Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethany Christian Elementary School

Private | PK-6 | 165 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Parma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

My son yas been there since here was 1 years old. Now he's almisr 8 & going to the second grade. Every teacher knows him which us great. My own church supports his education inbthis school not only for its faith & the teachings of it but how well rounded he's become. I thanj God everyday for this wonder blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

My daughter went to daycare here and my son went to Kindergarten here. The staff was friendly and sweet. My son's teacher was such a wonderful person. We did have one bad experience here with one of the lunch ladies who chewed out my son a Kindergartener because he didn't know the rules of sitting with a 1st grader during lunch in the cafeteria. She made him stand facing the wall during his whole lunch period. My son has hypoglycemia, and when he doesn't eat, his blood sugar drops, he gets dizzy and have some serious problems. So needless to say, she handled it incorrectly and the school staff did not take my complaint very seriously. My son was so traumatized by the experience that he didn't want to go back to school!!! Not good! Nothing was done to address this, we just had to move forward and march on, with no repercussions to the lunch lady.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

My son is in his 3rd year at Bethany Christian. The principal needs to retire, but other than that, the teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

We absolutely love everything about our son attending Bethany!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

i love bethany! my daughter is doing fantastic! she is exelling in all her classes and is far ahead of all her friends that go to public schools. i feel that the only children who do not do well are the ones who have behavioral problems. i know that that is not the only reason but seems to be the biggest one. as for the after school program, they have some younger people running it now and they don't yell like the lady last year. she just seemed to be crabby and i don't care what school you go to there is always one sour apple!!! but we love the christian values and disipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Bethany is a small school that has very little parental involvement. The curriculum is set at state standards. Students in 1-6 are required to take standardized tests each spring. Most classes score on average above grade level. They do not offer much help for special needs students other than speech and remedial help in math and reading. The afterschool program does offer pay to participate activities, but enrollment is often so low that these are often cancelled. As far as the children not being allowed to make noise afterschool is a joke. The children are expected to be quiet when they enter the afterschool program so that they can hear announcements, but are then made to keep the volume reasonable for safety reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Do not send your children to bethany! i transferred my child to public school, and he was far behind. The curriculum is far below standards. The afterschool program is a joke. The people that you trust your children to continually yell at thm and they are not allowed to make any noise after school. My child has repedtly told me that he is happier in public school. Do not send your children to bethany.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

My children were born premature. This school has not only addressed their educational issues but also helped them develope an outstanding personality that I believe they would not have found anywhere else. Pastor T. Strange & Principal A. Lindsey not only provided a safe & structured education, they gave them the opportunity to learn and grow within their selves. Thank you to everyone at Bethany Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

I was not happy at the fact they do not offer help for a student that is struggling. I asked over and over again to help my child. I feel that this school is behind other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 77%
Hispanic 12% 3%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Black 7% 19%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Allen W. Lindsay
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACTS
Fax number
  • (216) 661-2095

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6195 Broadview Rd
Parma, OH 44134
Phone: (216) 661-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT