Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakewood High School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
Lakewood high has much to be proud of! They have a wide variety of academic courses and the music program is outstanding. Best in the state, especially the orchestra program. LHS provides great opportunities for its students and they are lead by dedicated, passionate teachers. Highly recommend

Lakewood High School 1

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
I was raised in Cleveland and attended Cleveland public schools until my parents moved us to Lakewood to attend their school system. I never graduated from Lakewood High for the fact that the teachers, office people, and principal were bias. They didn't care for Cleveland kids and they were always against me and my sisters. I would never send my children to this school for the simple fact that I wouldn't want them to face the same treatment I did. The house 2 principal Miss Fidiniac (if that's how her name was spelled) liked showing my school files to other kids parents to show them what a bad student I was. To the parents out there, keep your teens away from this school. Send them somewhere else or let them get their ged like I had to.


Lakewood High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Very bias school. When they don't like a student, they make it hard for that child

Lakewood High School 1

Posted March 11, 2014
- a community member
i agree with the post on 05/26/2012. i also was treated the same way when i graduated in 1968. was not encouraged to try to excel in any subject but was encouraged to take typing. was a very lonely time in my life.

Lakewood High School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school with an ethnically and economically diverse student population. Wide range of extracurricular activities to get involved in and an outstanding music program.


Lakewood High School 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a student
This school is Horrible. Not only do they not take care of bullying situations but the teachers also bully. I was chased out of the Lakewood City school system because not only was I bullied by students, my teachers would also single me out. The staff is rude and don't care about their students one bit, all they care about is the pay check. I would not recommend this school to ANYONE.

Lakewood High School 1

Posted July 17, 2013
- a community member
The fact that not a single student or parent was capable of writing a review absent of spelling and grammar errors speaks volumes about this school. So happy that 5k/yr in property taxes somehow isn't enough to prevent one of Lakewood's biggest arteries from being obstructed ten times a day by stalled school renovations.

Lakewood High School 5

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
Lakewood High is outstanding with great teachers! Because of its larger size they can offer a much greater variety of classes than other schools in the area...even the private ones. If your student is bright this is the school for him or her. They offered so many AP classes that my oldest was able to get through college in 3 years. They offer accelerated math courses covering a full year of college calculus. Their pre-engineering program (Project Lead The Way) follows a nationally recognized set of standards that colleges want. Their art program is outstanding and many students have gone on to win national awards. In tough times when other districts are cutting back on "extras" like band and orchestra Lakewood is growing its music program. They have four orchestras and just many bands.In addition they have after school jazz bands and the best high school rock orchestra in the country (possibly the only of its type with a great mix of acoustic and electric instruments). The only downside of Lakewood High would be for those whose kids are special needs or those who are not self motivated as they can get lost in this environment so they may be better off in a smaller district.


Lakewood High School 4

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
Like any other school, Lakewood High School is not perfect, nor is every single teacher there going to change your child's life, but let's keep it real: if you have your proverbial "stuff" together as a parent, your child will likely do well. That being said, my wife and I are both teachers, and elected to stay in Lakewood because we wanted our children to attend the Lakewood Schools . The music and arts programs at LHS are fantastic, there are many opportunities for students to get involved, and most of the teachers are genuinely concerned for the well-being and future of their students. Another key variable that the Lakewood Schools seem to handle well is the community's ever changing demographics and rising poverty. We like that Lakewood is representative of the diversity our children will likely encounter in the "real world", and are grateful that our children are being educated in ways consistent with our values.

Lakewood High School 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a student
I'm also a 2012 Graduating Senior Student at LHS. However, my freshman year was horrible, and not to discount 10th, 11th, and now my senior year which is worse than my freshman year which was bad enough. I've heard from many peers that students get sent home for unnecessary reasons, not to discount myself just this year TWICE. I was completely misled by the school. However, the Principal is very educated, but i don't believe that he notices the moment-by-moment functions of the classrooms and the students well-being. They only address problems to resolve them, not always to prevent them from recurring. I feel if LHS REALLY deserves the title "Excellent" then i simply suggest that staff be more tolerant, patient, and understanding, instead of not taking action upon acts of harrassment and mistreatment to and from school, particularly in my case this year. There are several good things, but not so good things simultaneously, and the bad outweighs the good, and i'm honestly suprised to see that not many others see this. As i partially agree, but mostly disagree with the September 11th, 2011 post. But i believe they can improve, but i see things from a very realistic perspective.

Nearby schools

Lakewood High School
14100 Franklin Blvd, Lakewood, OH  44107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (216) 529-4028
Last modified Lakewood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top