Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orange High School 1

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
I have two children which graduated from the district and was so disappointed. I would strongly advise those of African American ancestry to avoid this school district due to its profound insensitivity and blatant racism. I don't have enough space to enumerate the instances (unequal discipline practices, apathy towards use of the "N" word, lack of regard for Black History Month,etc), but suffice it to say one instance was so bad, I had to contact the US Department of Education. When they heard of it, they deemed it warranted an investigation. That is the ONLY time the school changed their stance on an inappropriate decision (wish I had known about this option earlier). Also, food for thought…to compete in athletics in the district, they only require a 1.0 GPA. Therefore, your kid could be getting all D's and they will still let them compete in sports! So if you are the parent of a student who is performing lower than parental expectations, you may not receive the backing of the school with the rigor you would hope. In summary, if at all possible, do not send your child here if you want him/her to be a critical thinker, regardless of ethnicity, but especially if you are of African American ancestry, as there is profound education inequality in the district and many hurdles to jump to get a typical kid well educated. Thank you

Orange High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
You have your stars, the ones who are committed to helping each student succeed, regardless of ethnicity, but again, it's the culture. African American students are marginalized.


Orange High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
But not in the way they should. This district will teach African American students to achieve "in spite of," not "because of."

Orange High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Administration and some teachers lack respect for students and parents. For them, it's all about the rating. It's appalling they are considered excellent. I have given the administrators countless suggestions for being a more open, inclusive, nurturing district, to no avail. When a few very volatile and public incidences occurred regarding police and African American males, I contacted the school go get input into what strategies they would be implementing to help their student body as a whole, and their African American males in particular, they gave me a song and dance.

Orange High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school district culture does not embrace honesty, integrity and fairness at all, which, of course, can have a lasting devastating impact on a child. The environment is so hostile, I opted not to send my youngest there…actually, I refused.


Orange High School 5

Posted November 12, 2014
- a student
This is the best school I've ever been to in my whole life... I've been studying in another country before too... But Orange is the best school yet... The teachers r the best... The students r friendly with others... No fighting or anything like that... The only reason I love cleveland is this school.

Orange High School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Orange High School is a wonderful School. My kids are constantly challenged and encourage to pursue their dreams. The Teachers are very well trained and are very supportive. I am delighted with our choice for this School!.

Orange High School 2

Posted October 09, 2011
- a parent
terrible school...the kids are very pressured to meet unrealistic standards, and if you are not an ap student, you are not considered smart by any means. Awful teachers - unenthusiastic and mean to students. There are plenty of academic programs, yes,but the music program is completely mind blowing at how terrible it is. the band director is nowhere near up to par, and neither is the orchestra teacher. The kids drink and smoke and it is NOT the environment I want for my child. We are withdrawing from this school ASAP.


Orange High School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Our son attended Orange for 3 years and they were, with the exception of the English teachers, a nightmare. Administration were inattentive to student concerns and faculty (except those terrific English teachers) were straight out of the 1950s - dogmatic and non-creative.

Orange High School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2007
- a student
Orange schools are much better than many other local schools in the area, but they lack alot. Also the school is very good with AP and honors courses, but [I feel] if you take cp classes you education is very average and not up to the rest of the standards at the school. The school as a lot of money and alot of extracirruculars which is a plus.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orange High School
32000 Chagrin Blvd, Pepper Pike, OH  44124
(216) 831-8581
Last modified Orange High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orange High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top