Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Royalton Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 1425 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2013

My School is... A wonderful learning enviroment. It provides us to carry on with a great education and socialize with others in physical events such as Field Day, Survior, and etc. Our school is lead by Mrs. Voijta, our principal, to lead us through our years in Middle School, and even Elementary School if you have been to Albion. Throughout my first two years, I have discovered our school is also full of drama. But once you find the right thing to do, you are focused and more confident. North Royalton Middle School is an education process to empower all of Learners. I have also become attached and good friends with many of the teachers there. Believe it or not, with all these great experiences... I love school unlike many other students. I am only unhappy about the new Dress Code rule about leggings and yoga pants. Leggings are all I wear.... But this is all to improve our learning enhancement. We pay more attention in class rather than what ourselves and others are wearing. Royalton is my Home and NRMS is my school for fifth to eighth grade. NRMS is the place to be, and myself this year, encourage new students to come to this school. All are welcome to NRMS. Student, Jalen Grimes


Posted January 12, 2011

It is a good school because the teachers help you in whatever you need help in. I believe it is a school of determination, helpfulness, and has a caring staff. It has many clubs and social activities for the students. I love NRMS!!!!!! (North Royalton Middle School)


Posted September 25, 2010

best best best best best school school school school school school ever ever. im so pleased with it


Posted May 17, 2009

The school has amazing teachers that really care about their students. Although the office staff is not very nice, the rest of the staff is amazing and really works well with gifted and special ed students. The levy just passed, and the athletics and extracurricular activities are really great. All students love the classrooms and teachers, especially Mr. Burdette and Mr. Z. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

My Daughter has been put up with bullying from a kid there for 2 years and nothing is ever done, the staff in the office is the rudest ever, I am getting my kid out of there asap, good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Class sizes are too big. Environment not welcoming or encouraging for students transition from the elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Nepotism is a standard. Administration more concerned about protecting the schools than resolving parental concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

I will say there is zero tolerance for slackers and trouble makers in classes. Which is the way it is to be if the childern are to learn. My son, has excelled at NRMS, the sports program is a plus...most schools are 'pay to play', they aren't, which gives all childern an opportunity to play. The teachers are caring, academics are excellent. Being a single parent, and on a very limited income for the area. I have made many, many sacrifices financially so my son could be in this school district. It has so far paid off. He always excedes the state and national testing guidelines. As far as parent involvement, that is an individuals choice, a parent will be as involved as he or she choices in any school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

The school is quite lovely to look at, but that is about it. The staff has been uncaring and annoyed with any problem that has came up with my daughter. It is all about conformity. Be careful if you have a child with any problems whatsoever! Staff can not handle it. They do not like a wrench thrown in their works!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

My experience was that this is a worksheet mill emphasizing conformity and discouraging creativity and innovative thinking so sorely needed to develop our 21st century workforce. Staff was unprofessional. My experience was that new families are suspect and unwelcome. Safety is in question. As I stated, this was my experience. But, hey, it's a beautiful facility! This is a culture I don't want my child raised in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

The teachers in this school are an inspiration. They love to teach and care about the kids education. The school does alot of charity work which is a great thing to teach the children as well. Whether it's book drives for a needy school or fund raising for a cancer patient they are also there to lend a helping hand. This is not your typical public school. The music program in this school is by far the best I have ever seen. These teachers have an unbeleivable passion for the arts and they inspire the kids as well as the parents. I hope my comments help. As you have noticed I feel this school is something special. I'm happy my childeren have the opportunity for these special people to touch their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled43%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)64%

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled37%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%

Science

All Students85%
Female81%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled37%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female89%
Male81%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled39%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)80%

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled72%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled71%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled54%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 5BelowBelow
Grade 6BelowMet
Grade 7AboveBelow
Grade 8MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
104 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
102 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Asian 4% 2%
Black 2% 16%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa I. Vojta
Fax number
  • (440) 582-7229

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14709 Ridge Rd
North Royalton, OH 44133
Phone: (440) 582-9120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Albert the Great School
North Royalton, OH



Assumption Academy
Broadview Heights, OH


Albion Middle School
Strongsville, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT