Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis DeSales School

Private | PK-8 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2012

I have been a parent of a student at St. Francis de Sales for 8 years and have seen a tangible decline in morale and integrity throughout not only the administration and staff, but also in the student population since the change in administration a few years ago. It has been quite distressing to watch and experience, and I am very relieved that my daugther will be moving on to high school next year. I would strongly recommend to any parent looking for a catholic school in this area to strongly consider Blessed Sacrament as an alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

We are entering our 8th year at St. Francis and I have seen the school grow in enrollment and academics over the years. We now have a book club, art club, drama club, and strings program. All of these have flourished over the last 3 years. It is great because the focus isn't just on athletics; the academic clubs provide enrichment as well. Improvements and renovations to our old building have occurred every year and it provides a nice, bright atmosphere for the students. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and help build community. It's an academically strong school and a great place for parents who want to be involved in their child's school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

St. Francis is wonderful! We a chose private-parochial school over public because of the focus on learning the Catholic faith. The small, family-like atmosphere is wonderful. Recent additions of a strings instrument program, drama club and art club ensure our children are well-rounded. As with any private or parochial school, funding is important and with current state budget cuts, it is important for parents to financially support the school. The school has just one fundraiser and as a parent this is a welcome change that I appreciate! I highly recommend St. Francis for anyone wanting a superior education in a faith-filled environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

We switched from St. Francis de Sales to public schools and we are very happy. Our child is much happier and absolutely thriving in her new environment. Her reading and math skills dramatically improved. St. Francis' focus is primarily on money which is reflected in the large class sizes. The administration leaves alot to be desired also. Class size and curriculum concerns fall on deaf ears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Discipline has faultered over the years. The emphasis is on how much money the parents can give to the school and the Church. If a child is not an athlete, there is not much in the way of extracurricular activity. Some of the teachers are very involved with the students, but the administration leaves a great deal to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

Excellent religion program, discipline and respect for life are at the top of the list.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 77%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary T. Walsh
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (740) 345-9768

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38 Granville St
Newark, OH 43055
Phone: (740) 345-4049

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Excel Academy
Newark, OH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT