Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Riffle Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 443 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

Great school and teachers like Mrs. Fredrick and Mrs lloyd for my kids I feel this school will help any kid out for the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

My daughter is a little chatty. I had warned her teacher Mrs. O'Brien at IRE that sitting her next to the girl she did was a bad idea. She got in trouble for talking and now has to sit behind the teacher's desk facing the wall indefinitely. They have better treatment in prison. This teacher has no patience and should not be there teaching. The principal has her back 100% though (Mrs. Debbie Beiter). There are definitely better schools in the Kettering area. When living in Kettering you can send your child to any school in their district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

My daughter completed kindergarten at Indian Riffle last year and I was very impressed with their ability to teach children at different levels and abilities. My daughter was very advanced at reading and they were able to keep her challenged and not bored. At the same time I saw the teachers giving extra help before school to the children that needed the extra help with flash cards,etc. I was grateful that they were able to bring out so much for my shy little girl and make her love going to school and being more social. They embraced each child's differences and worked with them in positive ways. It is a great place for children to learn and the kids enjoy learning along the way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

IRE is a great school. Staff adn teachers are always willing to help. The after school daycare is a wonderful atmosphere in which the supervisors are well educated and emotionally involved with every single student. Its a wonderful school and a wonderful district to send your child to.


Posted June 14, 2008

My son was extremely apprehensive about starting school. From kindergarten on, every teacher he has had was wonderful! My oldest son just graduated and received a note from his 5th grade teacher who remembered him as a 'smiley kid'. If you ask me, all the teachers and staff at Indian Riffle are amazing, and I am so very proud of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Great teachers and staff. At first I didn't know if I would like the school because it seemed somewhat older and was under repairs when my son started, but he really enjoyed his teachers and they committed a lot of one on one time to him. They also seemed to encourage a lot of parent teacher child relations which helped us see what we needed to do in helping our son be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

My oldest child has completed her elementary education there and I've been very satisfied. My youngest will be starting his 3rd year at IRE and the teachers are still as great as they were when my oldest went there 3 years ago. I've always been very pleased with IRE, they really encourge parents to get involved. I frequently would go eat lunch with my daughter and still do the same with my son. The after school care program they have started has been great. My son loves to stay after school for that. It's reasonably priced and I like that he doesn't need to be transported to a seperate daycare when school lets out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

The first 3 of my 5 children have all been to IRE and received an excellent education. They went on to do very well at KMS and Fairmont. One of which was a valedictorian. The teachers are great! My last 2 are just beginning there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female92%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students82%
Female77%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled55%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
100 (2011)
 
97 (2010)
 
96 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 74%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Black N/A 16%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 18%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Debbie R. Beiter
Fax number
  • (937) 499-1739

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3090 Glengarry Dr
Kettering, OH 45420
Phone: (937) 499-1720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ascension School
Kettering, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT