Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pickerington High School Central

Public | 9-12 | 1670 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

My son absolutely loves his school! We are so impressed with how helpful the teachers and staff are. They really care about the kids education & work hard to make school a fun filled, learning environment. There are so many options for courses to choose from that my son is never bored. Many different races, cultures & backgrounds but none of that matters! Everyone is welcomed here!!!! My family absolutely loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

As the parent of a freshman at Central, I am very impressed with this school. The staff and principal are great--they have fun with the kids (even making a dance video of a popular song during spirit week). My child is in honors classes, and will be taking AP college level credit classes by his junior year. We not seen any problems (fights, lockdowns, etc.) since we have been there. The music program is outstanding, and the support for athletics is strong. Pickerington Schools have strong community support and parent involvement. All in all a great school in a school district that is Excellent With Disctinction! Pickerington is a great place to live and raise a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

My son graduated in 2011 from Central and he was very prepared for college. In fact, he was accepted to OSU Main Campus for his freshman year. He also was considered a sophomore after his first quarter at OSU due to all of the college credits he earned and classes he tested out of as a direct result from being a student at Central. Additionally, Central didn't have as many cliques as North did. Students are more accepted at Central.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

I had a grandson graduate from Central in 2009 and another will graduate in 2012. They are both more than prepared accademically for their college experience thanks to the hard working and concerned teachers which helped both of them maintain over a 4.00 grade average. The administration at this high school operates a good program and seems to have effective control of the student body. School spirit is high and students are enjoying their experience opportunities at Central.


Posted November 24, 2010

I've been a student at PHSC for over three years now, we have great teachers that continue to challenge everyone. We have great sports programs, and the students are very supportive of our football team. Also, our music department is wonderful. We have an AA Marching Band, that has been to the Rose Bowl and Macy's Day Parade several time, and has achieved a 1 at states 21 out of 22 years. We have a great, well rounded school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2010

The Staff & parents create a fantastic atmosphere for the kids !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Despite a recent school split and several admin. changes, Pickerington Central continues to provide the best of everything for its students and is only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The people in the area are great BUT the school district is definitely BELOW average. Those that give good ratings to this district have not been in or around other local schools (Dublin, Arlington, Grove City, Hilliard and Gahanna) just local families THINK that their school is great when in fact if they ventured around town they could find many better with less drama
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I am an upcoming sophomore at PHSC, fights break out occasionaly and some students act out, what schools doesnt have those problems? This is a great school for education, the teachers really are into helping the students learn to their ability and even beyond that. I used to not want to go to school before high school, but now i hop right up in the morning and I'm upset when the bell rings to leave 9th period because I love school. PHSC is a fantastic school with great academics, and an amazing football team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2009

I can't say that PHSC is any different than the rest of the schools in Pickerington and around the country. As a parent who has volunteered for the last 8 years I can honesty say that out of control kids are everywhere. When parents stop parenting, make excuses for their childs bad behavior and tie the hands of the school district when it comes to discipline there's not much you can do. The PHSC staff are doing the best that they can considering that not only do many students disrespect them, but also the parents. I'm very proud to be a Tiger Mom. My son, a freshman, is receiving a wonderful education and is an A student. I support PLSD and will continue to do so as they have a fabulous record when it comes to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

The leaders of this school have an absolute tolerance policy. They allow children to walk in and out of classes without penalty. Classrooms are so loud, noisy and uncontrolled that the office workers can not even call into the classroom - they must utilize office workers to run notes to teachers. Fights break out daily - no one ever hears of students being penalized - oh, I'm sorry - they serve 'In School Suspension' - which means they get to complete all assignments in a separate room from the norm! Where's the penalty in this? If a child acts up, they get sent home! This doesn't happen in Pickerington! Wish I had an accurate review of the schools before moving here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I go here everyday and eventhough i dont particularly like alot of the normalhigh school drama i can say from experience this school is friggin awesome it forces students to challenge themselves and to the parent talking about students coming in and starting fights most fight are from kids who have been here for years lol its funny to hear parents bashing others for their childs mistakes this school rocks and I love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2009

As a recent graduate of PHSC, I can safely tell you that the school is not going down the drain. I am currently an education major and I know the quality of schools in comparison to PHSC. It has great extracurricular activities and after school programs. Yes, it is getting more racially diverse, but that does not mean it will have an 'education and discipline crisis.' Many schools face discipline problems and PHSC has a new principal that needs to settle in and understand his student body before he can fix the major problems. Students do not move into the district just to create fights and lower the test scores. The schools has wonderful teachers and administrators that provide a wonderful learning environment for all levels of students. The past few years has been quite rough, but it is still by far a great school, in comparison to others in Ohio.


Posted June 5, 2007

Pickerington High school Central is getting worse every single year. Year after year, more and more students who have no interest in education and just want to socialize and get into fights move to the district and make the school's test scores lower and lower. There are many extracurricular activities, but fewer students are joining every year. If this path continues, Pickerington Central will be in an education and discipline crisis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2007

A spirited school that has a lot to offer to students. Academics porvide a challenge for the students and they demand a lot out of the older teens. Preparing them for the best. Music, arts, and drama are exceptionally fantastic. We have a award winning Choral group and a outgoing drama department. Art is provided at a amazing level and the teachers work with students to prepare them for art college, if they choose. I wouldnt call this a parent orientented school. for the most part the students play the most involvment in what happens in terms of school activities but thats not a negative. It teaches them a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2006

The school was 'okay'. I was not impressed. Respect seemed to be lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

Pickerington schools offer academic excellance while provide extracurricular activities. Every student is given the opportunity for college. The downside of this school system are the taxes! Also overcrowding in this particular school was a problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2004

Pickerington central is becoming out of control. The generations of students are becoming less encouraged to go through school and lack the power to behave in school. There are kids that are immature in 10th and 11th grade. Making our teachers break down and feel powerless. You dont kow the quality of Pickerington Central unless you are a currently a student their.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Quite possibly the best high school in the central Ohio area. No other school in the area can quite match up, especially in the arts, music, and drama departments. Athletic, education, and social acceptance are top notch, and you can really tell that the teachers focus personally on the students' needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2004

Overall, a great school! A graduate myself and with two children in the school right now, I am thoroughly satisfied. Only complaint is that many teachers are not open to alternative viewpoints... but you'll have that at every school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial92%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)82%

Reading

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanic89%
Asian or Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial92%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled74%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)91%

Science

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanic72%
Asian or Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial83%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)46%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial91%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)64%

Writing

All Students87%
Female94%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled43%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
102 (2011)
 
99 (2010)
 
104 (2009)
 
99 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

74%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 74%
Black 24% 16%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Opportunity Way
Pickerington, OH 43147
Phone: (614) 833-3025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


PCSL
Pickerington, OH


Harvest Preparatory School
Canal Winchester, OH


Canal Winchester High School
Canal Winchester, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT