Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Indian Riffle Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
The staff does not seem to have respect for their students and parents, so it would be hard for students to develop respect in this environment.

Indian Riffle Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
I do not feel that this school employs discipline that is a logical consequence for an action. Their arsenol consists of suspending recess or suspending the child from school. Exteme and lacks creativity.


Indian Riffle Elementary School 3

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
There seems to be a serious lack of communication between teachers and parents at this school. If you elevate your concerns to the principal, she backs her teachers 100%. This is not always a bad thing, but she does so with a condescending tone. Unfortunately, there is a such thing as being in a job too long. You can become burned out and not be motivated to do your best work. This seems to be a common theme at this school. This is our second school year, and maybe our last, at Indian Riffle. Thankfully, Kettering allows you to attend any school in their district.

Indian Riffle Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Great school I have two kids that go there a second grader and 5th grader they both love going to school

Indian Riffle Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
My 5 year old son loved going to preschool here this last school year ('14- '15) His teacher and the office staff were always friendly and helpful. His teacher was Mrs. P. We cannot say enough good things about her! I've never seen a teacher care so much for each student, helping them feel comfortable in her care and to succeed. She goes out of her way to involve parents, keep you informed of their progress and classroom activities, etc. We couldn't have asked for a better first teacher for our son. He liked the literacy lunch they did, which allows the students to dress up as their favorite book character and encourages reading with your child. The preschool playground is right at the front of the school. It's fenced in for safety, but still allows you to watch your child play at the end of their day, if you like. A classroom newsletter was sent home weekly that informed you of what the students learned that week, along with upcoming important events and dates. A binder is kept of each child's progress throughout the year. Their artwork is sent home in their backpack. My son also really looked forward to it being his turn to be the special helper, who gets to talk about that day's weather, day of the week, and letter of the day. Overall, I would recommend this school to others and would highly recommend Mrs. P. for a preschool teacher.


Indian Riffle Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a little chatty. I had warned her teacher Mrs. O'Brien at IRE that sitting her next to the girl she did was a bad idea. She got in trouble for talking and now has to sit behind the teacher's desk facing the wall indefinitely. They have better treatment in prison. This teacher has no patience and should not be there teaching. The principal has her back 100% though (Mrs. Debbie Beiter). There are definitely better schools in the Kettering area. When living in Kettering you can send your child to any school in their district.

Indian Riffle Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
My daughter completed kindergarten at Indian Riffle last year and I was very impressed with their ability to teach children at different levels and abilities. My daughter was very advanced at reading and they were able to keep her challenged and not bored. At the same time I saw the teachers giving extra help before school to the children that needed the extra help with flash cards,etc. I was grateful that they were able to bring out so much for my shy little girl and make her love going to school and being more social. They embraced each child's differences and worked with them in positive ways. It is a great place for children to learn and the kids enjoy learning along the way

Indian Riffle Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a community member
IRE is a great school. Staff adn teachers are always willing to help. The after school daycare is a wonderful atmosphere in which the supervisors are well educated and emotionally involved with every single student. Its a wonderful school and a wonderful district to send your child to.


Indian Riffle Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2008
- a parent
My son was extremely apprehensive about starting school. From kindergarten on, every teacher he has had was wonderful! My oldest son just graduated and received a note from his 5th grade teacher who remembered him as a 'smiley kid'. If you ask me, all the teachers and staff at Indian Riffle are amazing, and I am so very proud of them.

Indian Riffle Elementary School 4

Posted August 09, 2006
- a parent
Great teachers and staff. At first I didn't know if I would like the school because it seemed somewhat older and was under repairs when my son started, but he really enjoyed his teachers and they committed a lot of one on one time to him. They also seemed to encourage a lot of parent teacher child relations which helped us see what we needed to do in helping our son be successful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Indian Riffle Elementary School
3090 Glengarry Dr, Kettering, OH  45420
(937) 499-1720
Last modified Indian Riffle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Indian Riffle Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top