Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Olmsted High School 5

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
North Olmsted has amazing staff and teachers. The SITES program is one of a kind! Ample attention is given to all students. The new 6-12 campus currently being built will truly make North Olmsted the western suburbs' destination for exceptional schooling adding the most modern facilities and technology to this side of Cleveland. I wish their were more up to date reviews of NOHS on this site-- last one was five years old! Such an EXCELLENT school and district!

North Olmsted High School 5

Posted September 26, 2010
- a community member
North Olmsted High School goes far beyond the call of duty for its students and families. The staff is caring and professional. The administration is fair and honest. The value is fantastic, especially considering the huge number of course offerings in diverse fields and the opportunities for students. NOHS could be a victim of local politics if school funding continues to be a purely local responsibility, That would be unfortunate for the community - most people realize the resources and quality that the schools represent. Kids are safe, disciplined, and nurtured. Scholarships for college flood into NOHS every year. It is a great school and full of great students who are connected to their community.


North Olmsted High School 5

Posted September 09, 2010
- a community member
Well, parent of two, it would be great if you went to the website and educated yourself as to why the schools are in need of money-- you are wrong to think the money is mismanaged. Forclosures and people not paying taxes effected the income of the school system, as did all of those bordered up businesses on Lorain Road-- the state also is cutting millions of dollars to schools, and that includes NOCS. It is sad that you did not value education or the education your kids are getting to vote for the levy. Did you go to Public Schools? Someone passed levies for you, and believe me, it hasn't been all upswings in the market for the last 40 years. The belt has been tightened, but the teachers are as committed as ever to doing their job well. Hoefully, the levy will pass in spite of your misguided notions.

North Olmsted High School 2

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of 2 high school students I am saddened at the whole state of affars at North Olmsted High School. They are trying to pass a 7.9 mil levy when I, along with many other parents, would like to know how they got into such a deep hole in the first place. I know! Wasteful spending. The minute the school gets a few extra dollars in its' pocket, the money goes to administrators and their assistants. The children never see any benefits from passed levies so why on earth would I vote to have my taxes go to astronomical heights when I don't see a winning outcome for the kids? Maybe I would vote for a levy when the teachers,administrators and their support staff start taking pay cuts like the rest of the general population! (and no, a pay freeze is not the same).

North Olmsted High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
For all the terrific and talented teachers, for all the innovative programs, for all the student-centered programs, for all that the high school does for the community, North Olmsted High School is a wonderful school system that is totally deserving of recognition.


North Olmsted High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great, helpful people who are willing to go the extra mile! Don't find that everywhere!

North Olmsted High School 4

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
NOHS has immense potential. The teachers are willing to help students and we have the teachers who are able to teach advanced classes, but failing levies prevent the school from reaching it's highest abilities. Without appropriate funding, some honors and especially AP classes are unable to run because they don't meet the required number of students. This is almost a punishment to the students who wanted to take the class because they are now at a disadvantage at getting the education they need. I also believe that the disciplinary actions are being taken out in the wrong places. Slight dress code violations receive the same punishment as most fights that break out in the halls. Teachers and students know they can achieve much more, but they continue to get shot down by the administration and the city's funding.

North Olmsted High School 3

Posted September 20, 2007
- a student
I graduated from NOHS in 2006. As a student there, I couldn't stand it. The building is falling apart, and there is no money to fix it because levy after levy fails, the heat was minimal, at best in, the winter, but the administration didn't allow students to wear coats, even if it was freezing. Behaviour was awful in the student body, and the administration focused on little problems like small dress code infractions instead of focusing on the big problems, such as students who were uncontrollable in class. however, i would hesitate to give NOHS below three star, as I did receive an ok education. Often I had to do some to all of the learning on my own though. NOHS prepared me for college academically. however it fails in all other aspects.


North Olmsted High School 5

Posted February 12, 2007
- a parent
Fortunately the school levy passed on the fifth attempt! The quality of education available to the NOHS students is excellent. The teachers are a dedicated and caring group of professionals. The school turns out very well rounded individuals with excellent preparation to go to college. We should be proud of what is accomplished at NOHS!!

North Olmsted High School 2

Posted December 08, 2006
- a parent
The quality of North Olmsted schools continues to decline as yet another tax levy failed this year. While North Olmsted staff says it wants a better relationship with parents, this relationship will be non-existent unless the parent consistently works at it. Overall, I think this was once an excellent school system, but budget constraints and an apathetic attitude from the staff have jeopardized the academic well-being of NOHS. There is much room for improvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Olmsted High School
5755 Burns Rd, North Olmsted, OH  44070
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (440) 779-8825
Last modified North Olmsted High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top