Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kirkersville Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
I love Kirkersville as much as my children do! The school is clean and well managed. Excellent safety policies in play. Doorbell entry, safety staff stationed during drop off and pick up times. Morning greeters for students. They follow a good citizen policy which reinforces caring behaviors and hardworking skills. The teachers are very excellent. They truly care for our children and strive for success. They welcome parent helpers whom have been given a full background check. They have field trips to one room school house, apple orchard, pumpkin patch, Cosi on wheels... they have multiple student involvement performances. And they have some after school programs. Kirkersville elementary is a great school.

Kirkersville Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
Educational issues and violation of parent rights at Kirkersville Elementary: Written parental consent not required to transport my child off school property, according to Principal. Daily reading instruction not provided to all first grade students (by design according to teacher) Pilot program- first grade students change classes like middle school students. Logistics of first grade students changing classes caused the loss of 1 hour of instruction time daily. Teachers, Principal, nor Superintendent could produce supporting research. Pilot program was discontinued Dec. 2007 first grade students were removed from homerooms and shuffled into classrooms with new teachers & classmates further adding to the instability of instruction, demonstrating gross misunderstanding of the social, emotional, and educational development of students. This caused my first grader to become distraught and confused when I asked what was wrong she stated, My world is upside down. Distraught Parent & Experienced Educator


Kirkersville Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
Kirkersville Elementary is a great place for students to learn! The last few years seem to ahve brought about a different atmosphere than what some of the previous reviews are descirbing. There are more family activities and events after school and the new principal is warm, friendly, intelligent and knows all the children by name! We specifivally moved so that our children would go to KES rather than another elementary in the district. There are several teachers whose own children attend or have attended KES which says something in itself. We wouldn't have our children attending any other school right now!

Kirkersville Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kirkersville Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2007
- a staff
This review submitted without content.


Kirkersville Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kirkersville Elementary School 4

Posted January 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kirkersville Elementary School 2

Posted July 27, 2005
- a parent
Disciplining the right children seems to be impossible. If you are involved in any type of dipute,(in my experience), all involved recieve the same punishment, including innocent bystanders. Humiliation appears to be the preferred method of discipline at Kirkersville.


Kirkersville Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a teacher
As a teacher and a parent at Kirkersville, I feel very lucky to be involved with this school. The administration, staff and community have worked hard to make Kirkersville a safe and caring learning environment; one that has earned the highest rating of 'excellent' by the state of Ohio for our outstanding test scores. As a parent, I am extremely pleased with the education my children receive every day. Although it may not be a 'perfect' school, it is a 'wonderful' school. Kirkersville is a great place to work and learn!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kirkersville Elementary School
215 North Fifth St, Kirkersville, OH  43033
(740) 927-7281
Last modified Kirkersville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kirkersville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top