Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Alter High School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a community member
As a student this school is terrible, bullying, teachers bully, don't care, no one pays attention if you don't play sports, DONT GO HERE

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
I graduated from Alter in 1978 and loved it! My parents gave me the choice of going to Centerville HS and any Alter and it has made all the difference in my life.


Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted March 09, 2011
- a student
Best school you could ever go to, great learning oppertunities and a place to meet friends and teachers that truely care for you. I enjoy going there every day, I feel so proud.

Archbishop Alter High School 3

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I sent our child there this past year, 2010 after being in the local public school district. In the beginning the staff and students both welcomed him. However, after the "newness" wore off it was apparent that this school was more than a "tight-knit community." Some students actually bantered or talked down to him...quite a lot. The school is so small- that it leaves very few who chose to try and really get to know who he was. Don't get me wrong- this could happen anywhere. Yet, one doesn't expect it within the Catholic community nor did we really take into account that most of these children and their parents have not only gone to the same schools for years, but attend the same parish on the weekends. While the academic expectations are high. It's as if their "unguided" by the instructors. Figure it out on your own.
1 person found this helpful

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
Great school for growing your child in a faith based school. Parents work so hard for the school. More people need to join the Booster Assoc. This is the group that helps the school and the students.


Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
I have sent all three of my girls here. One is a senior this year (2009) and one is a sophmore. The third is a sophmore in college. All three of my girls have been challenged academically to reach their fullest potential. Their teachers and counselors really cared about them and listened. My middle child has a learning disability, but even so her teachers really helped her to learn around it and did all they could to help her succeed. What they did must have worked because both she and my oldest daughter were accepted to prestigous four year colleges! They all really enjoyed their time here, and their father and I have loved the community that is Alter. It was well worth the money!! I would reccomend it to anyone!

Archbishop Alter High School 0
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I bought one of the first bricks to help Archbishop Alter get started. I have watched it's progress through the years and am always pleased with it's accomplishments, in education, music and sports. I am proud to have two girls graduate from Alter.

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a student
I think this school is amazing. I have attended Alter for all four years of high school and absolutely loved it. I have enjoyed myself so much. I know that we are known for being a great sports school, but I don't think many people know how great our arts are. I have always been an arts person, and I have found a great home at Alter. I have taken several art classes, including classes in Cermaics and Photography. I learned so much in all of them, the teachers are really just phenomenal. Actually, in general, the teachers at Alter are just amazing. They really do care about the students, and they are incredibly knowledgeable. They are always available for help before and after school, and really go out of their way to help you learn. Finally, the student body is extremely close. It's more a family than a school.

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a student
Great students and teachers. Everyone is so close and it was a wonderful lead off to college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Alter High School
940 East David Rd., Kettering, OH  45429
(937) 434-4434
Last modified Archbishop Alter High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Alter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top