Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | K-8 | 168 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2011

Both my kids went to BSS. I would send them there again if I had to do it again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is our 2nd year there and I can't imagine going anywhere else. I love the small school atmosphere, it feels like one big family. We love BSS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Blessed Sacrament is so welcoming and willing to accomodate any and every child. We transferred there because we had our two oldest in another school in the area and when our third child who is hearing impaired was ready to start kindergarten that school was unable to accomodate for her needs but Blessed sacrament was more then willing and absolutely welcoming with open arms for us and our entire family. The kids love it there and we are loving all of the possibilities and opportunities for us and our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Blessed Sacrament School is the best school in our community. You can not find a more loving, inviting, clean, friendly atmosphere! We say it so many times that it probably sounds cliche, but Blessed Sacrament School is one big family! We transferred to Blessed Sacrament from the public school system and have not regreted it for a moment. The teachers are top notch! In public school our children were never challenged, but at BSS they are challenged academically and because we are a service oriented community they are challenged to go beyond the classroom and serve their community. Could not ask for a better school!! Go Crusaders!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Blessed Sacrament School is not only a wonderful academic school, but it is a school that brings families together both at school and outside of school. The children learn what it means to belong together and work together as a school family in all aspects. What a beautiful and wonderful way to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

BSS is the best school there are good teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

BSS is the best school there are good teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I am a parent of children, who are attending and have attended Blessed Sacrament. I also went to Blessed Sacrament as a child and wanted my own children to go there. It is a very family oriented school and the parents are extremely involved. My children learn morals there and how to be good people which is more important than any extracurricular activity. I think there are many extracurricular activities. They have drama club, scouts, sports, girls clubs, Mandarin Chinese language classes, and cultural exchange groups through distance learning in grades K-5. We also love the principal there. She is fantastic and truly loves her job and the children. That is so important to our family. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Blessed Sacrament School is very limited in the classes they offer although their class size (20) is great. The faculty leave something to be desired. They are so rigid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

I am an eighth grader at Blessed Sacrament School and I have gone there since Kindergarten. I really love the school and will miss it when I go to high school next year. The building is great, the teachers are wonderful and the parent involvement is awesome. The extracurricular activities leave a little to be desired but the overall quality of the school is five stars. So if you are interested in a catholic school in Newark Ohio, Blessed Sacrament is the best bet for a great education for your children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2007

We removed our children from the local public schools and started them at Blessed Sacrament when our oldest daughter was entering 3rd grade and our son was entering Kindergarten. We immediately fell in love with the school. The faculty is top notch and the academics are challenging. The best things about Blessed Sacrament are the family atmosphere and the promise that your children will be safe. The building is brand new and beautiful! The extracurricular activities could use some work, but everything else is wonderful. The school is hoping to add foreign language and instrumental music to the offerings soon. This is a fantastic school and I can not begin to tell you how happy we are that our children are in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 77%
Black 2% 19%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. MARY L. PACKHAM
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (740) 345-6168

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

394 E Main St
Newark, OH 43055
Phone: (740) 345-4125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Excel Academy
Newark, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT