Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Monclova Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monclova

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2012

I am a graduate of Monclova Christian Academy. Since graduating, I've earned a master's degree from Bowling Green State University. I would certainly recommend the school. The school is academically strong, possesses kind staff, and has a very, Biblical focus. MCA continues to be safe-haven for many students. I remember class mates that came from public schools saying, "I can't believe it, everyone is so nice." It's very close-nit school. Everyone is treated with respect. For parents, you don't have to worry about your child being picked-on, harassed, or mistreated by others.


Posted June 5, 2012

I am both a teacher and parent of students at Monclova Christian Academy. Thank you for the kind and encouraging comments that were written about our school. I would like to address the comment I read, dated March 4, 2011. I am truly sorry for your experience at MCA; it is not our desire to see anyone leave dissatisfied with our school. And although you are certainly allowed to have your own opinion, I need to make a couple of corrections regarding your comments. Monclova Christian Academy is a non-public charter school. Therefore every teacher has to have a state certificate, proving that he/she has graduated from an approved school. All of our teachers, with one exception, graduated with a teaching degree. Concerning the preparation for college: we are required to be academically sound, and to teach the Academic Standards set by the government. We do not compromise our Biblical standards, but each student has the opportunity to graduate ready for the rigors of college. Not all students choose to participate in that opportunity. We offer both advanced placement and post-secondary classes. My children always felt loved by the teachers, and are making A's in college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2012

My oldest child has attended MCA for 3 years and our 2nd will start next year. We could NOT be happier with this school for many reasons. We have known many of the teachers since before this school was formed in '99. They have been a great example of a believer in Christ and love our children. They allow students who excel in certain subjects to attend the grade level that will challenge them. Also, they hold the students to the standards that we teach our children at home. As long as MCA holds to the standards that the school was built on, we will continue to send our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I graduated from MCA in 2000, the first senior to earn a diploma from the school. I was more than ready for college after graduation. I took a few classes at a local community college, with classes in advanced composition, and some third semester classes in my freshman year. It was my choice to eventually opt out of school for a stint in the Air Force. I think I have done well for myself and my family, and in part, due to the caring and experienced staff. I am willing to sit down and discuss this with anyone who believes the opposite. Are there kids who are going to ruin the experience of others? Absolutely, but you find this in public scools as well. Here, the staff try to catch the problem before it escalates and prevent further incidents. Also, there are a large number of alumni who do, or are willing to enroll their children here. I have a child in kindergarten, and another in the preschool. I would rather have my children here than any other school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

This school is terrible. I went here for a few years. The teachers are just, not qualified to be one. A lot of them don't have a teaching permit. None of them prepare you for college. They care about the stupid uniform more than they do the 'education'. Aside from the uniforms, the students here are basically like normal high school kids. Cursing, sex, drinking, smoking, etc etc. I strongly don't recommend this school at all. Look into TCS or other great schools around here.


Posted August 23, 2010

Our grandson has attended MCA his entire school life, and I highly recommend it. Are the teachers perfect? No - they are flawed humans like the rest of us; but the teachers at MCA are truly dedicated to their profession and their faith, and take a keen interest in the academic and spiritual growth of each kid that attends. The sports programs teach life lessons beyond skill sets. The true mark of a quality education is how the graduating Seniors fare in college. Those from MCA do extremely well, whether they go on to a secular college like UT or BGSU etc. or a private Christian college. This school is NOT for everyone, and their goal is not to help "reform" a recalcitrant child.


Posted December 22, 2009

Our student had an awful experience in this school. I would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

In response to the January 28th post, I checked into the teaching experience of the teachers at Monclova Christian Academy. What I found out was completely the opposite. The high school math teacher has been teaching for 20 years; the English teacher, 15 years; the Science teacher 10 years. The school is only in its 10 year, but it is growing and developing. I attended their Kindergarten - High School Science Fair Expo. It was impressive. For myself, I think the school is well worth looking into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

In my opinion this school is second rate with a very young and inexperienced staff. There are far better choices out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

In response to the post of May 2008. My Jr. Higher had a wonderful experience. The small classes allowed for friendship and a feeling of security. The teachers have been vested in our family and my childs needs. The atmosphere promotes the spiritual, emotional, academic, and physical well being of my child. In no way would any physical harm to any child. That is a comment warrent of liable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Black 2% 19%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Neil J. Black
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (419) 868-1062

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7819 Monclova Rd
Monclova, OH 43542
Phone: (419) 866-0773

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT