Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Name High School

Private | 9-12 | 691 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Parma Heights

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

I love Holy Name! The teachers are great so are the students! I think we are all close and everyone is just so nice. There's something for everyone there. Our girls soccer team and hockey team are playing very well! Our campus ministry are excellent. Holy Name was the best decision I've ever made!


Posted June 19, 2011

While I attended Holy Name it was apparent that the handful of us from Cleveland with broke families were outcasted. It occurred moreso later on, when my sister and a friends sister were attending. When it got worse, I emailed, politely, the assisstant principal inquiring what was going on with the bullying. His response was condescending to me directly, telling me "people from Cleveland tend to exaggerate things". I lost the little resapect I once maybe had for that school, which revolved heavily around sports and the rich kids.


Posted January 19, 2011

By far best academic high school education available. Other HS are well known as great schools but if you peel away the sports, academically HN is the best quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Do not listen to anyone who tells you that Holy Name is a bad school. I graduated a few years ago with a 2.9 GPA, and now in college I have a 3.7. The school is like a giant family. Everyone gets along and there is almost no bullying whatsoever. Send your kids to this school, I know I will. ALL HAIL HOLY NAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted November 7, 2009

Because they helped me get through high school while I was experiencing great difficulties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

A semester in college has been enough to make me realize I'll never have the opportunity to attend a school with a faculty that values morality and spirituaity as much as the HN staff does. -09
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Th academics are excellent. The school spirit is quite evident in all aspects. The theater and music is exceptional in professionalism in production. I am proud to have my children at Holy Name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Holy Name High School is a fantastic place. The values learned within it's walls are life-long values. I made the best memories of my life there and met my best friends there. The education is phenominal and I was more than prepared for college. The community is unlike anywhere else. There is a magic to the place.


Posted October 28, 2009

Holy Name is an Excellent School for all young men and young women. They excel in spiritual development, academic opportunities and social/activities for all types of students. I would highly recommend this Coed Catholic Education which is a comprehensive college preparotory school. I am a graduate, my husband is a graduate and our daughter is a sophomore.


Posted October 14, 2009

My son is in his 2nd year at Holy Name. He loves the school very much! The teachers have worked hard to make learning interesting. He has grown so much spiritually. I plan on sending my other two there a well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I have a freshman at Holy Name. He is thriving there. The teachers are great. We are so happy with his personal and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

The best part of Holy Name is the tutoring services that my son got in Math and English. Those two teachers in the van are the most caring teachers that my son has had. If it wasn't for that extra help he received, he would not have made it through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

I had the best time at Holy Name. I had caring, exciting teachers & great fellow students. It has a Catholic environment & a great focus on becoming good human beings, first and foremost. It really is a family & I received a quality education I still refer to today.


Posted July 12, 2008

holy name high school is a very good school. the tearchers for the mast part are nice and loveing interacting with there students. i love all my friends and its a place you can feel at home. looking back in time i am so happy i picked HN. it was the best thing i could have ever done for myself. i feel holy name is prepairing me for the rest of my life in every way possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

I have a daughter that is about to graduate from Holy Name High School and I can honestly say that she loves it there. She feels that it was the best experience of her life so far. She was very involved and took part in a lot of the activities, and I think that makes a huge difference. She truly loved her time at Holy Name and would not have it any other way. She will miss it terribly when she moves on to college, but I think HN has made her the best possible person she can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

Three kids that graduated from Holy Name and all three had a unique but wonderful experiences. Two in college and one out of recently graduated. The school is constantly moving in a positive direction and provides a warm family atmosphere. Provides AP and honors classes but also will work with a struggling student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

The building itself is in horrible condtion, its like taking a step back in time. The teachers do not teach the students, they have the memorize thousands of facts just so they can pass the OGT, and it's overwhelming, it was for my daughter and she is now struggling in college, after getting straight A's throughtout grade-school. Holy Name does not prepare students for life after high school, and I will not be sending my other kids to that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

The students and administration at this school are A-l. Students come from diverse backgrounds and I have found them to be well-rounded and classy. Administration is always willing to go the extra mile with parents and students. The sports programs, as academics, are constantly improving. This is a class-act school going in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

The biggest waste of time, i'd have rather sent my son to a public school then waste the money. The students are snobby and impolite. The teachers are arrogant. The athletic programs and after school activities are horrible, do not sned your student to Holy Name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I am currently in 10th grade at HN and today I'm proud to say that a few days ago, the girls soccer team won the Division II state title. Most of the teachers are good, especially Mr. Slanina. I have him for speech and english. He is by far the best teacher in this school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 19%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Benjamin B. Farmer
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (440) 886-1267

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Queens Hwy
Parma Heights, OH 44130
Phone: (440) 886-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Valley Forge High School
Parma Heights, OH




Pearl Academy
Cleveland, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT