Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Ridge Academy

Private | K-12 | 425 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in North Ridgeville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Lake Ridge Academy is an exceptional school. They have very high standards and a helpful and caring staff. My sixth grader enjoys the friendly environment, from her friends to her teachers. I recommend to anyone who prefers small classes and one-on-one help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

I have two kids at LRA. One who started in kindergarten and one transferred into 5th. They love it! My daughter, now in 2nd grade is reading at a 5th grade level,and loves to learn. My fifth grader has made a smooth transition, and has caught up to the LRA level rather quickly thanks to the support of his wonderful teachers. The math and science curriculum is outstanding. The staff is amazing. It has been an all around wonderful experience. Our goal is to get our kids into a top 10 school and LRA is the way to do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My daughter transferred to LRA in sixth grade from another private school and I could not be happier with my choice, She is now happy in school, has made nice friends and cares about her grades. LRA is a very nuturing enviromnment were learning and achieving are encouraged and praised. The teachers are always available and take a real interest in their students. When asked who her best teacher is? She does not name one, but many and eagerly tells me what each one has done and why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

not the best choice they portray the school as a very good environment during the tour but once you are inside it its no different than a regular public school there are a few people who distribute certain things and there are your grades that are all basically users. this is all in the high school that this activity takes place. the school is racist and mostly opinions not factual things. they try to trick you. lower school is fun and good once you get into middle school you start to see sides come out. and once you get into high school it is down hill there are the groups like a regular high school but it is so divided it is not a community like they say. everything is deceptive from the outside but once you enter the real environment it is not very good. just think about these things before you decide to send your child to this school.


Posted April 5, 2013

My child is currently in kindergarten at LRA and though the school puts on a great open house and has great facilities, my husband and I have been very disappointed with the academics. His main teachers have been absent at least 10% of the time and the school meets at least 2 weeks less than public schools. The $2000 supply fee goes for what? perhaps printing drawings in technology class and a few projects, such as a pinch pot he brought home from art class. He has watched on average at least one video a week. When I asked the head of school why he watched Frosty the Snowman in Music class when his teacher was absent, she responded that the substitute was not musically trained. His technology class has constituted using one drawing program for the year which involves drawing and color or watching more videos. There are some great aspects to LRA, including small classes and exposure to a foreign language, and I'm sure the school improves in later years. In fact other parents tell me that it gets more academic next year; I just can't take that chance. My husband saw a parent and child taking a tour today and wanted to tell them what it is really like, hence this review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

My daughter attended this school. Not only did she love to learn, she cried during vacations because school wasn't in session. The teachers are so supportive and really know their business. When my daughter went to college - she was beyond ready to face the challenges. She thrived. Thank you Lake Ridge Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

My kid is a high school kid and sending my kid to this school was the worse mistake I have ever made. The Dean of the high school is the worse teacher of them all where she uses her PHD to substantiate her lack of teaching abilities and she doesn't go over and beyond to assist struggling students like the remaining of the staff. I believe the teachers could be more diverse and for the amount of money it costs, I would send my kid elsewhere it's definitely not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Lake Ridge Academy is an all around amazing school. I am a student in the upper school and I have attended Lake Ridge since Kindergarten. The academics at LRA are astounding and prepare the students extremely well for college. The size of the student body allows the students and teachers to bond and become a true community. The students can go to any teacher or their advisor at any time to receive help academically or personally. The students are friendly to one another and no one is excluded from anything. Even though the school is small, there are many sports offered and clubs for any interest. In the middle and upper school, there are many foreign exchange students from countries such as China, Germany, Korea, and more. One of my classes is made up of seven american students and seven foreign exchange students. I am so thankful that I have been able to attend Lake Ridge Academy for all these years. I have made so many connections with students and teachers and the school has offered me an excellent education. I am extremely proud of my school and will stand by and support my school for the rest of my life.


Posted August 24, 2010

Great academics but bad students. The teachers are very kind and are more than willing to help you with reports and respect the students opinion. The students there, in my opinion, are not very kind to each other and sometimes very disrespectful to the other students. Another thing I am not to fond of is the size of the school. I also think it is a bit too pricy but it is one of the schools where you can get a scholar ship. It is way too small to have a football team, however, it let's you have a personal relationship with the staff which they can help you to a point where it is hard to get a failing grade. I think the best starting point is at junior high where they will be introduced to the school before high school. I highly recommend this school to anyone.


Posted November 3, 2009

I am at Lake Ridge Academy and I love it. I am a 7th grader and the teachers are the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

I have a daughter who attends Lake Ridge Academy, and another who attends a very good public school. While my daughter in the public schools is doing well and receiving a solid education, my LRA child is learning how to learn, how to study, and how to succeed. I wish I could convince my other daughter to switch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

I've attended Lake Ridge Academy since 3rd grade. I am now only a few months away from entering my senior year. Sending me to Lake Ridge has been the greatest gift my parents could have given me. Not only am I confident that I will succeed in college and beyond, but I also know that years from now there will still be a close-knit community of teachers and students to support me in the same way they have supported me all my life. I truly love Lake Ridge Academy. It is my second family. I only hope that one day I will be able to give as much back to it as it has given me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2007

Lake Ridge is an outstanding private school. We have 3 sons, 2 have attended this school. The older of those 2 has thanked us repeatedly throughout his college years for sending him to LRA as it prepared him well. LRA not only prepared our sons academically but also as outstanding citizens. It is worth a visit to the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Lake Ridge is a great school. The teachers and learning environment maybe the best in the state. The school can bring the best out of a student who is interested in studying and being prepared for demanding college experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

My daughter has just started her second year at Lake Ridge Academy and we can not be more thrilled. At the end of her kindergarten year, she was reading at a second grade level and speaking french. The teachers are all highly qualified and still loving what they are doing. I could not have asked for a better beginning foundation for my daughter's education experience and my husband and I are already making plans for our three year old to attend. Lake Ridge Academy is an excellent school and I would recommend to everyone that they send their children there. Thank you Lake Ridge for giving my daughter the confidence in herself to become such an excellent student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

My daughter is in her second year at LRA's middle school. I credit the caring environment she is now in to her outlook in life. She is once again the happy child I knew. LRA teachers are special. Every teacher, not just the ones my daughter has, is kind, caring and knows my daughter by name. They care about their students in every way possible. I know she is getting a wonderful education and learning respect for all. For myself I know at the end of the day she has learned something educational and fun. I have never wanted to go back to any age, but if I could I would want to be at LRA at any age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

LRA has a wonderful atmoshere! Everyone is very supportive and encouraging. LRA is one big close and caring community. The teachers are outstanding. They are always willing to take time out of their day to help thier students! LRA gets an A+ from me!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 77%
Asian 22% N/A
Black 3% 19%
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carol L. Klimas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (440) 327-3641

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37501 Center Ridge Rd
North Ridgeville, OH 44039
Phone: (440) 327-1175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Peter School
North Ridgeville, OH


Wilcox Elementary School
North Ridgeville, OH



Liberty Elementary School
North Ridgeville, OH


St. Jude School
Elyria, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT