Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 335 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

if I could have given Washington less than a full star I would have. The principal has a god complex, the teachers, for the most part, are there for a paycheck not because they want to help shape and mold the children into the future of this country! It is a poorly ran district with an ignorant leader, a deplorable principal, teachers who don't care if the kids learn as long as they get paid n get their summers off. It is a hot mess all the way around. Something needs to change. If this is the future of our country I for one am very scared. As a parent when I speak to the teacher and get treated like I am an ignorant child, speak to the principal and get yelled at, speak to the super intendant and get talked down to because I am a female but he will speak to my husband like he is an equal there is a problem!!!! The whole Marietta school system is defunct and needs an overhaul. But they need to start with Washington Elementary!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

I went to Washington Elementary School in the early 80's. It was not a particularly good school then. In fact it was one of the poorer schools i attended in all of my k-12 years. Judging from the reviews here it sounds like nothing has changed in 32 years.


Posted September 30, 2010

We have 2 children attending Washington School, we have recently moved and new to this school. We are very pleased with the education and experience they are receiving. The teachers are caring and communicative, trouble shooting methods are in place and the teachers/staff/principal are involved and on task.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have 2 children that currently attend this school. We have 5 years under our belt and I have to say I have had nothing but the best experience, great teachers, great fundamentals, and a very suportive PTO. I have friends who are teachers at other schools in the district, the curriculum is the same, homework seems comparable, and test scores have really come up at Washington over the last few years which says something of the time, talent, and effort being put in on our children. I am in a public profession and I can tell you for as many good reviews you can find an equal number of bad. Bottom line when dealing with your childrens education is being involved, there is just as much responsiblity at home as there is in school, and certainly if someone feels the environment is not beneficial a change may be needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I completely agree with the comments written. My son went to washington for 3 years and they told me he was unable to learn what was needed to pass the 2nd grade. He was a straight F student. I pulled him out and took him to Warren Elementary and there he is getting the help he needs to catch up, due to the inadequate teaching at Washington. He is now an A and B student. He has only been at Warren since January, a miracle, no just teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

This school is inadequate because of the lack of knowledgeable leadership. Most teachers resent suggestions for improvement and show this resentment in unacceptable ways.


Posted April 23, 2008

This school has 'teachers' that see teaching as a job, not a profession. They do not teach, they just put in time. They are not there for the children. There is a couple of good teachers who care there, but not most of them. My children went there and I pulled them out and home schooled them. there is even free public school on line. Another alternative is requesting to have your children go to another school. Because this school has not met the yearly requirements for 3 years you can request that your children attend another school in the district. The school must provide transportation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I have found that if you become your child's advocate - ie choose his/her teacher, become the home room parent, etc - this school can be very good. The support staff is very helpful and some of the teachers are GREAT! Unfortunately, the principal is substandard and as such supports the substandard teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I think this school is awful. I have begun to do the paperwork for home schooling. I donot feel that these teachers are adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

I think that overall Washington Elementary has a very dedicated teaching and support staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

There are but a very narrow few of the teachers that seem to teach because they are interested in children. Too many have their own ideas of what is the best for all, and do not adjust to meet the needs of the students. They already know everything, so they must have no need to be flexible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female63%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled25%
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female>=95%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled60%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female76%
Male52%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female79%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students71%
Female76%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowBelow
Grade 5MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
90 (2011)
 
93 (2010)
 
99 (2009)
 
98 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 74%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Black N/A 16%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David S. Kratche
Fax number
  • (740) 374-6521

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Washington St
Marietta, OH 45750
Phone: (740) 374-6520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Marys School
Marietta, OH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT