Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Constellation Schools: Lorain Community Elementary

Charter | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lorain

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2013

This is my first year there and the school is amazing. The principal knows every student by name. The teachers are awesome. The kids really enjoy going to school. I just can't say enough about how great the school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Staff are well educated and promote a unique learning experience for each and every student. Students are challenged on an academic and social level daily and their scores show how well this works. Each student is treated with respect and in turn treat one another in this manner as well. If this school can provide such a thriving experience to learning and do so within budget guidelines it should be used as an example for public schools to follow suit. The kids are the winners here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My son has attended the Constellation Schools his whole education life. I just love these schools so much. I feel that my child is safe and getting the best education that a school can give. I love it so much I have my daughter starting there this September.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My daughter has been a student of Lorain Community School for 4 years. I am very pleased with the school and the education my child is receiving. It is my hope that Lorain Community School will have the resources to expand and provide a complete K-12 grade education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My granddaughter has attended lorain community school since kindergarten, she is now in third grade. I would highly reccommend this school to anyone. I have had nothing but positives experiences with teachers and her progress. She has learned so much not just in academics,but incl.Such great characteristics!! i am a very proud parent to have my child in lorain community schooland also very grateful. Thankyou to all the staff!! your'e wonderful! keep up the excellent work. A very appreciative parent, renee garcia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

I am extremely pleased with LCS. The curriculum is solid. They have a character education program that works. The principal was replaced and I have found her leadership to be stellar. The teachers are top notch. Whenever I have concerns or questions they are there to talk. The parent involvement is what you make of it. They offer many family activity nights and programs throughout the year. Most schools do not offer these family nights. The teachers consistently go out of their way to make the school a fun place to learn. I would like to see more extracuricular activities after school. They do have a basketball team. The environment is clean and safe. The small classroom sizes give my children more one on one with the teacher. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

I would recommend this school to anyone! I absolutely love it! My son has attended this school for three years and his grades and behavior have improved steadily. Not only that, he has ADHD and they have done everything possible to help him feel normal and better about himself. The character education has also made a difference. I agree that those people running the projects that need volunteers should be more welcoming. The school news letter always thanks the people who volunteer to be on the committees but leaves out the names of someone who maybe can't come every day but put in 10 hrs in one day. Also, the political correctness is a little haywire because they are so worried about offending even one person. The majority of the kids want to celebrate holidays and birthdays but can't. To me, that is offensive, but it is still better than the alternative- public school. I hope it grows to include high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

My children have been there since its inception. The teachers are wonderful. I'm very happy with the character education, which I feel is lacking in other public schools. Their discipline methods are appropriate, & teach the children consequences of their choices. The school is very welcoming to the parents & you can help out as much as you'd like. Unfortunately there is too little parent involvement. I am an active parent at the school, and being involved in the parent group, I know that we have done everything but beg for parents to participate more. Parents that feel excluded should not be so sensitive, quit using excuses,and just help! The biggest problem at the school right now is that they've outgrown the facility. They need a new building. And hopefully, the new principal will pick up the pieces & follow through with the language/arts program that was promised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

My daughter is in kindergarten and doing fantastic. She entered the school not knowing as much about reading as she should have and she is now at the state required level for 1st grade and hopefully will surpass it by year end.They do need a different reward and punishment system. One that re-enforces the positive but not by punishing the negitive. I give the credit to the teachers for how well my daughter is excelling. I never did see the principal but twice and am glad she is being replaced. I wasn't as active in the school as i would like to be for the mere fact those involved in school efforts make other parents feel like outsiders. They need to get programs previously talked about off the ground and not just let it be a thought. I love the smaller class sizes would hate to lose that going to Lorain city schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

I am very dissapointed in the leadership of the principal, she is never around to talk to, and she seems to be there for the money not the children. The classes are broken into two groups the good and and bad, and I feel the teachers like to embarrass the children as a punishment. We have no extracurricular activities, though we were promised spanish, art and field trips, this year of 2003-2004 my daughter has not attended a single function, or is she allowed to celebrate any holiday. The parent involvement is ridiculous, maybe the same handful of people come to the school to help! Safety is questionable and the scores for the 4th grade are so low I am too embarrassed to say what they are!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female95%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female>=95%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female91%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female91%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
102 (2011)
 
94 (2010)
 
95 (2009)
 
90 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 4%
White 34% 74%
Black 18% 16%
Two or more races 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 13%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melisa R. Shady
Fax number
  • (440) 204-2134

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 West Erie Ave
Lorain, OH 44052
Phone: (440) 204-2130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT