Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Olmsted High School 5

Posted September 26, 2010
- a community member
North Olmsted High School goes far beyond the call of duty for its students and families. The staff is caring and professional. The administration is fair and honest. The value is fantastic, especially considering the huge number of course offerings in diverse fields and the opportunities for students. NOHS could be a victim of local politics if school funding continues to be a purely local responsibility, That would be unfortunate for the community - most people realize the resources and quality that the schools represent. Kids are safe, disciplined, and nurtured. Scholarships for college flood into NOHS every year. It is a great school and full of great students who are connected to their community.

North Olmsted High School 5

Posted September 09, 2010
- a community member
Well, parent of two, it would be great if you went to the website and educated yourself as to why the schools are in need of money-- you are wrong to think the money is mismanaged. Forclosures and people not paying taxes effected the income of the school system, as did all of those bordered up businesses on Lorain Road-- the state also is cutting millions of dollars to schools, and that includes NOCS. It is sad that you did not value education or the education your kids are getting to vote for the levy. Did you go to Public Schools? Someone passed levies for you, and believe me, it hasn't been all upswings in the market for the last 40 years. The belt has been tightened, but the teachers are as committed as ever to doing their job well. Hoefully, the levy will pass in spite of your misguided notions.


North Olmsted High School 2

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of 2 high school students I am saddened at the whole state of affars at North Olmsted High School. They are trying to pass a 7.9 mil levy when I, along with many other parents, would like to know how they got into such a deep hole in the first place. I know! Wasteful spending. The minute the school gets a few extra dollars in its' pocket, the money goes to administrators and their assistants. The children never see any benefits from passed levies so why on earth would I vote to have my taxes go to astronomical heights when I don't see a winning outcome for the kids? Maybe I would vote for a levy when the teachers,administrators and their support staff start taking pay cuts like the rest of the general population! (and no, a pay freeze is not the same).

North Olmsted High School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North Olmsted High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
For all the terrific and talented teachers, for all the innovative programs, for all the student-centered programs, for all that the high school does for the community, North Olmsted High School is a wonderful school system that is totally deserving of recognition.


North Olmsted High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great, helpful people who are willing to go the extra mile! Don't find that everywhere!

North Olmsted High School 4

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
NOHS has immense potential. The teachers are willing to help students and we have the teachers who are able to teach advanced classes, but failing levies prevent the school from reaching it's highest abilities. Without appropriate funding, some honors and especially AP classes are unable to run because they don't meet the required number of students. This is almost a punishment to the students who wanted to take the class because they are now at a disadvantage at getting the education they need. I also believe that the disciplinary actions are being taken out in the wrong places. Slight dress code violations receive the same punishment as most fights that break out in the halls. Teachers and students know they can achieve much more, but they continue to get shot down by the administration and the city's funding.

North Olmsted High School 3

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


North Olmsted High School 5

Posted January 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

North Olmsted High School 5

Posted September 23, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Olmsted High School
5755 Burns Rd, North Olmsted, OH  44070
(440) 779-8825
Last modified North Olmsted High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Olmsted High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top