Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 610 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

I have started sending my kid to this school and so far I am very happy. Teachers are very helpful and go an a extra mile to help kids. My daughter is already making great progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

The one positive I can say is some of the teachers are wonderful However I do not believe that goes for the rest of the staff. Some of them are rude. If you are not in the in group you are definitely on the outside. They ask for help but do not take well to suggestions and different opinions. They do things the way they want to regardless. The principal only acts like she cares because she is getting paid and doesn't seem genuine. She does not handle problems well and depends on the teachers to handle the parents. They give out many nonsense little rules yet aren't as concerned about the bigger picture in learning. And they make you feel out of place when you have a real concern and question their method. They get defensive and It's always trying to convince you it's good. I feel we are pretty normal and are laidback but I really have concerns and am uncomfortable with this school. You have a mixture of parents who don't really care and the ones who are buddy with the teachers and are part of the involved in group. I would have thought twice about buying our home if I would have known!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I really love this school! I was so apprehensive about public education but I could not be happier with this school. I've become a huge advocate of public schools because of the wonderful education that my children have received here. I feel so thankful that we moved to this district when we relocated to Central Ohio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

I have been incredibly happy with this school! The staff is friendly and caring and the principal is outstanding. Our experience has been that all of the teachers are wonderful but some really stand out as truly amazing. I'm so happy to live in this district and Oak Creek has really changed my perspective on public schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

A great school in the Olentangy School district. The teachers and staff are wonderful and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

There is such tension when you enter this school. The office personnel look like they are overworked and the principal is rude. Teachers seem stressed out and no supported. Having volunteered in this school, I am shocked that the climate in this building does not mirror the other wonderful schools in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

There are many wonderful teachers at Oak Creek Elementary, but just as many inexperienced teachers who the Olentangy school district continues to hire to save money by paying lower salaries but spends millions on building new schools. This is a district-wide problem. The principal does seem to have a difficult time relating to parents and taking heart with their concerns as does the guidance counselor. The brashness of the office staff has improved from previous years. The PTO does schedule nice events for the children, but is very closed to making others feel welcomed. I do think my children have received a good educational foundation at Oak Creek, but beware if your child has a difficult time learning in the 'standard' academic way. The school tries very hard to wear down those parent's and convince them otherwise. Also, a district-wide problem since Olentangy likes to tout its' 'gifted' program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

This school is very warm and inviting. The principal is rude and very unprofessional. She is snappy and talks poorly of her staff who are wonderful. Every teacher at Oak Creek is dedicated to improving student success. The administration is weak for Olentangy standards. I transferred there from another school in the district and was very displeased with Mrs. Lather's unprofessionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

My child has attended Oak Creek for four years and loves this school. The PTA is not very organized and is quite clicky. The teachers are great but seem stressed out with all the demands of a new principal. While I rate the overall school well, I have definitely seen better leadership in other Olentangy schools. The office workers are snippy and the principal is quite brash in her approach with parents and staff. There are better options in Olentangy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

The staff work very hard to make this school excellent. My child loved his K and 1st grade teachers. The teachers are approachable and caring. Unfortunately I can't say that about the administration. The new principal is cold and unapproachable. The PTO does a great job of hosting family events that are fun and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

My son just finished Kindergarten and we really enjoyed this year at Oak Creek. I think the school is a fine example of the level of excellence in the Olentangy School District. The other staff were friendly and helpful! I recommend this school, it has helped my son get on the right track for academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

My son has attended Oak Creek for 2 years. His experience there has been nothing short of amazing! The school is able to provide many programs to assist students struggling in any area,and have the most incredible staff! We have considered moving out of state, and this school is the only thing holding us back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

This is my son's second year at Oak Creek and I could not be more pleased with absolutely everything, from the outstanding teachers, fabulous specialists and caring administrartion, to the family atmosphere and commuity support. I believe my son's success is directly related to him being at the perfect school for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

This is a very good school with committed and experienced teachers. If you are in need of special needs like IEP, this school has the right infrastructure and staff to support the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

My children attended Oak Creek last 2 yrs. We've moved and really missed the school. It's when you left that you truly understand how good the school is - the parental invovement, the open door policy, the lively curriculum that incorporate both traditional instruction and creative learning, (most schools either have extreme drill-and-learn or experiential learning). Oak Creek has very involved staffs and strong community spirit etc. I highly recommend this school and still wish we were there. The school my children now attend makes them sit there the whole day and just drill them for test, and they do not welcome parents at all, the next school I tried which is a charter school, the kids just do 'discovery' stuffs the whole day, no real learning. They also discouraged parental involvement. That should tell you how much schools can really differ. I ended up homeschooling my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

My son is in the 5th grade at Oak Creek Elementary School and I am very impressed with the curriculum they use. The teachers are eager to help your child learn and make their classes very interesting. Julie Lather is a wonderful Vice Principal who cares about her students at Oak Creek and wants to see all students succeed to their fullest potential. I would highly reccomend this school to any parent moving in the district. I am very proud to say my son went to Oak Creek Elementary and got a fabulous education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

My son has been in Kindergarten at Oak Creek since September, and I have nothing but good things to say about the school and the district in general. The Staff and Faculty are attentive and friendly, and truly care about the students. I am looking forward to 5 more years of Oak Creek and would recommend it to parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2003

This school is an absolute blessing to the kids who attend there. There could not be a more involved staff and principal- they care and go to any length necessary to prove it. The teachers are very good and very invovled with the students. My children are safe here and cared for just like they are at home. If you are thinking of moving to the area send your kids to Oak Creek. It is a beautiful school that is filled with wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female87%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled78%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled72%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students99%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled91%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female82%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabled54%
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander77%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial>=95%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled85%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female87%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
103 (2010)
 
106 (2009)
 
102 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 74%
Asian 13% 2%
Black 6% 16%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 13%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Julie A. Lather
Fax number
  • (740) 657-4749

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1256 Westwood Dr
Lewis Center, OH 43035
Phone: (740) 657-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Polaris Christian Academy
Lewis Center, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT