Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Massillon, OH
Students enrolled: 1,400

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Washington High School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a student
Yes, we do care about football. That is all our town has left and it is our identity. As a student i can tell you that Massillon cares more about grades than anything. Also the district DOES NOT dump money into the program, the PLAYERS EACH ARE REQUIRED TO RAISE 700$ AND EVERYTHING IIS DONATED!!!!!!!!!!

Washington High School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of a student currently attending Washington High School, I can tell you this. There is a lot of emphasis on sports, but there is also much emphasis on other extra curricular activities. Just because they are not printed in the paper like the football scores, does not mean they dont exist. Why dont you check out the track record of our choir and all the state awards they have won. While you are at it look at the Academic Challenge team and their success over the last several years. Maybe if the only thing you see is emphasis on sports, maybe your not looking in the right place or at the whole picture. Our state scores may not be the best, but we are dealing with kids from all different aspects of life. School like anything else in life, is what you choose to make of it.

Washington High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
they are awesume here at washington high school! we care about education but we also care enough about kids in extracariqulars to not make them pay to play like jakson

Washington High School
no rating

Posted August 21, 2007
- a parent
Education and discipline is secondary. football first at all costs

Washington High School 5

Posted July 22, 2007
- a student
WHS is an amazing school. Washington high does focus a lot on sports mainly football. However, that's not all we focus on I think you guy's are failing to realize that in order to play football or to play sports or be in clubs we have to maintain a certain grade point average, as you can see by our football,basketball,baseball,cheerleading etc. teams there are alot of player's all of them on that team does good in school, that's why they're on the team. So next time you want to judge a school, or what the school stands for actually spend time in the school, don't go by hear say or what you've seen on a one day tour, because Washington High School is a wonderful school that gives me a future and a very good education. Gooo Tigers!!!!

Washington High School 1

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
This is a great school if all you care about is sports and not education. I was very dissapointed to move back here and find massillon has only grown in a business aspect not in academics. Kids with special needs are not educated properly they are pushed off to the side and not cared about. Massillon is a good school for the perfect student but not those who need the extra help like one on one help ,tutoring, or specialized help in one subject ect . This school is a very basic school and very outdated as far as education goes. New York Schools are way ahead of Ohio schools. My daughter is in 8th grade here and she learned everything they are teaching here in 7th grade in NY. Ihad to sen my son to live with his dad to get him the help he needs.

Washington High School 4

Posted February 02, 2005
- a student
As a former student (1989) I disagree wholeheartedly. The people who seem to think it's about athletics are usually those who don't try out for anything. It is very popular now to make students maintain a particular grade point average in order to play sports. Massillon has been requiring that for years. Say what you will about football. It helps fund the following sports in Massillon: gymnastics, baseball, softball, swimming, diving, basketball (male and female), track, cross country, tennis, wrestling, junior varsity football and volleyball to name a few. The kids benefit tremendously. My teachers were always were enthusiastic and I had many good days. This is not the exception but the norm.

Washington High School 4

Posted September 09, 2003
- a community member
It is a good school, but there is a lot of emphasis on football. But no matter what school you look at, it is gonna be emphasis on something, very few schools focus solely on education. The school may have focused on football, but with that, they focused on teaching students they needed an education, that football nor any other sport was going to take them everywhere they wanted to go. If you look at the top football players, their grades excelled and they were/are at the top of their class. In turn, this tells other students, you want to be a good player, you want to do something in life, you can play a sport, you can be involved in an activity, but you have to have something else to go with that, being a football player is not going to pay the bills.

Washington High School 2

Posted August 10, 2003
- a student
This school is too much about foot ball! i feel that there are very few teachers with good teaching capabilities and they need to work on their teaching skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington High School
1 Paul East Brown Dr SE, Massillon, OH  44646
(330) 830-3901
Last modified Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top