Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loveland High School

Public | 9-12 | 1485 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

I have been a teacher at Loveland for nine years. Prior to becoming a Tiger, I had the good fortune to teach at other quality schools and a university. Loveland is ranked in the top 5% of public schools in Ohio and had a recent top National 6% A.P. award. Those accomplishments are great and many schools can boast about their stats. I know the best thing we have going for us is a proactive and tireless building principal; a staff with many diverse awards, grants, and forms of recognition, and a tornado of a student body. We were fortunate to be state champions this year in football and the student section gave more support each and every week to our kids, that I can say they were a catalyst for the team's success. Radio announcers raved about their intensity and love for their classmates and school. Our school commissioned a mural that says "Many Stripes, One Tiger." Our school lives by this motto right now. Enthusiasm and pride can be seen from so many different angles daily, that one would have to spend a week here to witness true Tiger Pride.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2013

Loveland High School is a great high school. It offers many different courses and all the teachers are willing to help out the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2012

Both my Son and Daughter Graduated from Loveland High School after attending Loveland Elementary and Middle Schools. What a great education. They had great courses and great energetic teachers. They were both more than prepared for their College Careers. Both were and are Honor Students at Large Midwestern Universities. Highly recommend the Loveland School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I am a student at Loveland High School currently. It is a good school and offers many courses in a block schedule. However, it is not very diverse and hasn't, to my knowledge, produced many Ivy League students. The people are nice though a bit stereotypically high school like.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2012

Loveland High School is made to look like a School that it is not. The students that go to this school vary from the many trouble-makers to the few students who strive to become smart. The school condition itself is horrible; from the second you walk into the front office to each individual classroom. The appearance may make you think that the school is well maintained but that is just a cover-up. The teachers within the school do not care one bit about how the students are treated by other students and do not what so ever make an effort to help the students excell in their class. No parent should want their child to go to a Loveland City School in their lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I graduated from Loveland High School in 2004. I transferred there from a local private school after my freshman year. The education I received there was unparalleled to schools I had been to previously. The block schedule was extremely accomodating and allowed me to graduate with taking calculus. I wouldn't have been able to do so had I stayed at the private school. Faculty and staff were friendly and welcoming to me as a transfer student. I had such a great experience, my sister didn't even try private school, she came straight to Loveland as well. I recommend this school strongly and plan to send my own children there as well.


Posted March 24, 2010

I have 2 children attending Loveland High School and have to say, I am very disappointed with the many of the teachers, the assistant principal, some of the office staff, etc. My children have often vocalized their concern for the way some students are treated by the staff. I have seen teachers and staff who have forgotten the role of educators is to educate and to nourish, to encourage children to do their best. Some of the staff I have seen and spoken to have forgotten that the authority they have over the students should be used in a positive manner to ALL students but have instead chosen to go on 'personal power trips' so to speak. I have heard numerous times of teachers telling certain students that the individuals will be failures. Unfortunately, the assistant principal stands by the teachers instead of the students. I am very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Highly rated academicly,well disciplined, friendly, and keep parents well informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

This school is top notch!!! I had heard good things about the community and its schools before moving here, but did not expect the high standards of guidance and teaching that I have seen my two children receive. I think the bad reviews are just individuals who don't realize what schools are here for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

My son graduated in 2008 and was very vocal about the inept staff at Loveland. My daughter is a sophomore and is having a terrible time due to lack of concern from 99% of the teaching staff. Also, classs sizes are large and students tend to get lost in the shuffle. The technology is antiquated and the district is very standoffish when it comes to advice. As a executive in the Information Technology industry I amd shocked and amazed at how the district wastes money on technology that does not benefit students. Hind sight I wish I would have sent my kids to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My son is coming into the school from out of state and as a freshman. He has been treated so wonderfully by the counselor, band director, band mom's. The school years hasn't even started yet and he already has met so many people and has a great group of friends. I am impressed with the school's pride and the pride the students and directors take in appearance, attittude and community. I am looking forward to my son's next 4 years of school and I am not worried about how he will get through because there will always be someone there for him. Awesome School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

Outstanding school system. Excellant learning environment. Safe and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Very poor. Students are in a lock-down type learning environment. They are treated unfairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I'm not a parent, but I am absolutely amazed to see that this awful school was rated a 10 out of 10. Halfway through my Junior year of high school, my family moved to Ohio and I had to leave an amazing school to come to this one. Never have I felt more unwelcome in a school environment. The guidance counselors were annoyed by my presence, teachers were unreceptive to my questions, and the entire faculty treated all us students like were delinquents, just waiting for some way to terrorize the rest of the student body. Hall passes, no one permitted outside during school hours, teachers situated outside bathrooms; sure, it sounds like that's a way to keep students from messing up, but it also makes us feel like we're prisoners. Safety matters, but so does students feeling trusted. There were a couple teachers who stood out, but avoid this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled74%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled66%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled62%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
109 (2011)
 
107 (2010)
 
107 (2009)
 
107 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

85%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

94%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Asian 2% 2%
Black 2% 16%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Tiger Trl
Loveland, OH 45140
Phone: (513) 683-1920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sycamore High School
Cincinnati, OH




Kings High School
Kings Mills, OH


Ursuline Academy
Cincinnati, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT