Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garfield Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
By their programming and their ability to create a community spirit and school pride. School is a wonderful place

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
Love that my children are always challenged and teachers are engaging and committed. There is a lot of "school pride" and morale is really good amongst students. Only gripe is that the building itself is old, no air conditioning and spotty heat (some rooms hot ,others cold) seems distracting and uncomfortable, but the academics and staff are great.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are great! Seems to be a well put together place. Teachers are definitely caring. The school time is a little bit early but it works. Definitely recommend!

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Garfield Elementary School in the Mentor School district is an excellent example of the finest in elementary school education in the nation. Well qualified teachers who are committed to excellence and personal attention to each student are augmented by a strong, supportive principal and administration. The personal quality with which the principal and teachers interact with the students as well as parents could serve as a model for "the best" in educational climates. As the school year begins, teachers are eagerly greeting their new students and students are anxiously excited to begin the learning, growing process with their friends once again. Vacations are fine, but the school year is where the true journey to greatness and success takes place. Garfield School is a model launching pad for top students to move forward toward the higher grades and ultimately on to successful professionals and vocations. At the base of each of those successes is the learning that takes place at Garfield Elementary School. All elementary schools would do well to emulate Garfield School in their quest for excellence in the educational enterprise.

Garfield Elementary School 3

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
My child has been in this school for 2 years now and overall its fine, notthe greatest. The school building in old, not enough lighting, class rooms are crammed up. Appearance is shabby and unclean. The office staff is friendly and the principal is jovial, but the teachers are 'hit and miss'. Some have a real scarry face and studies show that facial expressions have a lot to do with connectedness and approacheability. The We care program needs improved, the staff is unfriendly, and to impose discipline, they just make kids sit with no outside time. The do not check or inquire if a kid is sitting in the corner, no interaction and its pretty much like a confinement. There is also subtle bullying by older kids by isolation and the staff cares least.


Garfield Elementary School 3

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
My child has been in this school and overall he is happy but there are a few concerns that i have as a parent. obviously there is not a racial diversity which makes it somewhat harder for the kids that arenon whites to fit in. Also i dont see that despite the lack of diversity that the teachers ever make an attempt to fit the non white kids in the class room by may be celebrating that particular students festival or have that student tell the class about their culture or religion. There is a lot more focus on academics and getting work sheets done and there is minimal emphasis on extra curriculum i do not like their WE CARE (after school care) at all. The staff is rude to kids, very strict and hardly interact with the kids. even onsunny days kids are not taken out.

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2007
- a student
I went to this school and I must say it was absolutley amazing! I had some awesome teachers and, maybe I`m bias here but, I would say it was the best Elementary school in Mentor

Garfield Elementary School 4

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
Garfield elementary school is a great place for children to learn. My son is going into the third grade and has truly enjoyed his teachers for the past 3 years. The quality of academic programs could be a bit more advanced but overall is fine. The level of parent involvement is very high. I would recommend Garfield Elementary school.

Nearby schools

Garfield Elementary School
7090 Hopkins Rd, Mentor, OH  44060
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (440) 255-6609
Last modified Garfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top