Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2014
- a community member
Central staff goes above and beyond to ensure the academic and social growth of their students, working endlessly to meet the wide range of individual needs. They engage the students in learning, always looking to make the work relevant and meaningful. I would recommend this school to any parent of any race or socioeconomic status, as Central truly is about student-centered learning and the growth of ALL students!

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 3

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
All good things, it seems, must come to an end. And so it has been with Central Academy. The school was truly a unique learning experience before the last year or two, but it is rapidly morphing itself into an institution that "picks the winners" by blanketing all students with the same instruction and same homework, with an eye towards pushing out students who don't fit the narrative the school is aiming to create. The school is more about burnishing a story it created around itself than it is about trying to encourage individual thinking, which it once did spectacularly. Every year, you'll hear about people camping out overnight to get their children a slot in the middle school. As a disapppointed parent who has seen the decline, I would advise those parents to look into other alternatives. It is my intent to withdraw my children from the school as they approach middle school age. It's sti;ll a pretty good place up to that level, but once there, it's all about shiny happy faces for the cameras.


Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 2

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
Back in the day, this school was 'the' school. Now, not so much. Dr. Suiter couldn't lead her way out of a wet paper bag. They have combined grades k and 1st, 2nd and 3rd, etc. So basically every other year your child is repeating a grade. There is no such thing as competition in this school. There is no parent involvement. They can't even get volunteers for the PTO. No one will help with anything. Also, be warned they only cater to underpriveledged kids, if you're not on assistance, drive your kid somewhere else. Unfortunately, I have sent my child here for two years, BUT we will be leaving. As far as education in this town goes....you get what you pay for. This is one BROKE school. They do nothing extra. Art class is drawing on cheap paper that is it! If your looking for the best...this is not it.

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a community member
The mannerism of the teaching methods, for the faculty, staff, students and curriculum, of this school rate 5 stars all the way; which is a brag from a grandmother of a student that attends there.

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
This school is wonderful! I cannot rave about the teachers hard work and dedication to their students success enough. Every surrounding school district needs to learn a lesson about learning and teaching from Central!

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
I have 3 children that attended and attend here! They are verry pleased! I am also pleased by their performance!

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 2

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2008
- a parent
Central is a great school. I am very pleased with the untraditional approach taught here.

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School
4601 Sophie Ave, Middletown, OH  45042
(513) 420-4537
Last modified Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Academy Nongraded Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top