Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbriar Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 751 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

my school is an awesome school It has nice teachers a great amount of homework and good lunches my school is an awesome school because it has fun after school activites


Posted April 29, 2013

My child unfortunatly got placed in this school because his school closed last year. It has been a nightmare since day one. My son has a IEP and was placed in all the wrong classes for the first month and a half...so there fore when I finally got things corrected he was already behind. He was a merit roll student for the last two years and now this year he is failing 3 out of 4 major subjects. Clearly he is not getting the help he needs. The teachers at this school seem to lack a sense of caring and concern! They find it easier to blame my son then to except the fact that they are also to blame. I would never recommend this school to any child with or without and IEP !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

My son that is on an IEP went to Greenbriar for 1/2 year. He has a normal IQ and functions fairly well just delayed in several areas. This school, including all staff, was fantastic with him. I had absolutely no problems. They were very accommodating to his needs. They constantly gave him praise. We moved from Sandusky CSD which was horrible, problem after problem in Sandusky with services. There are no complaints from us about Greenbriar. My son made friends easily. He got a lot better of an education here. In general speaking, the PCSD Special Ed services have been wonderful. I am very impressed and would recommend this school to anyone. I am particular too because I had 2 in Elementary school this past fall, regular ed, rated higher and had to make several calls and even an in-person visit there, but not here. Sad to say my 2 will not be going here next here I'm hoping Hillside Middle is just as good for them and Normandy High for this son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

VERY BAD SCHOOL. TEACHERS ARE RUDE THE KIDS ARE MEAN NO ONE CARES WHEN THERES A PROBLEM.


Posted October 11, 2008

I'm a teacher at this school and I can agree, in part, with the Sept 18, 2008 posting. Some of our staff IS a little stuck in the past. My apologies to the person who feels we neglect the ethnic diversity of our student population. While the PTA plays an important part, my question would be, how involved in the school are you? If the answer if 'not very' then I'd like to shout GET INVOLVED! Instead of voicing your concerns on the Internet, voice them to our Principal! I've worked here several years and have seen changes for the good. I would NEVER want to be transferred to Hillside or Shiloh! We are the most diverse of the school and I personally LOVE that about Greenbriar.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2008

If you have a choice send your child to Hillside. This is the absolute worst school. The staff is unfriendly, unwilling to help, and they push important issues under the rug. If your not on the PTA you won't be a part of their click. Also I would highly recommend any person of color, whether your Hispanic or African American not to bother with this school. I seen first hand how unethical they are. They seem to be trapped in the 60's. They only listen to what they want to hear and if your not white their ears are closed. I would rather send my child to a Cleveland Public School before sending them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

I love this school!! It is awesome!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2006

greenbriar middle school is a very well organized school. I personally love this school. all of the dances and the afterschool activities are great!!!!! greenbriar middle school is a great school for anyone!(in 7th or 8th grade...!)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic20%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Disabled41%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 7BelowMet
Grade 8AboveAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
95 (2011)
 
92 (2010)
 
91 (2009)
 
96 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 20%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Frank J. Spisak
Fax number
  • (440) 885-8353

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11810 Huffman Rd
Parma, OH 44130
Phone: (440) 885-2370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Incarnate Word Academy
Parma Heights, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT