to see the last review. We were scared about sending our first born to all day K, in a school that was foreign to me. I had gone to Catholic schools grades 1-12 and wasn't sure about sending her to a public school. I must say that our expectations have been exceeded. My daughter's K teacher is really on top of things and is very sweet and caring. I get that same vibe from the aids in her classroom. I don't think that 23 kids is too large of a class size, but that's just my opinion. My daughter thrives on being there all day, she is already reading and even though she is a not a behavior issue, I don't feel like she gets lost in the shuffle. She has been rewarded many times for good behavior and has been using the accelerated reader program to continuously challenge her. Her teacher is good about parent communication. Some people may be rude here and there, but I don't think that is a fair representation of the school as a whole. The new outdoor classrooms they are creating is so wonderful and shows that they certainly are striving to remain being the excellent school they are! We love Marr Cook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

The school is ok.. even though it's rated Excellent that seems to be all that is important. I've felt very disconnected with this school. We actually moved to this area to specifically go to Marr/Cook, and now I have to admit it was a mistake. The class sizes are LARGE and yes my daughter is NOT a behavior issue, she is quiet and therefore lost in the shuffle. Seems the teachers are like robots and just teach, i've been disappointed with all of my daughters teachers, school councilor and front office staff. I think one of my biggest pet peeves is the attitude of the front office ladies, treating me and my daughter (and other children) VERY rudely. The school is efficient but it's not personable like you would think, considering it's rural. The classes are WAY to big, teachers are like robots, rude staff, terrible councilor. I will say I do really like the new principle, he interacts with the kids, ALWAYS has a smile on his face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The education my children receive at this school is phenomenal. The caring of the teachers is above standard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

They are awesome there. Small class size one on one attention! Perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

Extremely caring staff. Both of my sons have attended Marr Cook during kindergarten, and the kindergaten staff has to be the most caring group I ever met. These teachers are excellent at what they do. I am very impressed with where this school is going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

I have been so happy with Marr Cook Elementary. The teachers and staff are amazing! They own a atmospheric level of parent involvement and so many ways to become more involved. They possess a great sports program and other extracurricular activities. They have a high quality academic program as well. I am so pleased with my daughters progress. She was a little behind at first and now she is ahead! I also love the fact that they have a wonderful art, music, and gym program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

Marr Cook Elementary is a growing school with great oppurtunities for our kids. They have special ed programs excellerated programs and great technology resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Black N/A 16%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40am
School end time
  • 3:40pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Troy E. Smith
Fax number
  • (513) 722-2244

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6696 Goshen Rd
Goshen, OH 45122
Website: Click here
Phone: (513) 722-2224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Live Oaks CDC
Milford, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT