Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


Fairfax Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
The teachers that I have come across have seemed to be there to earn a paycheck. They don't have that love of teaching children. Don't get me wrong, there are several who are outstanding that adore the kids and they love them, too. I, however, have not had the opportunity to see my child enjoy that. We have been there for several years. I still haven't seen the new principal. The after school release is a joke. The kids come out at various times each day and the safety patrol usually goes in before the walkers and bikers are released. Lots of room for improvement. I'm hoping the new principal gets on the ball and starts doing something.

Fairfax Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
Fairfax teachers in the 4th grade and 5th grade are going above and beyond to see that the needs of my son are met and that he has a pleasant learning experience. Coming from another district 2 years ago, I must say that Fairfax is making a difference!!


Fairfax Elementary School 2

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fairfax Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
Fairfax like all of Mentor is overrated. Though I have a high opinion of the school's principal Dr. Heller often I've found the teachers to be closed minded, judgmental and even ignorant at times. Most instructors have the student's best interests at heart but fall short due to their own personal limitations. Often emphasis is placed on appearance and statistics over value and content. Not to mention the facility is in dire need of some elbow grease and TLC as I've personally observed black mold in the halls and multi-purpose room. Overall Fairfax is a reflection of a mediocre suburban district. It is more concerned with how students test then the quality of their work.

Fairfax Elementary School 2

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fairfax Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2006
- a parent
I have 4 children in this school. The academics are wonderful. I have yet to run into a teacher that doesn't put in 100% to their students and parents. Being an educator, academically this school ranks at the top....the students are expected to be successful! A school who seeks parental involvement- love it!

Fairfax Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
I have a learning disabled child, and this is a great school. I've had him in two other school, therefore I've had a place to compare Fairfax with and I love the school. My child is learning under their influence.

Fairfax Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
The balance of classroom activities, homework, inter-action with other students in all grade levels, outside activities and contests is perfect at Fairfax. There is no lack of parent volunteers for after school events or parties at school. It is great to see everyone involved. One program my daughter loved while in kindergarten was that the 4th graders 'adopted' a kindergartener and read to them on a regular basis during school. This helped the forth grader with reading and allowed both kids to nurture a friendship that might not otherwise have happened. The teachers at Fairfax take a personal interest in the development of each student both academically and socially, which are very important.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

6465 Curtiss Ct
Mentor, OH 44060

(440) 255-7223
(440) 974-5294

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairfax Elementary School
6465 Curtiss Ct, Mentor, OH  44060
(440) 255-7223
Last modified Fairfax Elementary School is a public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairfax Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.