Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis DeSales School

Private | K-8 | 159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Parma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2013

We love this school so much that we travel 30 minutes out of our way everyday! The class sizes rival the most exclusive private schools and the tuition rates are obscenely low. I love the combination of "old-school" tradition and current innovation. My daughter loves the real feeling of being part of a warm community. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

My son currently attends this school and the faculty are wonderful!!! Tuition is reasonable and they receive a private, catholic education. I highly recommend this school for anyone in the Cleveland/Parma area looking for an amazing school for their child/children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this school. The teachers and staff are AWESOME! The atmosphere feels like a family here. The older kids know and look after the younger kids. The teachers and staff really know the kids and families. That is hard to find with the other schools in the area. SFDS is a smaller school with much more personal attention than at the other schools with 2 classes of each grade with 30 or more kids in each class. There tuition is also the cheapest in Parma. My daughter has learned so much in the time she has been there. We hope that they will be around for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I have been a parent at St. Francis De Sales school since 1998. Over the years, I have learned that the school parish family is as good as you put into it. Every school has its pros and cons. One thing that has remained constant is all of my children have had the opportunity to learn in a safe and nurturing environment. Did I agree with every decision or policy- no. Do I feel that they received a good quality religious education- yes. No place is perfect. Could there be improvements- of course. The new principal and pastor have made great improvements in the short time they have been in place. I am just afraid that they came a little too late. They do listen and act on all concerns that I have. I am going to stick it out here. I think there is a lot of greatness at St. Francis and hopefully the school will be around for other children to benefit from what they have to offer. The bottom line for me is that I felt confident that my children were taken care of mentally, physically and spiritually. They all will have a strong foundation that they received at St. Francis. This foundation is solid and will affect their entire future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

I have 4 children and have had my kids in Catholic Schools for 23 years. After a move we joined the parish and enrolled 2 children at this school. I really have to say that the Jr High teachers are some of the poorest quality I have ever dealt with. After 2 years of talking to the principle and pastor we made the decision to leave. Do yourself a favor and visit other schools in the area. Your child's future is too important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I have been involved with this school for 8 years so far. I love the school community from the new prinicpal, librarian, the school secretary, to the new pastor and ALL the teachers. It is a wonderful, safe, spiritual home for my children to attend school. I believe a school experience depends on what the family puts into it also, not just expecting to receive. This school has open arms for family involvement. The best testament is the graduates who return frequently after graduation to the school and chrich functions just to visit and the kind words they have .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I am so glad we left here. My child is doing so much better at a different private school. First year my child was there it was great because of the support of the teacher. But then the teacher left along with another teacher. It's just poor quality compared to other private schools. The teacher despite the fact she said she would help, never did. The school does play favorites. I too left the school with many other parents. Be aware as well as there has been talks of the school closing. I never saw a less involvement from a pastor and a principal. I wonder if the principal ever leaves her chair. She is also rude. I went to private school and there was always the nuns, principal and priest available. Not here. It's sad too because you expected so much and got so little in return. They are a bad representation of Catholic Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

My duaghters just started there this year and they love it. My daughter was struggling in the public schools and didn't like going there. She now loves to go to school everyday. The small class sizes are great and the teachers are absolutely wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

This school offers an excellent education. The small class sizes do matter, and they do NOT single out students, the teachers help students learn and grow. My daughter was struggling with reading, and her first and second grade teachers would spend extra time with her and she is now reading above grade level! It is a nurturing environment. The programs are challenging, and students have homework every night (it is important for reinforcement of lessons); even kindergartners get a little homework! I had a question about my child's work, and the teacher called me that evening to clarify! The school is running on the state supsidized lunch program, and it follows the requirements mandated by the state for nutriton. Who doesn't remember cleaniing desks in Catholic school? Supplies are expensive no matter if you are in public or private. Lastly, there are many clubs and activities for kids to get involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

HORRIBLE Principal and Pastor! School is unorganized and lack in opportunities. Lunches are disgusting and don't have any state requirements. Small classes do not mean better. Many children are singled out and no additional help is given. No above and beyond help is given by this school. Like myself and many other families are leaving because of the poor leadership and horrible handling of issues by parents. You become just a number with money and expected of so much. Barely can afford supplies. They have children clean instead of the teachers and staff. No real school experience and although I expected a real Catholic Education, there was no sense of family and respect of anyone. No feeling of a God presence. The pastor is just so mean as well. Many are leaving with a breath of relief to not deal with this school any longer. Many would not recommend including myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

St. Francis is a great school! My daughter has been going to this school for 5 years now and she loves the teachers and she even loves going to school!! The staff is great and I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone looking for a private education! The fee is very reasonable especially when considering the education and care your child receives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 77%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 19%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Miss. Michelle L. Nowakows
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (440) 884-8211

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3421 Snow Rd
Parma, OH 44134
Phone: (440) 884-2340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT