Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J W Reason Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
J W Reason has pros and cons. Pro: The principal seems very interested in advancing the school and getting to know the students, despite not knowing some of the special programs in the district. Con: The school is not likely to advance in overall test scores because of the LARGE population of non-English speaking students who, through no fault of their own, take longer to catch up with the rest of the class and therefore the pace of learning for other students is delayed. Pro: The staff we've had were very good teachers!! Con: The school building has limitations for technology because of its age. Pro: The parents who ARE active in the school, put their heart into it. Con: Becuase of the demographic, many parents are working and don't have the time to dedicate to school involvement. Overall: A good school but for parents who are actively striving to excel their child, perhaps a different school within the district would be a better fit.
1 person found this helpful

J W Reason Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
JW has a very dedicated, caring, and positive staff and principal. What they accomplish in a 50+ year old building with a very diverse student population is commendable. I wouldn't send my 2 children to any other school. The overall learning environment is second to none.


J W Reason Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

J W Reason Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
My daughter just graduated (5th grade) in 2009. All her teachers were very supportive and caring. JW Reason may not have the best facilities(lunchroom, gym, etc.) but they more than make up for it through their staff.

J W Reason Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
I've had 2 kids attend JW and while it use to be a very crowded school, it is now one of the least populated (due to redistricting) which makes for nice class sizes. It is a very diverse student population which presents some challenges but the teachers and administration seem to be caring and responsive.


J W Reason Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
I just moved to the area and JW Reason has been very helpful and caring. The principal greeted me and my son with a very caring and professional manner. The teacher is very helpful with communication and overall I think the atmosphere is great!

J W Reason Elementary School 2

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
JW Reason is overcrowded. The staff is very unprofessional. Does the music teacher need to be barefoot while she teaches? Does the gym teacher have to be sarcastic and degrating? Lunch policy is a horrible prison like atmosphere. It is hard to believe that this school is in the school system! My childrens math scores were awful. This was due to class size and so many discipline issues. The principal needs to take more action.

J W Reason Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a community member
As a substitute teacher in the Hilliard Schools I read with interest the reviews on JW Reason Elementary. I have found the teachers to be caring, professional and greatly concerned with the students achievement. They have at times had to work with larger enrollments, but do so in a positive manner. Mr. Hennes never fails to stop in and greet you with a smile, offering any help needed while you are in the building. The staff are always willing to help with any questions or needs that come up. The student population is diverse and the atmosphere is positive. I always have a great day when I sub at JW.


J W Reason Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2008
- a parent
J W Reason is perhaps the worst elementary in the overall grossly underfunded Hilliard School District. My child has failed to learn basic skills, like spelling, handwriting skills, and mathmatics. The principal is present but commands no respect and seems to have no interaction within the schools. The teachers lack dedication and the willingness to act when presented with deficiancies. Class sizeds are consistently 24 and above, including kindergarten classes, of which some occur in interior, windowless rooms. If you are in this school's zone, move!!!

J W Reason Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J W Reason Elementary School
4790 Cemetery Rd, Hilliard, OH  43026
(614) 921-5900
Last modified J W Reason Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J W Reason Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top