Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Kettering, OH
Students enrolled: 668
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Alter High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Anyone who witnesses the student body during a sporting event will see the disrespect towards the other schools. Arrogance is not pride!

Archbishop Alter High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
When I see a student body making fun of other school's student body that is disgusting. How does chanting obscenities promote Christian values?


Archbishop Alter High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
The competition to get ahead is all about back stabbing each other. Parents are worse than the students when it comes to this attitude.

Archbishop Alter High School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a community member
As a student this school is terrible, bullying, teachers bully, don't care, no one pays attention if you don't play sports, DONT GO HERE

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
I graduated from Alter in 1978 and loved it! My parents gave me the choice of going to Centerville HS and any Alter and it has made all the difference in my life.


Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted March 09, 2011
- a student
Best school you could ever go to, great learning oppertunities and a place to meet friends and teachers that truely care for you. I enjoy going there every day, I feel so proud.

Archbishop Alter High School 3

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I sent our child there this past year, 2010 after being in the local public school district. In the beginning the staff and students both welcomed him. However, after the "newness" wore off it was apparent that this school was more than a "tight-knit community." Some students actually bantered or talked down to him...quite a lot. The school is so small- that it leaves very few who chose to try and really get to know who he was. Don't get me wrong- this could happen anywhere. Yet, one doesn't expect it within the Catholic community nor did we really take into account that most of these children and their parents have not only gone to the same schools for years, but attend the same parish on the weekends. While the academic expectations are high. It's as if their "unguided" by the instructors. Figure it out on your own.

Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
Great school for growing your child in a faith based school. Parents work so hard for the school. More people need to join the Booster Assoc. This is the group that helps the school and the students.


Archbishop Alter High School 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
I have sent all three of my girls here. One is a senior this year (2009) and one is a sophmore. The third is a sophmore in college. All three of my girls have been challenged academically to reach their fullest potential. Their teachers and counselors really cared about them and listened. My middle child has a learning disability, but even so her teachers really helped her to learn around it and did all they could to help her succeed. What they did must have worked because both she and my oldest daughter were accepted to prestigous four year colleges! They all really enjoyed their time here, and their father and I have loved the community that is Alter. It was well worth the money!! I would reccomend it to anyone!

Archbishop Alter High School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I bought one of the first bricks to help Archbishop Alter get started. I have watched it's progress through the years and am always pleased with it's accomplishments, in education, music and sports. I am proud to have two girls graduate from Alter.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Alter High School
940 East David Rd., Kettering, OH  45429
(937) 434-4434
Last modified Archbishop Alter High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Alter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top